We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Frog Beach

Red Frog Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Polo's Paradise Madness Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just went to Red Frog beach for a day, you have to pay a small entrance fee, it was very nice, nothing super awesome, i think i liked other beaches better... The bar and grill in the place was good, had a fish sandwich and an Amapola alcohol free drink which was actually delicious!!!! would totally go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank anatourino84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    234
    105
    19
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best beach on Bastimentos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a beautiful beach with waves, white sand and a nice cafe where you can buy 2$ beer and cocktails. You can rent gear from the beach hostel as well. There's also food if you are so inclined. Beaches with food and drink - did you come to Bocas for anything else? If coming from Bocas main you should check this beach out and if you're staying on Bastimentos trust me - Take the boat ride. I know everything is dirt cheap on this island but when the locals tell you it's a rough hike to Red Frog, they are not kidding. I grew up hiking in Colorado and all over the place and during the beginning of rainy season the trek to get to this beauty of a beach is serious business. If you get the opportunity to stay in the "glamping" tents or in the nearby resorts, I highly recommend it. I wish I would have spent my entire stay here. And I wish I hadn't saved it for the end of my trip. I would have come here every day if I had known.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank etalmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Saw better beaches in Panama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was definitely a beautiful beach but there was a lot of washed up branches, leaves and seaweed which made the seawater less clear and enjoyable. The water was otherwise warm and fun to play in the waves. Beach around the corner was more secluded but so much more beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Waves and more waves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you like playing in the waves - Red Frog is your beach! Also an awesome bar and restaurant to get drinks at - and they have tons of limes for your rum. We didn't eat there just had drinks and met lots of fun people. Lots of space on the beach to park yourself and watch the people playing in the waves.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzieqGRENADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best beach on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Red Frog Beach is one of the best spots on Isla Bastimentos. We were there during the rainy season, so it was very wet. But the beach is beautiful, reddish/tan sand, lots of space to walk. It's busy, but not too crowed (at least when we were there). It's easier to get to than some of the neighboring beaches. You can take a water taxi to the marina, then walk about 10 minutes to the beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheeckyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Frog Beach also viewed

Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bluff Beach, Isla Colon
 

Been to Red Frog Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing