We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Cayuco- already booked my return trip”
Review of Casa Cayuco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Cayuco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Casa Cayuco- already booked my return trip”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Casa Cayuco so much last fall that I've just booked my return visit and I’ve recruited a group of 10 friends to join me. As if relaxing in paradise isn't enough, the cuisine, guided excursions and hospitality of the gracious and fun loving hosts will surely entice you. Sue is a remarkable chef who takes great pleasure in cultivating her gardens and infusing local fish and produce to the table for your culinary enjoyment. Lloyd is an experienced outdoor recreationist and is a delightful guide in the snorkeling, hiking, and boating excursions while generously sharing his expansive knowledge of the local community, culture and surrounding ecosystem. Together, with the company of their English bulldogs, Angus and Bella, they bring a very familiar southern hospitality to the Caribbean resort which made my vacation at Casa Cayuco an experience worth repeating. I am greatly looking forward to my return trip this August 2012.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbluegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
128
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Wow; what an experience! We were picked up at the Bocas del Toro airport by Lloyd, who is the friendliest and most knowledgeable person you could hope to meet. The 45-minute boat ride to the resort was great, and once we got there, we were greeted by Sue, the other half of Casa Cayuco. Sue immediately made us feel right at home and plied us with a cocktail. Then came the 1st of 4 nights of fabulous dinners, prepared expertly but with a familiar touch, by Sue. All the meals were incredible, it's amazing what Sue can do with a limited grocery supply chain. The room was fabulous; right on the beach so we got a good breeze all day and all night. The remote character of the resort really encourages complete relaxation, but if you want adventure, it is right at your fingertips: snorkeling in the crystal clear waters, kayaking, hiking, bird watching from the room's veranda, etc. We felt like part of the family and loved our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pelicano, which is a 2-person cabana right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

we hesitated a lot before chosing casa cayuco because of the price. but it definitely worth it!!!
we had the best 4 nights in this hotel! the island was fantastic, the room was awesome, food was great and our host were very very friendly and ready to make every thing for us.
a mix of jungle and desert beaches perfect if you want to get some time far from the noise.
great experience if you also want to explore an island with local tribes.
we got very lucky having the hotel just for the both of us for the last night which became a paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurelien b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Casa Cayuco is unbelievably beautiful, comfortable, delicious, relaxing and is truly paradise. Sue and Lloyd could not have been more wonderful. Sue is fabulous chef and takes such care and pride in the gourmet meals she makes. We played with Bella and Angus (so cute) and got our doggie fix and it made it feel so homey. We were only there for three nights in June and were so sad to leave.

Our first day we literally napped and lounged all day....it was so quiet and peaceful that we kept dozing off! Our second day we walked on the beach, swam, snorkeled, kayaked...so wonderful. We kayaked over to Salt Creek to visit the Indian village and for a tour of the rain forest. It was great...everyone was so nice. Lloyd and Sebastian took us on an excursion to the Chocolate Farm (lovely!) and snorkeling to three different coral reefs. It was like Dr. Seuss under water...who knew that so many colors even existed. We are raving about Casa Cayuco to all of our friends and cannot wait to go back but for a longer stay.

Thank you again Sue and Lloyd and everyone at Casa Cayuco for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marybeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We decided to head to Casa Cayuco for our mom's 80th b-day celebration and we couldn't have found a better place. It was perfect for all ages -- from 7 to 80 -- with something for everyone. Since there were 16 in our party it was just our family for the 5 nights so we had the place to ourselves. Sue and Lloyd were extremely gracious hosts, very flexible and helpful, and lots of fun besides! The rooms were comfortable and spacious with homey touches, the meals were incredible, and the setting spectacular. Every night the kids would head out to the dock with the hammocks and chairs to play cards late into the night while the adults relaxed in the lodge dining area or headed back to our rooms. We were staying in Coco and at night we could hear the monkeys, birds and caiman much to our delight.

In our free time we kayaked and paddle-boarded around the beach and even took the sailboat out one day. The kids would have been happy to hang out all day swimming, snorkeling and exploring the reef nearby. We went on several excursions which were definitely some of the highlights of our stay. From the short hike to Salt Creek and the Caiman trail to the full day at Ndori Beach to surf, swim, and hang out with the friendly locals each trip was equally exciting. We also headed to Dolphin Bay to snorkel in the mangroves and watch the playful dolphins -- this was one of our favorite outings.

Thanks to Sue, Lloyd, and the rest of the staff (Sebastian was great to have on our outings and around the lodge) this was an incredibly special trip for our family that we will all always remember. We certainly hope we can come back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAfamily1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st simons island
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Fabulous weather, water & 2 furry Eng bulldogs (Angus & Belle) are
center to this area. Sue & Lloyd are not to overlooked as they manage,
chef, expert guiding to outings such as: snorkling, chocolate farm &
fabulous garden expert, ropes course & walks to nearby villages where
one can view more exotic plants & wildlife ( sloths come in 1 st place for
adorable looks). Accomodations & cuisine superb! would return!!

Room Tip: All were comprable/ 3 separate mini lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We just got back from our trip to Panama and the highlight was definitely Casa Cayuco! From the moment we got on the boat to head to the island, I knew we were in for a relaxing stay! We stayed in Pelicano and found it to be such a beautiful cabin with a fantastic view of the beach and ocean. The craftsmanship is very impressive and really makes you feel like you are part of your surroundings. Our cabin was cleaned daily by the very attentive and friendly staff and even the clothes I had left out were neatly folded on the bed. The excursions offered at Casa Cayuco were also a highlight. We did two snorkeling trips and took a hike to the local village. All were exceptional! The mangrove snorkeling allowed us to see by far the most impressive coral I have ever seen! Even if you don't do the excursions, the resort itself is very relaxing. It was so nice to unwind and get away from it all! We could have spent an entire day reading and relaxing on the dock! Probably the best part of Casa Cayuco is the hospitality. The staff is so welcoming and Sue and Lloyd really made us feel so special! We even got to enjoy a private dinner on the dock! I felt like they really went above and beyond to make our honeymoon special. Casa Cayuco is a great way to experience the Bocas area and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
11.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
8.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cayuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cayuco

Property: Casa Cayuco
Address: Punta Vieja, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cayuco is a truely unique and intimate eco-resort that sits directly on the only calm beach in the Bocas del Toro archipelago. If you crave beauty, nature, adventures on land and sea, seclusion, delicious food and local cultures - Casa Cayuco is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cayuco Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Casa Cayuco Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing