We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”
Review of Casa Cayuco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Cayuco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 March 2010

If you need to disconnect from the stress of life or if you are looking for something different , Casa Cayuco is the place.
Our vacations were perfect more that I expected. It was gorgeous!
We did swiming, snorkeling, kayaking, we used the catamaran, we walk in the jungle just beside Casa Cayuco or just relax on the deck reading a book on a long chair or on a hamac.

Our room was a spacious casa directly on the beach with all the comfort that we need,good mattress, plenty of hot water for the shower,nets over the bed for bugs even we didn't see any.
Be awake by the sound of the sea and parrots and have the morning coffee on the deck of our casa looking at the fishermen, walk in the jungle and see sloths, tiny red frog, capucin monkey and caiman even blue morpho was unforgettable

What about the meals? I can say fantastic, always healty and delicious( filet mignon, langousta and more ) plenty of good wine, pina colada.

Tom is a perfect, sympatic host and very concern of all our needs.
We were amazed the way he managed his eco lodge and contribute to the indian community(Ngobe-Buglé)

I was very sad to leave this paradise




Tom was a perfect host and very concern of all our needs

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceValleyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

The web site does not do Cayuco justice. It was a perfect jungle setting and the atmosphere was friendly and accommendating. The huts and lodge were quaint and cozy. There is no air conditioning but the breeze and fans were sufficient. The food was amazing (thanks Natilie). I don't know how they get around all the challenges....
The location is story book beautiful.
Tom, the owner is very respectful of the environment and the local population. If spa resorts are your thing, this may not be for you but I would take this experience over the fancy packages.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWyogaretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My family of fice with children ages 9,11,13 and my parents(in their early 70s) spent 3 days at Casa Cayuco. It was the highlite of our 10 day Panama trip. What a cool place Tom has created. Neat rooms, awesome food, incredible ambience and great excursions. My kids did not want to leave. We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We just returned from our stay in Casa Cayuco and our enthusiasm will hopefully take us back for another stay someday! This was a unique opportunity off the beaten track but with no lack in enjoyment of great food, excellent hosts, natural beauty and new experiences. Our family and friends took part in a project and this was definitely a bonus experience to participate in the local environment.
Ahead of our trip, we were a little worried that being there in "rainy season" would be uncomfortable, but the moderate heat and occasional rain were no problem and part of the ambience! The snorkeling was great, so this is consistent, though the best locations apparently vary through the year due to visibility. We were guided to some great views on land and sea! Just looking around the island, we felt we had hit the jackpot in the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alarna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My wife and painstakingly researched lodging around the Bocas Del Toro area prior to our trip. We settled on a four night stay at Casa Cayuco based almost exclusively on what their website promised to offer and the existing Trip Advisor reviews. There is nothing more I can add to the other reviews. They are honest and accurate and you should read them carefully. I will post some of the photos I took.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcsmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We were fortunate to visit Casa Cayuca over the New Year. If fireworks on the beach, great food, much laughter, pleasant attentive staff, exploring miles of empty fine sand beach, having opportunities to explore other islands, coral reefs, hiking, surfing, snorkelling, touring chocolate farm, spotting dolphins or hanging out in a hammock enjoying the view or having a siesta are of interest then this is the place for you.
Susan & Neil Calgary, Alberta,Canada

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaciermsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

OFF THE SCALE!!! How this is not the No1 rated hotel in Central America, let alone Bocas Del Toro is a mystery. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and were treated to an amazing four days. I can not rate this place highly enough. We had the room on the beach which looked out over the sea and the room was huge and very clean. We had the place to ourselves for a night and we were treated like royalty. Tom is a great host and the food he cooked was first class; he not too shy with serving the drinks either. Tom's Thai Red Curry is the best outside Bangkok! Tom took us out on his 'tour' and we spent the day snorkeling and kayaking at his secret location. Best day of my 6 weeks in Central America. We loved Casa Cayuco and if you up for chilling out on a quiet beach and reading in a hammock- this place is for you. 6 Stars!!!! Stephen

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TeamToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
11.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
8.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
162 reviews
5.1 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cayuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cayuco

Address: Punta Vieja, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: £104 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cayuco is a truely unique and intimate eco-resort that sits directly on the only calm beach in the Bocas del Toro archipelago. If you crave beauty, nature, adventures on land and sea, seclusion, delicious food and local cultures - Casa Cayuco is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cayuco Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Casa Cayuco Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing