We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to experience island life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Caribbean View
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to experience island life”
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This is a family run hotel with a nice location right on the water in Bastimentos. You can even take a water taxi to and from a platform right off the dining area. Our comfortable room was on the top floor and there were several comfortable covered patios available including one off of our room, with a tranquil view out on the water. The kitchen is very clean and the simple breakfasts were nicely prepared. The kitchen staff is very personable and available all day to cook for you.

On the downside, our second night there was an unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom drain, although, water issues may be a reality of island life. The WiFi signal was very weak and I had to sit on the steps near the office in order to get a connection.

The owner, Lewis, is friendly and helpful. I would suggest that you visit the Up on the Hill shop and the Roots restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    21
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed for three nights in this hotel with my bf in January 2011. The hotel was well located and the rooms were clean and included own balcony which was a great spot to look at the sunsets. The staff was very friendly and the food in hotel was good as well. The only problem we faced was a boat tour we booked through the hotel. The boat driver was 1,5hrs late from the time we had agreed on and he still wasn't ready to reduce the price though the tour got shorter. So I do not recommend to use the hotels boat driver services but the hotel itself is a good deal though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed here on New Year's Eve. We had booked this place on Bastimentos because everywhere was full in Bocas, but we were glad we stayed. For the price, this is a great place. Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and the restaurant attached over the water was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristengirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

This hotel over the water is probably the only mid-range ($30-60) option on Bastimentos and definitely the only in Old Bank town. The owner and his wife are extremely helpful. Rooms are small, clean and the balcony is a great place to spend some time. This hotel also has probably the only internet terminal and wi-fi in town. Easy to walk through town for access to a few restaurants, mini-markets, and trails across the island which lead to Wizard Beach, the coffee shop, and the Thai restaurant. The hotel is safe and secure. Though the island is mostly safe, recognize that Old Bank is a poor town, which gives it some of its character, but some travelers have been robbed (none while I was there). Leave valuables in the room. To get here, simply show up in Bocas town, and ask one of the water taxi drivers for Caribbean View. We spent three nights here and would do it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The owner Luis Sr., his wife Eunice, their family members went beyond to assist us, and always with a smile on their faces. It was a joy to stay in their hotel. Their hotel is located right on the water near the center of the town. It is quiet and peaceful. Every room has an amazing view. Our room and bed were comfortable with fresh white linens and towels provided daily. Our bathroom was very clean and included hot water for showering. This was very much appreciated after a day exploring the island (s). The location and services at the Hotel Caribbean are amazing!
Including views of the water and ample room for lounging on their beautiful wooden deck. Luis Jr. the owner’s son will take you on tours throughout the islands of Bocas. This is very convenient as you can disembark and return with ease from their private boat on the hotels front deck. Luis Jr. just as his father and all the family members we had the pleasure of meeting is very accommodating and friendly and willing to take guests on personal tours anywhere they want to go …thus making certain you experience the islands the way you want to…creating lasting memories.
The hotel includes a fine restaurant that is located right on the premises overlooking the ocean, it is relaxing … beautiful and tranquil. Let me say that the food is unbelievable! The food is tasty, and cooked to order. The menu offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert options. Luis’s Caribbean sauce is the best I have ever tasted. The owners and their family members all contribute to the success of the hotel. We had planned to leave after 3 days but extended our stay for additional two nights because we felt so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkdSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We just spent three nights at this hotel - overall it was really good. We booked it at very short notice and were told we could have a sea view, double with air con, TV and en-suite for $55 a night. Kind of pricey but we were treating ourselves after many days of more basic hostels. The room was on the small side (the double bed was up against the wall, making it harder for one person to get out) and the TV was basically non-existent as it had only three channels, all in Spanish, two of which had terrible reception. However, the air con was great, there was a fridge, and the shower was good, with plenty of hot water.
The downer came one afternoon when we were waiting for the owner's boat to show up to take us to the beach (we'd requested it for 1pm but it never came, in the end we got another one) and a guy walked in off the street and asked about rates - we overheard him being told he could have a room with the same features for $35! I challenged the owner and got a load of mumbled rubbish about 'that wasn't what I said' etc which just put me in a bad mood, especially as we were the only people staying in the hotel, so hardly the 'high season' he claimed. He'd been very hospitable up till then - after that point we never saw him again. (He also claimed it's a 25 minute boat ride to Red Frog. It was seven.)
There are some lovely outside spaces - our room had a tiny private balcony but was also next to a huge one we could use. Downstairs was an enormous deck, used nearly every day for loud samba classes for the locals, so make sure you like loud music if you'll be staying in. Also make sure you're an early riser, as there is some work going on, and the hammering, banging and sawing starts before 08:30.
On another note - there is a pizza place about one minute's walk away. The pizzas are really pretty good (they will do thin crust or however you want it, just ask) but the breakfasts are not. I had what claimed to be french toast and it was dire - I couldn't eat it, and when I complained and asked for a discount it was refused by the American lady who runs it - really bad customer service. Avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helliebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribbean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean View

Property: Hotel Caribbean View
Address: Calle Principal, Casa 98, Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos 0101, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Caribbean View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caribbean View is a family owned hotel and restaurant and has been for the last ten years. We offer a pleasant water front dining experience with spectacular views. We have a variety of room types that all include A/C, Free WiFi, private baths and nice comfortable beds with affordable prices. Also ,are upstairs rooms offer private balcony's. Are restaurant uses local fresh produce,fruit and seafood right here from Bocas Del Toro. Are dinners include whole lobster,snapper,shrimp,octopus all in one of are unique Caribbean creole sauces. Are dinner price range is 9-25$ usd. With authentic Caribbean Style food and wonderful hospitality Hotel Caribbean View is a excellent vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Caribbean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean View Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing