We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Treebo Amber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Treebo Amber
Ranked #131 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Although the surrounding are isn't that beautiful, the hotel and it's staff is very nice. I experienced a very warm welcome, very gently and helpful staff, a spacious room (& bathroom) wiht modern design, excellent WLAN access. Sometimes it takes a bit longer till hot water is running, but don't worry, it will. And quite hot! Daily complimentary newspaper. Limousine service is available for a very reasonable price. Excellent breakfast, tasty (local touch) as well as varied.
Opening the window (if possible) isn't recommended, but this is mostly because of the New Delhi atmosphere. The same with the nice roof terrasse.
All in all: a very good choice (although the room price isn't a bargain).
Another con: there was smell from a barbecue in the neighbourhood entering my room, although the window was closed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steirerbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

This was my first trip to India. I live in Chicago,USA and travel a lot mostly in the U.S.
Coming from the U.S. I found India a startling and exhausting place to do business, so I found the Amber to be a heavenly oasis after being around different areas of Delhi. The staff and manager bent over back words to make us feel safe, content, and the hotel itself was immaculate. We ate breakfast and dinner every day at the hotel. The food was delicious.
We were there December 2011 and enjoyed evenings on the roof top deck (almost as sexy as Miami!) with gas lamps to keep us warm as we relaxed after long days.
This is the only place I would consider staying when I return to Delhi.
I highly recommend. And I am very,very picky.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleW662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I am a fussy traveler and for me 90% right is not 90% right, it signifies there is 10% wrong somewhere, that matter. In case of Amber, all i can say, it was a 110% right hotel for me. Everything, mind me, everything, starting from front office, to housekeeping to room service, to restaurant was RIGHT. Location was RIGHT, Quality of food RIGHT, hospitality RIGHT, staff and management RIGHT. Cannot be any better. I highly recommend this hotel for family and business stay in Delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JChatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Trip Advisor reviews led me to book into the Amber Hotel and, after six weeks traveling around Rajasthan, I really appreciated its professional approach and stylish decor.

But what made the Amber outstanding was the friendliness of the staff and the feeling they were a team of people all working to make sure their guests had a memorable stay. I was traveling alone and really appreciated their unfailing kindness.

Although the menu was short and international, the mushroom curry I had was freshly cooked and delicious. I wished I had had more chance to try other items.

Yes, finding the hotel is a challenge for auto rickshaw drivers and the metro is too far away to walk from but I soon learned to ask the driver to call the front desk and they would direct him. I would certainly recommend The Amber to a friend.

Room Tip: I was quite conscious of loud humming noises from the services - standby generator, water pump, lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingjenny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I liked the Amber. It was my first trip to India, and I was a bit concerned - but the Amber was nice. I did their airport transfers, more expensive than a taxi but still comparatively cheap compared to western cities, and was picked up and delivered in nice clean airconditioned cars (one was a luxury people mover) with good drivers (important with the traffic!). My room was quiet, clean, lovely linens, nice bathroom, spacious, all really nice actually. Staff were good and friendly, tipping is expected when they bring room service/bags etc. The breakfast was good, mix of western (eggs etc) and indian and indian room service yummy. As a single female traveller I liked the security, and thought it was really nice that the staff checked that I had everything I needed etc when I came/left the hotel. I organised my own day tours/trip to Taj (through culture holidays, which I'd also recommend), but you could have a driver for a day through the hotel. It is a good 30 mins from the city centre, but if you're out all day sightseeing I didnt feel the need to stay in the "centre". It was nice to just come back to a lovely room and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine-NZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This hotel is an oasis of comfort in Delhi. It is located away from the markets and crowds and noise found almost everywhere in the city. It's an eight minute auto-rickshaw ride to the Nehru metro station. The staff are helpful and friendly. The general manager (Mukesh Sharma) and front desk clerk (Abhilash) were very helpful with directions and recommendatons. The hotel is very modern. It has all the comforts that could be expected: comfortable bed, comfortable pillows, excellent A/C, thin-screen satellite TV, room safe, minibar, laundry service, 24 hour reception and 24 hour room service. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant for four nights and every night we had a fantastic meal with excellent service provided by the waiter (Kamal Chandler) Breakfast is served for four hours every morning. Their chef (Kishanlal) makes delicious eggs-to-order and/or pancakes. A wide variety of other breakfast foods are also available. I requested a cappuccino every morning and found it to be quite delicious (thanks Dharmendra)! This hotel is not within walking distance to any metro station.
It is in an area of town (Sukdev Vihar) that very few cab drivers or auto-rickshaw drivers know well. We found that almost every cab driver had to stop and ask for directions from people walking along the street. Nonetheless, we found the location to be a benefit, not a drawback. It was so very pleasant to have some peace and quiet after a day in maddening Delhi. Last, but not least, special thanks to the doorman (Tiwari) who helped make our stay so very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BD3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My wife and I spent a very pleasant night in the Amber after a hectic 2 weeks touring Rajisthan. This is a modern, well furnished and clean hotel in a smart residential area with small green parks to spend a pleasant evening walk. We particularly liked the decor. Our waiter Kamal was extremely attentive and went out of his way to please. I would definately recommend this hotel to people who prefer the personal touch that you get in such hotels as opposed to the international monstrosities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Basil the Residency
Basil the Residency
#94 of 715 in New Delhi
152 reviews
6.5 mi away
Treebo Royce
Treebo Royce
#207 of 715 in New Delhi
64 reviews
2.1 mi away
Treebo Conclave Riviera
Treebo Conclave Riviera
#240 of 715 in New Delhi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ameya Suites
Ameya Suites
#120 of 715 in New Delhi
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Amaltas
Mantra Amaltas
#156 of 715 in New Delhi
217 reviews
11.0 mi away
Treebo Glory Villa
Treebo Glory Villa
#185 of 715 in New Delhi
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebo Amber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebo Amber

Address: 198 Sukhdev Vihar Road, New Delhi 110024, India (Formerly The Amber - New Delhi )
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £38 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treebo Amber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treebo Amber in Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi enjoys a nice position near many corporate offices and local attractions like Lotus Temple (4.7 km) and Humayun's tomb (6.4 km). Shopping hotspots are nearby too, making it a perfect base for all kinds of travellers visiting Delhi. Moolson Coors, Uniclean,Unitech, Hindustan Tin Works Ltd, ANK Global Health, T&K consultancy, Radiant all these companies are within 6 km of the hotel. Tonnes of facilities are available at this Treebo property: Breakfast and Wi-Fi and Parking are complimentary and laundry service is available for a charge. A travel desk, ironing board and event hosting facilities are also available. The restaurant serving delicious food within the premises is a must visit. The hotel also has a cool roof top cafe that is perfect for spending time and unwinding. The hotel authorities can arrange for a spa treatment upon request. All rooms are air-conditioned and central heating is available to comfort guests in chilly winters of Delhi. Other amenities include electric kettle, LCD TV, satellite channels and free toiletries in the bathroom. Located at a distance of 18 km from Indira Gandhi international Airport and 17 km from New Delhi Railway Station. The nearest bus stop is at Vir Hakikat Rai ISBT (6.5 kms) and the metro station at Jasola Apollo Metro Station (3 kms). Popular eateries like Essence, Yum Tree, Al Bake, Chawla's and McDonald's are within 2.3 kms of Treebo Amber. The bustling hub of New Friend's Colony and its market is only 2.3 km. Fortis Escorts Hospital is an easy walk - only 600 meters away and the Indraprastha Apollo just 1.8 kms from here, making it a good option for medical tourists as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Treebo Amber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Amber Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing