We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at La Loma for four nights during our honeymoon and it was one of the most magical places we've been. We're a moderately adventurous couple, but I dislike camping and felt comfortable all the time in our spacious cabin. The food was incredible, and I especially appreciated the early-morning coffee and muffin delivery. Karen and Steve (friends of the owners) were fabulous hosts, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay - even the rainy bits! We'd love to come back to La Loma and relax more, which is just about the only thing we didn't find time to do!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryWethavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
196
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We spend two awesome nights at La Loma and were stoked by the beauty of the place. in the middle of the rainforest 4 beatiful cabins offer an adventurous and beautiful place to stay. Nothing for light sleepers - the rainforest gets pretty lound - but the best for everyone who loves nature. You can forget about the outside world! Steve and Karin made the stay super easy and nice, the food was great. Everything at this place is made with love.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We loved this place and are so glad we came. So beautiful, unique, and relaxing. We only stayed two nights, and would have stayed longer if we could have. Everything was just perfect and we enjoyed every minute-- even though we contended with some rainy days! We can't wait to come back! It's amazing how they've managed to create such a comfortable, luxurious place while minimizing it's ecological footprint and benefiting the community around it. It's a treasure of a place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotskite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This "lodge," which is really an amazing adventure-luxury retreat in the jungle, is a must see. Owned by two very inspiring eco-friendly individuals who have merged amazing food, beautiful, sustainable accommodations with an up close and intimate interaction with the jungle and waterways, La Loma seems to have it all.

My boyfriend and I are adventurous and we really wanted an experience where we felt like we were immersed in the jungle with nature. We also wanted to support lodgings that promote sustainable living and charities. La Loma does all of this, while at the same time has the luxuries of amazing vegan meals (per our request), coffee and homemade muffins brought to your door in the morning, the use of kayaks, planned tours upon request and the guidance of the knowledgeable hosts.

La Loma exceeded my expectations. Kudos Henry and Margaret for being an inspiring example of promoting environmental conservation and helping the local community (we found La Loma when we bid on a night at a Charity event to support the local school on the island) with a wonderful vacation experience.

-Tamara Cross

Room Tip: Please note, the rooms are luxury tree houses- you are surrounded by nature/jungle in your room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RescueDogSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at La Loma Jungle Lodge (family of four -- kids 6 and 8) and LOVED it. Henry and Margaret are lovely, the setting is breathtaking, the cabins are magical and the food is delicious. Our only regret is that we were there two nights, not three. We'll be back to Panama and La Loma will be top of our list for accommodations.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was our second visit in 3 years to La Loma Jungle Lodge. The lodge owners who are consistent in all they offer, and indigenous staff with welcoming smiles. We arrived at noon, just in time for our foodie experience to begin! Our lunch included homemade focaccia bread, fresh hummus, tomato & mango salad, including fresh greens laced with an edible hibiscus flower petal. An exotic fresh juice was served and for dessert a 99% cacau chocolate brownie, from cacau processed on the property! The list goes on for the remainder of the stay, including fresh afternoon tea from lemon grass or cinnamon cut on site at your request. After lunch we took a tour a 5 minutes by boat, or 1 hour by hiking, to Red Frog Beach and chose the lesser traveled, Turtle Beach. The next day we woke up to homemade muffins at our door, including coffee with warm milk before descending to breakfast in the main lodge. The rooms are beautiful and rustic, with elegant bed netting for those unwanted, including a survivor box with instructions. Though we did bring headlamps for the Bat Cave Tour, one of the best additions since our last visit is electricity! Because many of us love to read on holiday, attention to detail includes reading lights at each bedside which inevitably many civilized hotels neglect. Before departing on our next journey we walked the beautiful, organic grounds of this property where tours our offered. La Loma Jungle Lodge is where you can get off the grid, leave technology behind, and be grateful you chose this experience!

Room Tip: Cabanas are located on hillside so prepare yourself with stair climbing exercises before you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We happened upon La Loma online whilst travelling in Panama, and could not have expected such an amazing time. Henry and Margaret totally exceeded our expectation as hosts. The food was outstanding, service, exceptional, and the cozy environment allowed us to connect with other couples around the world who we still keep in touch with. Add in some top notch day trips and true cabin-style jungle living, and you have an ideal vacation. Period. Will definitely return someday. Thank you, from your Canadian friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
5.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.2 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm

Property: La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Address: Bahia Honda, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience something a little different. La Loma is a working cacao farm that also accepts a small number of overnight guests.vIf you want to escape everyday life, relax in comfort in a hillside rancho overlooking a secluded bay, participate in tropical farm life or engage in a range of activities designed to bring you closer to the natural environment and local communities of this spectacular island, La Loma is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Hotel Isla Bastimentos
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing