We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”
Review of TioTomsGuesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TioTomsGuesthouse
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice place”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent two nights on Bastimentos and felt like Tio Toms was a good choice - charming wooden house built directly above the water, very charming rooms (though you hear literally everything your neighbors are talking about). And it has a very chilly hammock area.
We had a problem with the noise. The building faces directly the motorboat pear which is very frequently used. Be aware of small motorboats coming and leaving every 5min...Bastimentos is very small and has only 2-3 very little shops. We did not eat at Tio Toms (they offer breakfast and dinner) because it was too expensive for us. Tio Toms does not have a shared kitchen or so. That was not very convenient, however ok for 2 days. Probably better to take some water and food from Isla Colon.
The owners are pretty nice though sometimes a bit strange.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_ElenaFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    37
    6
    10
    16
See reviews for
10
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for a night and at first we were very happy with what we had found. Everyone seemed friendly and helpful. However that changed very quickly. After we declined the communal meal of lamb, because, we are vegetarians, Tom seemed to have become very offended. When I asked what other local restaurants his guests liked his reply was "my restaurant" and he coldly walked away.

We did not feel welcomed at all. After we left and ate out, we came back planning to hang out on the dock and enjoy the beautiful location. Upon arrival Tom glared at us as we patted his dog and didn't say a word. We then went to our room and planned our departure as soon as possible.

He has many rules which is fair enough as he is running a business but the sinks and toilets, toilet paper he tells you to flush, goes straight to the ocean below. He is environmentally conscious when it benefits him. Either way we followed ALL his rules and didn't even shower to help conserve water when it seemed to low.

It's too bad as he has an amazing location on a beautiful island. I should say his wife was very nice and welcoming. If Tom had stayed behind he kitchen and chain smoked out of sight we would have stayed there much longer. Maybe if you speak German or like having your evenings dictated out this could be the place for
You. If not I suggest checking around.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

its a lovely wooden hut right on the water of the lagoon with a very nice hammock area. the rooms range from excellent to poor (only the dorm). there are many rules, which you are CONSTANTLY reminded of. breakfast is not included but you have the option to buy breakfast every morning. however it is pretty expensive and you do not have the option to cook or prepare something yourself. the kitchen is private. furthermore the hosts ask for money for pretty much everything including refilling your bottle with water to avoid plastic trash which is an awsome idea but it would be nice if they wouldnt think about profitting from it. (10 cents $ for 100 ml). overall it is a nice place to stay but the host sometimes seems to be quite unfriendly and really enjoys "the drink"....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balboaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 3 days, and we really liked the place. The rooms at Tio Tom Guesthouse are clean and pretty big, you also got your own bathroom, with shower, toilet and basin. After you get to know the hosts, Ina and Tom, they're very friendly. We'll recommend the "family-dinner" that they offer, we enjoyed two great dinners. When we're talking about food, you have to buy the homemade bread you can have for breakfast. We had our best breakfast so far on this trip.
This is a place to stay if you want the relaxed feeling, the hammocks on the pier is perfect for book reading or just chill out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stianr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We arrived on Bastimentos without having a hostel reservation or any idea where to stay. We saw TioTom from the boat when we arrived and we had a look at the rooms - they were great- so we stayed!

The room we got was super clean, had many little accessories that we were missing in almost every other hostel (Table, Bedside lamp, shelf for cloths etc.) You could hear some noise from the dock next to the hostel, but you know that when you check in, because you normally arrive on that dock and for us it was anyway super quite compared to the noisy hostels we've stayed on Bocas. We actually thought it is nice to hear the boats and the water lacking up against the floor and the great view out of the window.

They have a family dinner every night for a fair price. The food was not extraordinary but good.
They also offer breakfast, but we always had our own.

They have a few rules and yes they like to remind you, but hey it's their hostel and these are their rules. We tried to take it easy and not be bothered to much about it.

The owners are definitely two special characters and I think either you like them, they like you and you have a great time at their place or NOT....
They have their own way of saying things and if you are sensible you should maybe not stay there as you could think they are rude. You should take what they say with a pinch of salt and you will have a great time!

We definitely had an amazing time and enjoyed the stay at TioToms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicysuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The island is rustic and beautiful! Tio Tom's is clean and in a good location. I didn't find the hosts especially friendly and got the impression that they don't like the island or the local people. It's a bit noisy and didn't sleep well, but that's not the hosts fault. I will go to Bastimentos again, but will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RusticTraveler738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed for four nights and then checked out and went to a near by hostel for my remaining four nights as the hospitality is so bad here. On the surface this looks a great place to stay, nice rooms, clean, lovely hammock area to chill but the owners create a very inhospitable atmosphere. They are not friendly, have many rules to follow, and whilst I am happy to follow rules they constantly remind you about them. Fresh water is in short supply on the island and they constantly tell you to conserve water and make you feel guilty for having a shower. I am an adult I don't need to be reminded every five minutes to conserve water. They shut the water supply off at 10pm. The private rooms are nice but the dorm is cramped, thin mattresses, you can hear Tom snoring next door and there is no fan. Tom was very condescending when we mentioned the wifi wasnt working and could he reboot it, he asked us what do we expect we are on an island - we do know that! The final straw was when I saw him shout and kick (hard) a number of times a male dog hanging around the hostel because his dog was on heat - so understandable male dogs were hanging around. I checked in to a new hostal and four other people had also left Tio Toms as they didn't like the hosts- that speaks volumes and the owners should learn they are driving people away. Short story is there are MUCH friendlier and nicer places elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
72 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
336 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TioTomsGuesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TioTomsGuesthouse

Property: TioTomsGuesthouse
Address: Main Street, Isla Bastimentos, Panama (Formerly Pension Tio Tom)
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a nice place at the Caribbean? Our family-guesthouse is builded over the water of the lagoon and located in the centre of the village Bastimentos on the same named island in the north of Panama at the archipelago Bocas del Toro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Tio Tom Hotel Isla Bastimentos
TioTomsGuesthouse Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing