We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff - and quality rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YWCA International Hostel
Mussoorie, India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Amazing staff - and quality rooms.”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Normally out of our budget, we stayed here returning from a trip where someone else was covering the fee. Our plane - due to arrive at 11pm - arrived closer to 3am. I managed to email the YWCA with a "will be late" message, but couldn't give an ETA... and when we arrived, the reception desk was staffed, waiting for our arrival. He'd been napping, clearly - and a well-deserved nap at that! We were registered, given our room, and caught two hours of sleep before having to catch our train that morning. The water was running (and hot when we needed it!), within walking distance of a number of sights if we'd been sticking around for that, and the service staff absolutely excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    23
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
9
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Delhi guesthouses could learn from the this very well managed and run YWCA. The professionalism and friendliness of the staff, on the reception desk, in the restaurant and among the cleaners and porters, was admirable.

We stayed in a superior room - very spacious (presumably for a third bed), very clean and with nice furnishing touches - especially the characterful green chairs (from the 1950s?)

This YWCA doesn't seem as well known as others in Delhi, and lacks the pool and doubtless their other facilities. But its discreteness and quietude (although apparently full during our stay) is most welcome.

The restaurant is unexpected - not institutional, with appealing decor and interesting menu of lunch and supper. The only issue was television rather spoiling the YWCA vibe (well, it was cricket I guess), My mother had a dim view of the breakfast - no Indian breads or chai, at least not from the buffet provided in the cost of the room.

Supper though was fine and the waiter was very helpful and kind - even helping pick up our scrabble letters that we inadvertently cascaded to the floor.

For a central, quiet location in Delhi, this YWCA is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frangijasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Affordable, very clean, and conveniently located near Connaught. A delicious restaurant in same building. banks, vendors, shopping all nearby. An Indian neighborhood with lots of flavour and so much fun to wandermaround and take in the sites. Also walking distance from Pahar Ganj. Wifi only in the restaurant and lobby.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank SusielovesIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We were desperate to find a comfortable yet economical stay in the heart of Delhi after landing up and realising that No ROOMs were available in most of the city. What a pleasant surprise to find this place at the heart of the city, walkable from Connought Place and Jantar Mantar. The rooms were big and very clean, the toilets more than adequate, the staff very friendly. And all for Rs 3500 per night for doubles including breakfast! They helped me find a taxi when I needed to catch a flight out at 5 in the morning. The only problem is that there is no lift functioning (for now), and you have to pay an advance to book. But they make up by having helpful staff carry your bags upstairs, and a lot of smiles.

  • Liked — Its value for money
  • Disliked — No lift!
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Monolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Ok, this place was a nice surprise. The rooms are large and clean with tv and adequate bathroom.
It is a nice distance away from the main hubbub of Connaught place.
It is right next to a temple, so be prepared for some prayer calls. We found it all very interesting. The temple is dedicated to those with skin complaints, so if you are taking kids, prepare them for some pretty bad sights. Maimed limbs, deformities etc.
Use the tourist office on site, but if you book the Agra trip make sure your car has seatbelts, the drivers are ridiculous and we were sure our time was up! We survived though. If you book here also for agra, the driver picks up a tourist guide when in Agra who sticks with you the whole day (we managed to shove him off for a bit at the Taj Mahal where my fiance propsed), and while he is helpful he is a little overwhelming. He says he only wants a tip, but he wants a substantial one so be prepared. He will also take you to a couple of these places where you buy things and he gets commission, but if you say no he wont take you. He also takes you to an expensive restaurant where he gets commission - all very annoying! So be warned. In the end we cut the day short.
Restaurant in the hostel is ok, for a quick and cheap fill.
My one gripe happened after we left the hotel. We paid around £20 per night, but when we called to book another night on our return they wanted £60 - i couldn't figure it out, and they told me to like it or lump it. Not very christian i say! I was shocked.
But over all great safe place to stay enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazwindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This should not be confused with the YWCA Family Hostel. This one is in Samsad Marg (Parliament Street) about eight minutes walk from Connaught Circle. It accepts both sexes.
If you want a good, clean, safe place to stay in the centre of New Delhi then this place is well worth a look. My wife and I, both in our 70's, have now stayed twice and were perfectly satisfied. Yes, if you look at the long corridoors giving access to the rooms, then you could say its institutional. But the rooms themselves are clean, and kept so, you have control of your own water heating, a good standard bathroom with one of the best showers we have found in India, pretty good twin beds, perhaps hard, but we like them, so what more could you want. We booked the best type of room and paid about Rs3000 - that is about £37 stering. There are cheaper ones available. The price includes a very good breakfast which will cater for western taste. There is internet access and a travel desk. There is a comfortable lounge, even if it is part of the main reception area. Staff are helpful and speak good English. Altogether very good value bearing in mind the high price of accomodation in Delhi. You can walk to Connaght Circle and there are plenty of eating places of all prices easily available.
You can book by e-mail but they want a deposit and do not accept credit cards for this. This means Western Union or Moneygramme. We chose Moneygramme - very efficient if a tad expensive. But we considered that the certainty of having good clean and safe accomodation, booked in advance, in Delhi, was worth the extra cost. They accept credit cards for final payment.

  • Liked — It was clean with plenty of hot water
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank cravens37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.6 mi away
Imperial Apartments
Imperial Apartments
#435 of 716 in New Delhi
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Janpath Hotel
The Janpath Hotel
#274 of 716 in New Delhi
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#284 of 716 in New Delhi
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YMCA Tourist Hostel
YMCA Tourist Hostel
#227 of 933 in New Delhi
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prem Sagar Guest House
Prem Sagar Guest House
#98 of 1,086 in New Delhi
53 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jugaad Hostels
Jugaad Hostels
#1 of 933 in New Delhi
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA International Hostel

Property: YWCA International Hostel
Address: 10 Sansad Marg, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 933 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your YWCA International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca International Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing