We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Firefly Restaurant & Bar

The Firefly Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Firefly serves Thai/Caribbean food in an open air, outdoor setting directly on the Caribbean Ocean. We source locally and organically whenever possible and believe in using ingredients readily available to make up our menu. Because of this philosophy, our menu items may change daily. Contact us for special Occasion or private dining! We can create an amazing atmosphere! Contact at least 24 hours in advance if you wish to do a tasting menu, starting at 5 courses. Full bar, Cash only and reservations required. CLOSED TUES/WED
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you are anywhere near Bastimentos, you MUST eat at The Firefly. You'll need to make reservations, as they have a limited supply of food. They use all local ingredients in uniquely scrumptious ways. You will be truly delighted, especially if you are a foodie. The quality is on par with any major metropolitan city restaurant. I read that it was good, but didn't it expect it to be that good, as the location is so off the beaten path. Lauren knows her way around the kitchen.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    24
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another satisfied customer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had been reading about The Firefly for a while before finally making a trip to Isla Bastimentos. We were not disappointed! The service was awesome, very professional. The atmosphere is very comfortable and inviting. I liked how the owner explained the process, went through every item on the menu with us, etc. The cocktails were delicious, with some unique options. The food is served in small-ish portions, tapas style, so each dish arrives as it is ready. This was a perfect way for my friend and I to enjoy several flavors and dishes from the menu at a comfortable pace. We ordered three dishes between us, and we were very satisfied. Granted, neither of us are big eaters. Everything was so fresh and tasty and expertly prepared. It is the most expensive dining option on the island (and general Panamanian prices), but it's not expensive compared to U.S. or European prices. Definitely worth the splurge! Thank you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheeckyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
1 review
“Off the beat path and worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My foodie husband found this little gem of a restaurant in old town. It's very clean and the food was delicious. I highly recommend the fried green tomato sandwich and fries.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shaynealexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Door County, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Panama trip resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Recently returned from a couple weeks in Panama and Firefly restaurant AND lodging was the best of the entire trip! Great food with fun hosts in a location second to none.

Schusters from Wisconsin

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gliddenwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephraim, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Charming & Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Last year on my vacation in Bocas I had lunch at the "Firefly" restaurant. It was fabulous. This year on my return to Bocas I made it a point to return for dinner as they no longer are serving lunch. I could not have been more pleased. When you are looking for an exceptional meal at a good price this is the place to go. It has a divine view and awesome food. I had the coconut shrimp [BIG AND SUCCULENT] as a appetizer and Filet Mignon as a main course. I must say it was one of the better combinations of dishes I have ever had. OH, don't forget to have one of Ryan's margaritas to top off your dining experience on this tropical island. It is well worth the short and fun ride from BocasTown on a local water taxi to reach "The Firefly". Lauren will become your personal chef as you watch the ocean from their large and comfortable deck and enjoy a Caribbean sunset.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Firefly Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to The Firefly Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing