We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Buccaneer Resort(Carenero Island)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Gran Hotel Bahia(Bocas Town)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bocas del Toro(Bocas Town)
US$112
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
391
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate farmbat cavehomemade muffinsother guestsopen aircacao treeschocolate dessertsingredients grownpre breakfastevery morningchocolate tourbahia hondatravel experiencejungle lodgetamalesred frog beachmaking chocolate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at La Loma Jungle Lodge (family of four -- kids 6 and 8) and LOVED it. Henry and Margaret are lovely, the setting is breathtaking, the cabins are magical and the food is delicious. Our only regret is that we were there two nights, not three. We'll be back to Panama and La Loma will be top of our list for accommodations.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was our second visit in 3 years to La Loma Jungle Lodge. The lodge owners who are consistent in all they offer, and indigenous staff with welcoming smiles. We arrived at noon, just in time for our foodie experience to begin! Our lunch included homemade focaccia bread, fresh hummus, tomato & mango salad, including fresh greens laced with an edible hibiscus flower petal. An exotic fresh juice was served and for dessert a 99% cacau chocolate brownie, from cacau processed on the property! The list goes on for the remainder of the stay, including fresh afternoon tea from lemon grass or cinnamon cut on site at your request. After lunch we took a tour a 5 minutes by boat, or 1 hour by hiking, to Red Frog Beach and chose the lesser traveled, Turtle Beach. The next day we woke up to homemade muffins at our door, including coffee with warm milk before descending to breakfast in the main lodge. The rooms are beautiful and rustic, with elegant bed netting for those unwanted, including a survivor box with instructions. Though we did bring headlamps for the Bat Cave Tour, one of the best additions since our last visit is electricity! Because many of us love to read on holiday, attention to detail includes reading lights at each bedside which inevitably many civilized hotels neglect. Before departing on our next journey we walked the beautiful, organic grounds of this property where tours our offered. La Loma Jungle Lodge is where you can get off the grid, leave technology behind, and be grateful you chose this experience!

Room Tip: Cabanas are located on hillside so prepare yourself with stair climbing exercises before you arrive! Good reason to get in shape!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We happened upon La Loma online whilst travelling in Panama, and could not have expected such an amazing time. Henry and Margaret totally exceeded our expectation as hosts. The food was outstanding, service, exceptional, and the cozy environment allowed us to connect with other couples around the world who we still keep in touch with. Add in some top notch day trips and true cabin-style jungle living, and you have an ideal vacation. Period. Will definitely return someday. Thank you, from your Canadian friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirtyepidrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I spent 3 weeks travelling in Panama and La Loma was the most memorable and exciting part of our vacation! The meals, the cabin, the hospitality and the excursions were all top notch! The owners Henry and Margaret, and their adorable son Lucho, were such welcoming and wonderful hosts. They have done everything they could to make sure that a stay at their chocolate farm & eco-lodge in the jungle is very special.

We chose to stay at La Loma based on their great reviews of being an eco-friendly jungle lodge with local, sustainable meals, but it exceeded our expectations! Being able to try their greens and exotic fruits grown right on the property was such an experience. The three meals a day we were served were all interesting, local and delicious. If you were on an excursion, they would pack a lunch for you! Dinners at night were always fun. Henry would make a drink of the day and we enjoyed getting to know him and his family and also the other wonderful guests of the lodge.

The rainwater-fed, solar powered cabins were so clean and comfy and very well appointed. Waking up to fresh muffins and a thermos of coffee delivered to your door and enjoyed in the hammocks with the most amazing view was a great way to start the day! We were in cabin #3 which we thought to be best because of the spectacular view of the jungle and the water. The fans inside the mosquito nets kept the bugs at bay, so we were able to get a good night’s sleep each of the four nights we were there (that is, once we got used to the noises of the jungle at night)!! Keep in mind though that the cabins are up a short, but steep trail.

Although, we could have been happy sticking around the property, hiking, taking the chocolate farm tour and learning to grind chocolate with the wonderful staff member Bolivia, I recommend taking as many of the excursions you can! You will pay an extra price for most, but they are worth every penny. La Loma has the most knowledgeable and lovely staff that we felt could not found anywhere else in Bocas del Toro. We thoroughly enjoyed our snorkeling and boat trip to Zapatillas with Mr. Kelly, adventuring down the river to the bat caves (swimming in the cave sounds creepy, but you must do it), visiting the local Ngobe-Bugle Indian school and village, and the excursion to Red Frog Beach.

La Loma was definitely the highlight of our Panama trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SignoraDUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

seriously. everything is amazing. food, setting, and staff are first rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews