We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with this one”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rak International
Ranked #572 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel as it was listed in the Lonely Planet guide. It was very disappointing. The room was very dirty. The management organised a pickup from the airport for us for which we were overcharged and the driver picked us up in what I can only describe as a death trap of a car. It is not recommended and it is not worthy of inclusion in the Lonely Planet guide.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

First of all I am so sorry about the bad experience at the place and I'd also like to thanks u for dropping ur valuable views about the place and my team.

In concern of the room 'd like to defend myself that why don't u complained this at reception we'll immediately either change the room on ur request or cleaned that room(as we r really running on very tight schedules and rooms are occupied immediately one after another so it is very difficult to clean each and every room immediately but cleanliness is our prioritty and we take care of it utmost).

And in concern of extra charges of pickup, we provide pickup service just for the convenience of our guest and we also use transport services of a transporter and may be u came late at airport so that's why the driver has to pay exra charges for parking so it is completely guest's responsibility to pay these liabilities(we previously mentioned thisat the time of pre reservation too).

And Again I AM SO SORRY ABOUT THE RASH DRIVING of the driver I'll definately and imediately raise this ssue with my transporter and took action against that driver(thanks for raising this issue).

I hope if we'll met in future we'll try to give good servces to u.

Regards
Owner
Hotel RAK International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

hotel rak was quite the blessing compared to some of the hotels i stayed in at delhi.the rooms were clean,the water was hot,and the staff were very polite and helpful.i thought the temple added to the experience rather than hindered it.i would definitely stay there again,in fact i left there to go to goa for a week and booked a room for our return back in delhi.thumbs up for hotel rak!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philippa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thanks u so much for ur views about the place and my team, this really motivate us and we'll try to do even moire better to present ourselves.

Regards
Owner
Hotel RAK International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This was the first time we had any negative experience at the hotel, but the staff were quick to address the issue (a leaky geyser in the washroom had us wanting to switch rooms - and the poor choice of a front room, meaning we woke up to the morning puja at the temple in the courtyard... and what felt like 45 minutes of solid bell-ringing as part of the puja). The WiFi worked, we didn't turn on the TV, and our fan (we opted for that in lieu of AC) seemed to work as either "gale-force winds" or "barely stirs the air" -- but we just needed a place to sleep, bathe, and base ourselves for the two days of business we had in Delhi.

Room Tip: Don't choose a front room unless you're a sound sleeper/have earplugs; there is a temple in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hello

First of all we are really thankful to u the review and here I'd like to apologies about the noise of temple but in India the temple is the most pure and divine place and we can't restrict any devotee from ringing the bells or from praying so we are really helpless here and I am really sorry about this trouble and in concern of other facilities , our all rooms have T.V with Satellite cable connection with more than 200 national and international channels with clarity, we serve 24 hrs wifi service for free to our guests(very smooth speed), and in concern of fan if u'd complaint with that than u's immediately report this at reception we'll definitely changed ur room and infact we repair that fan immediately too(as u've visited during peek season so at this time the rooms were used immediately after leaving one guest buy another so it is very difficult to personally inspect each and every room on day to day basis as the rooms are allmost busy) anyways I am really sorry about the trouble u had and I promise u that we'll not give u any chance of complaint on ur next visit(obviously if u'll gave us a chance to serve u again).


Regards
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just a place to sleep nothing more. rooms were ok but wifi was extremely patchy, tv was barely working. staff were nonchalant to the point of being rude. wouldn't even look you in the eye when talking to you and made you feel like you owe them a living. Requests would be ignored and only would only get done when voices were raised. Noticed that this would be the case after the boss had left. Only saving grace was a young Nepali man who was the exact polar opposite of the rest of them. He was friendly, fluent in english and was ever ready to help. A waste of talent surrounded by colleagues like that if you asked me. Price was ok but there are much cheaper rooms elsewhere. Taking into account the possible grief you must suffer from the staff, one might be better off in terms of value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sevenage07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hello

Thank u so much for pointing out this issue I am really unaware about this as the satff was new during ur visit so they were not know how to treat the guest, what are our policies but after ur complaint fortunately my old staff came back from there hometowns and they are working on the new staff and I assure u that u'll not face this kind of situation in future.


Regards
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in August 2012.
It is located in Paharganj district, in a narrow street of the main bazaar, walking distance from the New Delhi Railway Station/Metro (which makes its position pretty good because in the middle between the New Delhi and the Old Delhi main attractions). Main Bazaar can be scary in night time, but during day time is higly crowded by western tourists (and indian sellers and taxi drivers too of course!).
We took the basic non a/c room for 650 rupees: forniture is quite essential; our bathroom looked not so clean, but everything worked properly; sheets were pretty clean (with no bugs!).
Staff is friendly and there’s a rooftop restaurant (nothing special).
Free wifi is avaiable (even if not always working properly).
Check out time is 12.00, but you can leave your luggage until 18.00 in their entrance.
It is perfect if you are a low budget traveller that just needs a strategic place for visiting Delhi.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hello

We'll try to overcome from all lackings which still made u feel ok about the hotel.


Regards
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here November 2011 initially for a couple of nights but needed up booking the hotel again for the end of our trip before we caught our flight back to england. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and the rooms did the job. The room was clean and big and for the price you pay, exactly what I expected.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thanks u so much for appreciation, this is really motivational.


Regards
Baljit Chawla
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My friend and i stayed at the Hotel Rak International in Paharganj for 2 nights in a double room costing INR 650 per night. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by two members of staff at the reception who explained the tariff. They didn't seem all that friendly and never smiled once and at times spoke to us without eye contact. After looking for so many hotels, we weren't too fussed about the staff being friendly or not and instead asked to see the room. The room was a decent size and was clean and comfortable looking. The toilet was a little below average, with the shower being a bucket of cold water but that never bothered us in the intense heat of Delhi. We decided to take the room and stay for 2 nights. One of the workers in the hotel who brought us our towels and toilet paper was Nepali and was very friendly and spoke to my friend who is also Nepali. He made my opinion of the hotel staff improve slightly. The nights sleep was really nice and comfortable. The weather was so hot outside and having the fan on all night directly above our bed was bliss and really relaxing. The hotel also offered wifi for INR 150 Per night but on the 2nd night the wifi stopped working and when we asked the staff at reception we were told " wifi not working " without eye contact again.... Anyways, the experience was average. The friendly Nepali man was really helpful and i spoke to him personally about his family and work. The rooms were clean and fresh and the beds were clean and comfortable. I would say, if you are looking for a safe bet hotel in the chaos of Paharganj and you don't get too much about the staff, then head to Hotel Rak International.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thanks u so much for posting the review and I am so sorry about the manager's behavior but it is not his fault as he is new to the hotel so he was nervous during his start and just because the anxiety of handling the guests he was unable to maintain eye contact and smile on his face anyways he is trained now and his anxiety, nervousness and all complexes are gone.
And in concern of the quality of toilet we'll try to make it up to mark.

Once again thank u so much for posting ur valuable review, trust me it really motivates us.


Regards
Baljit Chawla
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 728 in New Delhi
773 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 728 in New Delhi
1,735 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 728 in New Delhi
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 728 in New Delhi
4,088 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#32 of 728 in New Delhi
2,852 reviews
Hotel Shree Ram Deluxe
#369 of 1,128 in New Delhi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rak International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rak International

Address: 820, Main Bazar, Chowk Bowli | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £6 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel of area and offers serene refuge of comfort and hospitality. Offers blend of Indian Tradition and Modernity and become impressive with time. All rooms are filled with fresh air and light & special attention is paid on ventilation system and windows (every room has front and street view windows). Guest here can be assured of personal service and every 21st century convenience for a comfortable, quite and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rak International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing