We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Weekend Getaway”
Review of The Estate Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Estate Villa
Ranked #21 of 1,108 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Though located in the heart of a busy city but the location is just a perfect place for the weekend getaway. Nice, cozy, well organized rooms, quiet green surroundings where you can listen to the birds chirping....and to add on to all this they have home cooked food. Very relaxing experience. A MUST TRY PLACE....!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gulhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I took our first trip to India in Early August 2013. Unlike many folks who go all over in one trip...we love to focus on one area which in this case was the amazing city of New Delhi. We chose ' the estate ' based on the great reviews here plus one review written was by a respected friend. So for 12 days we explored all that Delhi had to offer. What can I say ? ' The Estate ' was superb in every respect. Delhi can be exhausting and every evening we would return to ' our family ' of the owner Mamta and her very capable hands on Mr. Singh and his team. The house and garden are SO restful and the ambiance is quiet support...their when you need them but never intrusive. The full breakfasts which are included ( western or Indian) gave us a hearty start every morning. Out the door and a 10 minute walk away is the ' metro ' which we used daily to explore the city. Be adventurous and use it...we figured it out quite easily. The room we stayed in was large and well appointed. The area is very peaceful. We had many special requests..an overnite trip to Agra, numerous music & dance recitals, where to buy a proper Indian drum ( I want to learn) and many more were expertly handled by dear Deepika who handled all with warmth and attention to detail. In summary : as in American who has lived and worked in Asia for 40 years and someone in the hospitality business myself I can only say ' The Estate ' gets it right...you will not regret your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you are looking for a quiet B&B experience on the outskirts of the city, then you may find this place suitable. It is a 20 min drive from the airport (INR450 a/c pre paid taxi) and a 5 min walk to Sultanpur Metro station, from the back entrance of the house. On our first day they never informed us about the back door which leads directly to the Metro station, so we had quite an adventure getting to the Metro, which included a bus accident! There are no facilities in the B&B and no facilities/services locally. You mustl travel out for everything. There are shopping malls close to the airport INR100 by tuk tuk, or you can take the Metro to MG road which is full of malls.
There are two houses on this large lot which lies in a gated and secured residential estate. One house is private, for the family, the other for guests. The building and furnishings are all a little dated. The rooms were en-suite and comfortable; the TV old, cable selection poor and WIFI weak.
Breakfast was adequate - yogurt, fruit, cereal, eggs, Toast & Jam, Juice, tea & Coffee.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating, if a little sleepy and disorganised. I deducted a star because they messed up the payment, twice! They have a dog, which was a bonus for a our son.
We stayed here our first few days and our last night. They allowed us to leave a bag during that time. Overall a pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berny2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Looking at previous reviews, we must have been unlucky but didnt think it was as special as others make it out to be. Our room (on top floor) was not very clean. There was roadwork taking place outside which made it very very noisy (not their fault) but when the staff starting making furniture in the area between the two buildings and continued til about 8pm whilst we were trying to relax in the garden, that WAS their fault. Suffice it to say that we cancelled our booking for the end of our trip and found a much better place in the Defence area where you can walk to restaurants etc if you wish (unlike The Estate)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theestatebnb, Owner at The Estate Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience faced by you while staying with us.
The disturbance caused due to repair and maintenance is sincerely regretted.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you and enjoy our usually quiet and peaceful garden.

Regards
Mamta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

At first we wondered where this B & B was located. It is a very nice neighborhood. Rooms are so cozy and comfortable that you want to just lounge around the property. Breakfast was above average and the staff was there to help you make it a good experience...good coffee:)) We stayed two nights and then another night two weeks later when our son joined us. We all felt at home here thanks to a feeling of warmth. Rooms are spaceous, look over the owners house and gardens. Owners were so friendly and we got to share in Holi....highly recommend!

Room Tip: kids activities we did not know about and there is no swimming pool. All rooms are restful and beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the Estate because we enjoyed it so much the first time. Set in a quiet, beautifully landscaped part on Delhi's outskirts, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the beds are sturdy and great for my back! The staff are always ready to help, and are quite unobtrusive, as should be. We didn't dine at the hotel, although I hear their cuisine is quite good. The metro is nearby, and private taxis can be booked with reception. Very pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliasK212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at The Estate on our last night in India and found it to be a peaceful place to stay in the madness that is Delhi. The room was clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The staff were all very friendly and eager to help, and the food was plentiful and tasty. The location is out of the city in a gated community and felt safe and secure, though it is quite a surprise to go out through the back door to find yourself amidst the hustle and bustle of a lively area with shops and stalls which you walk through to get to Sultanpur metro station. We used a driver arranged by the hotel which worked very well, and it is quite a relief not to have to tip everyone as there is a tips box which you use before you leave. Everything worked perfectly although I found the WiFi a bit tempramental. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Thikana
#7 of 1,108 in New Delhi
573 reviews
Colonel's Retreat
#2 of 1,108 in New Delhi
703 reviews
Lutyens Bungalow
#16 of 1,108 in New Delhi
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nizamuddin
Eleven
Eleven
#8 of 1,108 in New Delhi
601 reviews
Chhoti Haveli
#30 of 1,108 in New Delhi
189 reviews
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,108 in New Delhi
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estate Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estate Villa

Address: 29 Sultanpur Estate Mandi Road | Mandi Jaunapur Road, Mehrauli, New Delhi 110030, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,108 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Estate Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estate is a charming bed and breakfast located in the green and exclusive Sultanpur Estate in Mehrauli. A registered Gold Category accommodation, it is ideally located in a twenty-five minutes driving radius from the Airport, Gurgaon, Vasant Vihar and Saket. The guesthouse is located in the annex of the main house - welcoming yet private. There are 5 rooms (including one family suite) and they all have individual charm, whether lawn facing or with private balconies, all have attached bathrooms and are well appointed with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Estate Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Estate Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing