We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!”
Review of Hostal Bastimentos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Bastimentos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was great. The rooms are beautiful and really worth the money. Beautiful view from the terrace!! Its a great place to relax and get away from everything. The island might not be too good in general, but the hostel definitely is. The manager is a great person as well. I totally recomend this place for a couple or even alone or with friends if you are looking to relax. Anyhow you can take a watertaxi to the main island if you feel like going our for drinks or to eat.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hostel Bastimentos was a cool experience. Super chill little island. The beaches are so secluded and empty. Some of the nicest beaches I've ever seen. The Hostel was great, all the guests were casual and everyone socialized. The owner, Enrique was extremely friendly and helpful. Give him beers and he'll be an even happier man. Haha. Keep it up Enrique. We had fun there. Thank you for putting up with our drunken new year excursion Haha. If you see Snake tell him the Canadian boys say whats up!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tfunk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Nice hostel in the interesting town of bastimentos. Everything was in good condition including the beds and the kitchen. The staff were friendly and it was only a 10 minute walk to wizard beach (which is unspoiled by mass tourism like the other beaches in the bocas region.)

I did not stay for more than one night though as it was stiflingly hot and I missed the AC I had on the main island.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank JosephFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at Hostal Bastimentos with my mum for two nights in September. We decided to stay in one of the "super deluxe" rooms, which was said to have a good view (which it did) and a hot shower and refrigerator (which it didn't). In fact, the shower didn't work at all when other people downstairs were taking a shower.. Also we couldn't find any of the staff to tell them about it, so all we could do was wait for the people downstairs to finish showering.The staff was really friendly though, especially the owner! I'm sure they would have helped us if we could have found them. All in all, nice hostel, but it's definitely not worth going for the super deluxe rooms. The ones downstairs are basically the same (or even better) except for the view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellieNellieNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

PROS
Incredibly friendly and helpful staff - nothing too much for them and they will go out of their way to make your stay memorable
Very clean rooms
Good value for money
The verandas with hammocks are perfect for lounging - especially the view from the hammocks on the top floor!
Kitchen is pretty clean

CONS:
The rooms are quite dark
The fan doesn't actually blow air onto the bed (where you need it the most!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We where here for 5 days. We had the private double on the top floor. View is beautifull rooms are nice. Bathroom was not super clean but oké! (it is a hostal!) Patrick was the host (King of the castle) when we where there. Super nice guy, gives lots of information and local tips! For me bastimentos is the place to stay in bocas! The hostal is a good base to explore the island and get to know the rastas in oldbank.

Patrick if you are in Holland you know how to find us!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roovers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights and had a good time. I paid for a private room, but there were no available when I checked in so I got a dorm room to myself. I loved the hammocks all over the place, especially on the top floor where I was because you have a lovely view of the water and the docks. I got a chance to see the cabana type rooms in the back and they were very lovely. The island is small enough that everything is close to everything. Staff was wonderful and friendly, especially the owner. I had no complaints and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
73 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Jaguar
Hostal El Jaguar
#6 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bastimentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bastimentos

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: £20 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Bastimentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Bastimentos Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing