We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Caribbean View
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was a real find, the hotel is only accessible by water taxi, about 30 minutes from the mainland or 10 minutes from Boca. Owned by a lovely family who are delightful people. It's like a boat house or hotel on stilts. The rooms are beautifully wood lined with good beds, pillows and AC, you have your own balcony and there are hammocks at the top of the stairs. The sunrises and sunsets are magical, there is no traffic on the island, rush hour is just a few small boats going back and forth.
The food they offer is nothing fancy but freshly cooked and service by Louis is friendly and efficient, we had some fresh fish one evening, it was great. Red Frog Beach is a 10 minute boat rise away and worth a visit, it has good facilities. The main town is 10 minutes away, there are lots of bars and restaurants, quite a lively place. Stayed for 3 nights, could have stayed a week.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Old Bank on Bastimentos is about as laid back a place as you could imagine. It's fairly basic, with stray dogs and children freely running around. Feels friendly and hassle free. Caribbean View is high end for here, with A/C, ensuite bathrooms and a nice deck for meals, plus breezy upper deck for relaxing. It's used by small tour groups of 10 or 12.

Rooms upstairs have balconies, good for sitting out watching village life in all its colour. Or the sun come up.

Food good from a limited menu, but they made off menu veggie meals for me too. Clean and well run, service not fast but we're not here to rush around.

The whole family works here, and they give it a friendly atmosphere. They'll hail boats to go to beaches or other islands, and generally look after you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Hotel Caribbean View is a nice hotel built on poles in the ocean. Nice restaurant with decent prices. Friendly and english speaking staff. Feels safe and the rooms where clean. They can arrange for boat tours. They have wi fi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guslor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I have been at this quaint little hotel several times, and it is the BEST place around! The family who owns it and runs it, are such warm, hospitable people, that you will never want to leave the relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are cute and clean, and the down home Caribbean food is to die for! Don't miss this vacation experience, it may be the best one you will ever have in your life!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panamanian-Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a family run hotel where all of your needs and wants are taken care of. From the first moment that your boat pulls up to the entrance right through till you're taking your last sip of a banana shake and lamenting your trip back, everything you could ever want from an island experience is fulfilled. The island itself has no cars, but you won't notice since the hotel is well situated and central to most of what the island has to offer. The rooms are well equipped, and the one we had included a deck from which we could watch the boats come in each morning.
We loved our time at the Hotel Caribbean View and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGrrrl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I am on my way back to see Eunice and her wonderful family and this review is over due.
I loved it! And I loved the family of this spotless, on the water gem. The rooms will make any woman exhale the minute you walk in. Romantic little balconies with tables for two draw you to sitting and relaxing and watching as local life does what it does on the water just below you. Share a coffee or an iced cold drink with your neighbor next door right through the cutsey little connecting trellis. Then go back inside to nap, your choice of fan, ac or an open door to the sea. Fluffy towels, awesome mattresses and the sweetest room decor you have ever seen. TV, full length mirror out fitted bath...really. And on top of this great food, all wrapped up in warmth and friendliness from a family and a place you will want to return to soon. Go for it. Pure Vida!

Room Tip: They are all good. Bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pembabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Luis is a true gent and was more than happy to help us out. Luis Junior took us on a couple of excellent trips in his boat to see dolphins, star fish and other wonders in the area. The island has no cars and don't expect a crazy wild time, this is a place to kick back and relax with a beer. I would def go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mancduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
359 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribbean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean View

Address: Calle Principal, Casa 98, Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos 0101, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Caribbean View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caribbean View is a family owned hotel and restaurant and has been for the last ten years. We offer a pleasant water front dining experience with spectacular views. We have a variety of room types that all include A/C, Free WiFi, private baths and nice comfortable beds with affordable prices. Also ,are upstairs rooms offer private balcony's. Are restaurant uses local fresh produce,fruit and seafood right here from Bocas Del Toro. Are dinners include whole lobster,snapper,shrimp,octopus all in one of are unique Caribbean creole sauces. Are dinner price range is 9-25$ usd. With authentic Caribbean Style food and wonderful hospitality Hotel Caribbean View is a excellent vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Caribbean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean View Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing