We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote Island Resort with nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

If like having a set of nice amenities (beautiful villas with private pools, gorgeous quiet beaches, restaurant w decent food and access to concierge that helps you navigate excursions) but not all inclusive options this is the place for you. Service was excellent! All employees were incredibly friendly and accommodating. This is NOT an all inclusive island that will cater to every whim. If that is what you are looking for, move on. We stayed for a week -- there were 9 of us. Four adults and 5 kids -- ages 3 to 15. Very quiet island which we loved. Holler monkeys, sloths and birds to see. We loved it! Zip line on the island is the BEST we have ever done. Run by an ex us special forces guy...great w kids and adults. We'd go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraw756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We just returned from a short stay at Red Frog Villas. The Zip tour was fabulous and family friendly (for our 8 yr old); the Villa was just perfect - newly built, beautiful kitchen, gorgeous private pool - with a view of monkeys, parrots and other exotics in the morning. Great beaches with surfable waves. William the hospitality manager was very helpful and made our stay enjoyable. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famtravel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We just returned from a 10 day thrill at the Red Frog Resort on Bastimentos Island in Panama. Our stay was relaxing and exciting at the same time. The villas are upscale luxury and yet very comfortable while outside the door lies a natural eden of plants, birds, sloths, monkeys, jungle trails, mangrove bays, sandy beaches, beautiful snorkeling sites etc., etc. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. From Belen who met us at the airport to Marlon whose sharp eyes helped us spot Iguanas and sloths in the dense foliage. We hope to get back soon for more kayaking, hiking, body surfing, relaxing and meeting great people from the islands and from all around the world.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelersheart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a fantastic time on Red Frog. We stayed in a beautiful villa with full kitchen overlooking the ocean. Although the beaches are close by, you'll appreciate having a golf cart (no cars allowed on the island!) for easy access to the beautiful beaches and two restaurants.
We had a great time hiking on jungle trails and saw sloths, monkeys and many exotic birds. There is even a good snorkeling beach within easy hiking distance.
You can have a gorgeous beach to yourself or find more of a party atmosphere sipping drinks from your lounge chair by the sea, oh yeah!
Highly recommended: Chef Tom's coconut curry soup at Kayukos Red Frog restaurant on the beach(of course) and stay for a game of ping pong.
Tour Finca los Manos botanical garden in Bocas. Beautiful!
go to BiBi's Restaurant on Isla Carenero, delicious!
It was a perfect vacation, hope you can make it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elkriverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just finished a 5 night stay at Red Frog and it was one of the more memorable vacation experiences we have ever had! The "Villa" is really a beautiful home with a private pool. Our Villa (#13) had one of the best views of Turtle Beach and the Caribbean Sea.

There are 2 restaurants. Kayukos is great for families as it's more reasonably priced but still decent food. They also have a poll table and ping pong along music at night. Happy hour beers are $2 for both Panama and Balboa beers! Hard to resist!

Punta Lava is a bit pricey but for us very much worth it. I had Red Snapper that was the best I have ever had. That is saying something as I travel the whole world for work and completed culinary school in a different life. You also have the option of having the resort chef come to your Villa. We did that one night and it was awesome.

The beaches are exquisite but you may find yourself enjoying your private pool as much or more. I know we did. They also have great day trips planned that were awesome.

I couple of heads up:
1. Once you get there it's great, but it's a little awkward getting there as it actually takes a plane and a boat to get to the island and you need to buy groceries on Bocas before taking the boat to Red Frog. I would suggest getting mostly necessities the day you arrive and going back the next day for the rest of your needs. The Villas have awesome galley kitchens. It's worth taking advantage of them.

2. Get a golf cart! In theory you can walk. But the distance between say the Villas on the top and the beaches is easily over a mile or more. If you plan to walk, I fear that's all you will be doing and it will take from the experience. With a cart you still have the option to walk if you want the exercise.

3. Take advantage of the excursions. They have some excellent ones planned. We did the Dolphin Bay - Snorkeling - Zapatilla trip. It was amazing! Seeing the dolphins and snorkeling were fun but the highlight is 3+ hours at Zapatilla Island at the edge of the Atlantic. The swimming was great and the wild life fun to see.

Finally, the staff at Red Frog could not have been more helpful. Along with the planned tours they will also create a customized excursion if it's possible.

We definitely enjoyed ourselves and would have no hesitation going back for another vacation.

Room Tip: I would look at the Villas at the top of the mountain. They have the best views. But all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our stay at Red Frog Beach Resort was absolute paradise. Everything seemed more beautiful than the photographs we had seen. We felt safe, and were able to enjoy a fun, relaxing stay in a very lovely villa. Everything was clean and well maintained. We were surrounded by lush views of tropical foliage, flowers, and the ocean. We could actually hear the sounds of the ocean from our villa, as well as enjoy ocean views from our villa pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our vacation was the best of both worlds. Ocean and jungle. Relaxing but adventurous. All very beautiful. While in Panama City we visited the Panama Canal and the Fish Market, both of which were interesting.

Room Tip: Villas are very spacious and have all the comforts of home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChillininMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We've lived in Panama for 8 years and heard questionable things about Red Frog. Don't believe any of them. It is an unbelievably beautiful resort. Expect to see sloths, monkeys and parrots everywhere. We also saw boa constrictors, dolphins, plenty of turtles and the famous red frog.

Absolutely beautiful flora and fauna. Beautiful beach views everywhere. And no cars! That's right. The only way around the resort is either walking or in golf carts.

Highlights: The zip line tour is the best we've done anywhere and the manager (an ex SF soldier) and his crew are safety conscious, funny, and friendly. Went spearfishing/snorkeling with my son and had the time of our life. Fantastic snorkeling and coral/fish. The beachside restaurant is also outstanding. The three nights we ate there were very good... Order the Coco Loco (3 different rums and coconut milk in a coconut).

The accomodations were very nice. Beautiful homes on a hill looking over one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches we've been to.

One of the highlights: One of us left our backpack at the boat dock in Bocas del Toro (Bastimento). Larry who is the head of guest services called the boat dock and had the manager grab the backpack. Larry then waited as we took a boat all the way back to Bocas to pick up the backpack and return to Red Frog to make sure we got it back and had a ride back to our villa. That's first class service.

A really amazing experience. And would highly recommend this. Once of the best vacations we've had anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Service
1  Thank coley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 20 in Isla Colon
313 reviews
10.3 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: £118 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas, rooms and Jungle Lodges to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle. Awarded at Panama's most beautiful beach and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing