We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU MUST STAY AT THIS HOTEL WITH LUIS AND FAMILY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Caribbean View
Reviewed 12 June 2013

If you are in panama, make a point to go to bastimentos, if only for the experience of hanging out in Old Bank with Luis and his family. They will take care of everything you need, including food. rooms are very clean, comfortable and have AC.
Also, Luis Jr. is the man. He will give you a day tour that you will never forget for $20-$30/person depending on the size of the group. we saw dolphins (including a baby), went snorkeling in 2 reefs, and went swimming at wizard beach. if you are really lucky, luis will bring his wife and kids with you on the tour. they are awesome (kids are too cute).
We were in Panama for 2 weeks, and the 3 nights we spent with Luis and family were the best by far. Thanks Luis!!!!!!!!!!!!! Respect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emi8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at the Caribbean View for three nights during a tour of Costa Rica and Panama. The family that run the hotel are amazing - incredibly accommodating and super friendly. The location of the hotel is idyllic in my opinion far nicer than the main island of Colon. The hotel is well maintained. Our room had a/c and a balcony overlooking the sea. The family are able to organise any tours and days trips. We opted to make use of the hotels kayaks and also went on and 2 great fishing trips organised through the owners’ son-in-law, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 644MichaelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in the caribbean view for one night only and we wished we had had longer to spend there. We felt immediately at home, the family is very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent.
They brought us on tours around the island and were very accommodating in regards to where we wanted to go and how long we wanted to stay there. Most of the boats leaving isla Colon take too many people on board, so I highly suggest booking a trip with the caribbean view.
Our room was great, very comfortable and clean.
We look forward to going back already!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This place is managed by a local family , with all the facilities, including restaurant, kayaks, tours, A/C , hot water, etc, and all teh family members are very friendly and helpful, excellent location , much better than the main island Colon.... and Bastimentos Island is great !

Room Tip: Get a room in the second floor with the balcony facing the town and the sunset....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabianZuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Caribbean View on a trip with my university and had the loveliest experience. The family that owns/operates it is really something special. They're cooking is delicious and be sure to ask Melma (i think her name was) about all her knowledge regarding herbs and healing. A few travelers were sick/had slight infections and she fixed them up like magic! They had kayaks to use that we took advantage of while the sun rose. A lovely experience, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was a real find, the hotel is only accessible by water taxi, about 30 minutes from the mainland or 10 minutes from Boca. Owned by a lovely family who are delightful people. It's like a boat house or hotel on stilts. The rooms are beautifully wood lined with good beds, pillows and AC, you have your own balcony and there are hammocks at the top of the stairs. The sunrises and sunsets are magical, there is no traffic on the island, rush hour is just a few small boats going back and forth.
The food they offer is nothing fancy but freshly cooked and service by Louis is friendly and efficient, we had some fresh fish one evening, it was great. Red Frog Beach is a 10 minute boat rise away and worth a visit, it has good facilities. The main town is 10 minutes away, there are lots of bars and restaurants, quite a lively place. Stayed for 3 nights, could have stayed a week.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Old Bank on Bastimentos is about as laid back a place as you could imagine. It's fairly basic, with stray dogs and children freely running around. Feels friendly and hassle free. Caribbean View is high end for here, with A/C, ensuite bathrooms and a nice deck for meals, plus breezy upper deck for relaxing. It's used by small tour groups of 10 or 12.

Rooms upstairs have balconies, good for sitting out watching village life in all its colour. Or the sun come up.

Food good from a limited menu, but they made off menu veggie meals for me too. Clean and well run, service not fast but we're not here to rush around.

The whole family works here, and they give it a friendly atmosphere. They'll hail boats to go to beaches or other islands, and generally look after you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
563 reviews
17.7 mi away
Bocas Ridge Hotel
Bocas Ridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Almirante
53 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribbean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean View

Address: Calle Principal, Casa 98, Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos 0101, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: £35 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Caribbean View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caribbean View is a family owned hotel and restaurant and has been for the last ten years. We offer a pleasant water front dining experience with spectacular views. We have a variety of room types that all include A/C, Free WiFi, private baths and nice comfortable beds with affordable prices. Also ,are upstairs rooms offer private balcony's. Are restaurant uses local fresh produce,fruit and seafood right here from Bocas Del Toro. Are dinners include whole lobster,snapper,shrimp,octopus all in one of are unique Caribbean creole sauces. Are dinner price range is 9-25$ usd. With authentic Caribbean Style food and wonderful hospitality Hotel Caribbean View is a excellent vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Caribbean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean View Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing