We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had high expectations and La Loma exceeded them. The reviews are all true. We stayed in cabin 2 and had great views of the bay and the jungle. The food is amazing and the staff is so friendly and welcoming, my girlfriend and I felt as if we were staying with old friends. If you're looking for an affordable, relaxing, and authentic jungle vacation, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criver0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
194
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I can't say much that everyone else here hasn't already, our short stay was really amazing.

Henry and his wife and team of employees and interns are friendly, welcoming, laid back, and also provide amazing service and REALLY amazing food in a pristine jungle setting. Somehow they think of all the little details all the time.

The cabanas (rooms?) are built to maximize comfort as well as exposure to the surrounding environment. You can wake up to see sloths and monkeys hanging out in trees without having to get out of bed, while sipping the fresh hot coffee that they leave outside your room every morning. They also somehow manage to be totally off the grid without sacrificing anything.

I can't speak for all the tours, but the bat cave was awesome. All the employees were great and its impressive how engaged la Loma is with the local community. Check out the kindergarten that they run on the premises, I wish more businesses were as engaged with the community as they are.

Also just wanted to send out a special thank you Henry for being extremely tolerant and gracious with my girlfriend and my shoddy and last minute planning. We honestly weren't planning on staying at La Loma at all but our planned accommodations fell through at the very last minute (my fault). Henry let us stay with our friends who were staying at la Loma anyway, fitting us in for dinner with zero notice and making us feel welcome and comfortable from the getgo. We were only able to stay a night since we're traveling on a very tight budget, but my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Thanks Henry and La Loma crew.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Friendly staff and high quality little lodges. The rooms have no walls - only mosquito nets so you can really experience the jungle at night. The meals they serve is freshly cooked and has a lot of local elements. The whole enterprice is a rather social one and so they support local tribes, a school and kindergarden. They help a lot of locals to make a living. The have some vounteer-workers too. That's probably why the stay was a little expensive. I'd say it was well worth the money. Even though I don't like to pay extra for every single beer I drink when i stay a places in this price-range... But all together it was an awesome stop with very cool people running it.

Room Tip: Rooms are all quite equal i guess. It's a very nice hotel (it's not really a hotel...but i w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirxter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Yes, it took me 5 months to sit down and write this review because I simply couldn't think of anything to say that hasn't been said before. All the superlatives have been used, all the beauty described in detail, I would really like to top that somehow but I don't know how. So I'll simply say that yes, everything is true, the place is wonderful and, most important for me, Margret and Henry, Captain Kelly and all the other people around are amazing. We spent New Year's at Loma and I can assure you that this is the one that will never be forgotten by anybody in our family.
Before I go, one word about the chitras, the annoying little flies that go through the netting. One of the other couples who were there at the same time with us gave us some Prickly Pear Cactus lotion (or something like that) and it worked miracles for us. Much better than DEET as my daughter just reminded me the other day.
Oh and one more thing. Our kids are pretty bad eaters, you know, pasta is the only good thing in life. Well, they told us that they never ate so well in any of the places we've been so far and we do like to travel! Yes, the food is also amazing, by far the best we had in Panama.
Don't delay, just go.

Room Tip: The higher cabins get more light but the walk is longer :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seibe_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was by far the best place we stayed at in Panama during our 2 weeks there.

The cabins are beautifully refined and the owners (magaret and Henry) took care of every single detail personally when they bought this land and built from scratch this amazing place.

We had a cabin with a beautiful view on the jungle.
There are no real walls around it but only nets and big curtains so the immersion in the nature is amazing. Expect monkey climbing on the trees near you :)
Still the cabin feels very private and the is spacious and comfortable (there is also a hot water and powerful shower).

Service was impeccable.
The owners were always available to entertain and give information to the gusts but very respectful of their privacy and preferences.

A first breakfast (coffee, juice, freshly baked cakes) was left outside each cabin every morning.

Food has been the highlight of this stay. Everything was locally grown, baked and home made.

Breakfast was fresh and abundant with bread, butter, jam, juices, homemade granola, yoghurt and locally grown coca nibs...and a hot dish if you still had room left...
Dinner was starting with an Aperitivo with a different cocktail made by Henry each evening.
Each dish was explained in details and the food a delicious fusion mix of freshness and exotic flavours.

We enjoyed every single moment of our stay here.

Only one down side - very tiny sand flies that could go through the nets and were resistant to DEET. They bit us so badly during our 2 nights stay that we scratched for 2 weeks after.
I know that the integration with nature is one of the best sides of this place, but a dis-infestation would be beneficial.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

La Loma is a total treasure. We've traveled Central America quite a bit - I feel La Loma has been our best jungle + aquatic retreat experience. We enjoy off the grid adventures, especially when we encounter so many creature comforts and great services. Henry and Margaret are magnificent hosts and have created a fantastic/magical venue. Our cabana was set back in the forest with beautiful views...loved having muffins/coffee delivered in the AM. The entire La Loma staff made our four day visit entertaining, educational, delicious (thanks Bri) and fun. We also enjoyed nightly dinners with the other guests...birds of a feather. Great memories. Thank you La Loma .

Room Tip: Beware the cabanas are on a hillside. There are very good/gravel covered steps. The climb my be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Henry and Margaret, I'm so sorry for the long delay in writing this review but with a 3 year old there is never a good time, so here goes. It's been a little over a year since we stayed at La Loma but still think often about our 4 days there. The Lodge is a unique creation of the owners who go out of their way to make sure that guests are exceedingly well taken care of. The food was simply out of this world, even down to the generous and interesting picnic lunches. Photos can't begin to capture the magic of this place, to which one arrives by boat, walks straight into the jungle, and then is pampered with gourmet food and wine and wonderful excursions to secluded beaches, etc. It was also the first time I have ever taken a boat and then walked from the boat to the airport, what fun. The family is delightful and our daughter loved playing with their son and the other children. They not only have created an exotic and eco-friendly establishment, they have given a lot back to their community. They are great story-tellers and conversationalists and created an atmosphere in which all of us guests at strangers fell into easy rapport during our communal meals in a covered outdoor dining room. If you are looking for an adventure, and natural beauty without all mod cons (no a/c and you are of course in the jungle), but also want some delicious food and drink, this should be on the top of your list. Thank you all!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lowest bungalow which has no view because we were traveling with an emergently walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
5.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.2 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm

Property: La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Address: Bahia Honda, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience something a little different. La Loma is a working cacao farm that also accepts a small number of overnight guests.vIf you want to escape everyday life, relax in comfort in a hillside rancho overlooking a secluded bay, participate in tropical farm life or engage in a range of activities designed to bring you closer to the natural environment and local communities of this spectacular island, La Loma is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Hotel Isla Bastimentos
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing