We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach, jungle, food, and company. We cannot wait to go back!”
Review of Casa Cayuco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Cayuco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect beach, jungle, food, and company. We cannot wait to go back!”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had the BEST time during our week stay at Casa Cayuco. After a stressful few months, my husband and I were looking for some "active" relaxation. We love the outdoors, and wanted a vacation where we could have a mix of rest and outdoors activity. Casa Cayuco could not have been more perfect for the kind of vacation we wanted. Our days were spent napping and relaxing on hammocks and kayaking, stand-up paddleboarding, and snorkeling.

The area is pristine and has that amazing combination of beach and jungle that allows you to sit in your cabin and enjoy a view of the Caribbean, and then take a stroll through the backside of the property and encounter Capuchin monkeys and caimans. It is such a special place.

It is not just the beautiful surroundings that make Casa Cayuco such a special place. Sue and Lloyd are amazing hosts, and their care and attention made Casa Cayuco a place we will want to return to again and again. And, of course, the FOOD. Sue and her staff made some the most healthful, delicious food we've ever had. Every day.

Just go. You will be so happy you did.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Pelicano and Coco cabins, and you really can't go wrong with any of the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddd1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
135
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

With so many places in the world we have not seen we try not to visit the same place twice. We may have to make an exception.

Casa Cayuco was perfect for our family. We found the right balance of activity and relaxation. Casa Cayuco was large enough to offer choices but small enough that we felt safe letting the kids roam free.

The food was fabulous and Sue was great about accommodating our picky kids. The excursions were well worth the price you pay. We even did the mangrove snorkel a second time. Thank you Lloyd for finding a way to fit this in.

See you in a few years!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Casa Cayuco offers a getaway like no other. You are surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation and gorgeous views, while the amazing staff provides a tailored experience to give you R&R your way. The villa ‘La Tortuga’ was a lovely way to spend a week. The excursions were exhilarating and relaxing all in one. The turquoise waters were breathtaking, and snorkeling there is a window into a beautifully vibrant world! The educational aspects provided by Sue & Lloyd made it all the more enjoyable and enriching. An added touch of gourmet dining is a true highlight. Sue and her kitchen staff fed us delicious cuisine all week! And the eco living experience is a testament to what can be done utilizing what nature provides. We have memories to last a lifetime, but hope to go back and make some more! Thanks to Sue & Lloyd (and Bella & Angus) for being such gracious hosts!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A wonderful visit and vacation at Casa Cayuco! We arrived to enjoy a fabulous dinner, followed by several days of equally great food, all well-prepared and beautifully presented. Sue and Lloyd are wonderful hosts, from food and outings to sharing their extensive knowledge of the area. Sunny days we hiked through the jungle trail and enjoyed the Cayman Nature Trail and tour. Since it was our first trip to this or any similar destination, Sue and Lloyd’s descriptions of the area and what to expect were particularly helpful. They also guided us as to what would suit our interests as well as what would be practical considering our usual level of physical activity and the condition of the terrain.
We had a day or so of rainy weather during out stay, and took advantage of the ‘down’ time to read, relax, and socialize – a really nice combination of activity and relaxation during the entire stay. The accommodations and grounds are lovely, the water and breezes pleasing, and the dock is the Best place to be! All very enjoyable and a great vacation choice! Truly a ‘find’ – We’re so glad we found it!
Thanks, Sue and Lloyd. Jerry and Willie

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Willie072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Casa Cayuco - all that we were hoping for and so much more! The location is breathtaking...almost surreal. It really is as beautiful as the photos and videos show, if not more so. We enjoyed our cabin (tortuga), which was literally footsteps from the beach. The staff ensured that it was cleaned daily at our convenience and our friendly and dependable gecko friends helped keep any unwanted insects away. The food was fresh, creative, tasty, and very healthy. Sue was very accommodating and thoughtful when it came to meals and our children (7 and 11).
We went on several excursions while at Casa Cayuco, under the knowledgeable and entertaining guidance of Lloyd (and often Sebastian - our son's new hero). The excursions were always well-explained, but never forced. While on our various amazing excursions, we were fortunate to see dolphins playing in our waves and swimming alongside the boat, monkeys, sloths, poisonous dart frogs, as well as a huge array of ocean life. The water was crystal clear and the snorkelling was incredible.
Casa Cayuco is paradise, but what makes it so special and unforgettable are the fantastic hosts, Lloyd and Sue (and their sidekicks, Angus and Bella). Nothing can compare to their hospitality! They are truly gifted at what they do. Our 7 year old (as well as the rest of us) was very sad to leave them.
We have not only had the experience of a lifetime, but feel that we have made friendships that we will always cherish. We are already trying to plan a return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich and Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Casa Cayuco so much last fall that I've just booked my return visit and I’ve recruited a group of 10 friends to join me. As if relaxing in paradise isn't enough, the cuisine, guided excursions and hospitality of the gracious and fun loving hosts will surely entice you. Sue is a remarkable chef who takes great pleasure in cultivating her gardens and infusing local fish and produce to the table for your culinary enjoyment. Lloyd is an experienced outdoor recreationist and is a delightful guide in the snorkeling, hiking, and boating excursions while generously sharing his expansive knowledge of the local community, culture and surrounding ecosystem. Together, with the company of their English bulldogs, Angus and Bella, they bring a very familiar southern hospitality to the Caribbean resort which made my vacation at Casa Cayuco an experience worth repeating. I am greatly looking forward to my return trip this August 2012.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbluegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Wow; what an experience! We were picked up at the Bocas del Toro airport by Lloyd, who is the friendliest and most knowledgeable person you could hope to meet. The 45-minute boat ride to the resort was great, and once we got there, we were greeted by Sue, the other half of Casa Cayuco. Sue immediately made us feel right at home and plied us with a cocktail. Then came the 1st of 4 nights of fabulous dinners, prepared expertly but with a familiar touch, by Sue. All the meals were incredible, it's amazing what Sue can do with a limited grocery supply chain. The room was fabulous; right on the beach so we got a good breeze all day and all night. The remote character of the resort really encourages complete relaxation, but if you want adventure, it is right at your fingertips: snorkeling in the crystal clear waters, kayaking, hiking, bird watching from the room's veranda, etc. We felt like part of the family and loved our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pelicano, which is a 2-person cabana right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
11.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
8.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
157 reviews
7.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
449 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cayuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cayuco

Property: Casa Cayuco
Address: Punta Vieja, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cayuco is a truely unique and intimate eco-resort that sits directly on the only calm beach in the Bocas del Toro archipelago. If you crave beauty, nature, adventures on land and sea, seclusion, delicious food and local cultures - Casa Cayuco is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cayuco Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Casa Cayuco Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing