We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect friendly service in a little paradise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TioTomsGuesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TioTomsGuesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A perfect friendly service in a little paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for 4 days and we had a blast. The host, Chris, is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very rustique, but typical and clean. The hammock dock is a nice place to relax or enjoy a beer. The homemade food is simply delicious. Although there is just one menu for supper, you will not be disapointed. Always fresh and made with love.
Thanks Chris and Damaris, we won't forget you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaklou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    37
    6
    10
    16
See reviews for
10
86
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We are a couple with a 2.5 yo daughter, we enjoyed spending a week at Tio Tom, Tom and Ina were great hosts and though having a 2.5yo can be noisy they were very patient and overall we felt very comfortable and welcome there.
the food is great, and the family dinner is also a great way to spend time together and enjoy Tom's cooking skills.
over the weekend you can hear loud music coming from other bars around the hostel until late and also it is on the bay where the boats load and unload passengers but our daughter actually enjoyed watching the boats come and go so it was fun.
and the deck with the hammocks is the best part, every morning and evening waking up to watch the ocean was a great experience,
Thank you Tom and Ina

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent two nights on Bastimentos and felt like Tio Toms was a good choice - charming wooden house built directly above the water, very charming rooms (though you hear literally everything your neighbors are talking about). And it has a very chilly hammock area.
We had a problem with the noise. The building faces directly the motorboat pear which is very frequently used. Be aware of small motorboats coming and leaving every 5min...Bastimentos is very small and has only 2-3 very little shops. We did not eat at Tio Toms (they offer breakfast and dinner) because it was too expensive for us. Tio Toms does not have a shared kitchen or so. That was not very convenient, however ok for 2 days. Probably better to take some water and food from Isla Colon.
The owners are pretty nice though sometimes a bit strange.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_ElenaFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for a night and at first we were very happy with what we had found. Everyone seemed friendly and helpful. However that changed very quickly. After we declined the communal meal of lamb, because, we are vegetarians, Tom seemed to have become very offended. When I asked what other local restaurants his guests liked his reply was "my restaurant" and he coldly walked away.

We did not feel welcomed at all. After we left and ate out, we came back planning to hang out on the dock and enjoy the beautiful location. Upon arrival Tom glared at us as we patted his dog and didn't say a word. We then went to our room and planned our departure as soon as possible.

He has many rules which is fair enough as he is running a business but the sinks and toilets, toilet paper he tells you to flush, goes straight to the ocean below. He is environmentally conscious when it benefits him. Either way we followed ALL his rules and didn't even shower to help conserve water when it seemed to low.

It's too bad as he has an amazing location on a beautiful island. I should say his wife was very nice and welcoming. If Tom had stayed behind he kitchen and chain smoked out of sight we would have stayed there much longer. Maybe if you speak German or like having your evenings dictated out this could be the place for
You. If not I suggest checking around.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

its a lovely wooden hut right on the water of the lagoon with a very nice hammock area. the rooms range from excellent to poor (only the dorm). there are many rules, which you are CONSTANTLY reminded of. breakfast is not included but you have the option to buy breakfast every morning. however it is pretty expensive and you do not have the option to cook or prepare something yourself. the kitchen is private. furthermore the hosts ask for money for pretty much everything including refilling your bottle with water to avoid plastic trash which is an awsome idea but it would be nice if they wouldnt think about profitting from it. (10 cents $ for 100 ml). overall it is a nice place to stay but the host sometimes seems to be quite unfriendly and really enjoys "the drink"....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balboaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 3 days, and we really liked the place. The rooms at Tio Tom Guesthouse are clean and pretty big, you also got your own bathroom, with shower, toilet and basin. After you get to know the hosts, Ina and Tom, they're very friendly. We'll recommend the "family-dinner" that they offer, we enjoyed two great dinners. When we're talking about food, you have to buy the homemade bread you can have for breakfast. We had our best breakfast so far on this trip.
This is a place to stay if you want the relaxed feeling, the hammocks on the pier is perfect for book reading or just chill out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stianr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We arrived on Bastimentos without having a hostel reservation or any idea where to stay. We saw TioTom from the boat when we arrived and we had a look at the rooms - they were great- so we stayed!

The room we got was super clean, had many little accessories that we were missing in almost every other hostel (Table, Bedside lamp, shelf for cloths etc.) You could hear some noise from the dock next to the hostel, but you know that when you check in, because you normally arrive on that dock and for us it was anyway super quite compared to the noisy hostels we've stayed on Bocas. We actually thought it is nice to hear the boats and the water lacking up against the floor and the great view out of the window.

They have a family dinner every night for a fair price. The food was not extraordinary but good.
They also offer breakfast, but we always had our own.

They have a few rules and yes they like to remind you, but hey it's their hostel and these are their rules. We tried to take it easy and not be bothered to much about it.

The owners are definitely two special characters and I think either you like them, they like you and you have a great time at their place or NOT....
They have their own way of saying things and if you are sensible you should maybe not stay there as you could think they are rude. You should take what they say with a pinch of salt and you will have a great time!

We definitely had an amazing time and enjoyed the stay at TioToms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicysuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TioTomsGuesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TioTomsGuesthouse

Property: TioTomsGuesthouse
Address: Main Street, Isla Bastimentos, Panama (Formerly Pension Tio Tom)
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a nice place at the Caribbean? Our family-guesthouse is builded over the water of the lagoon and located in the centre of the village Bastimentos on the same named island in the north of Panama at the archipelago Bocas del Toro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Tio Tom Hotel Isla Bastimentos
TioTomsGuesthouse Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing