We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Ladies Lunch after a Hard Day Shopping”
Review of Basil & Thyme

Basil & Thyme
Ranked #321 of 12,635 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect Ladies Lunch after a Hard Day Shopping”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Santushti is the Delhi shoppaholic dream ...exclusive little garden of boutiques. In case you thought you don't need yet another shawl or cushion cover, think again. After some hard shopping Basil and Thyme is waiting for you with fresh salads and little entrees that appeal to those laden with bags. Sadly there is no acohol served, thus we had pink gngerale, which was refreshing. White linen on tables overooking a quiet garden was indeed exquisite, however a cosmo would have made it more perfect!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BombaxFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The menu is limited and most of it is only a little above average, but what can I say, I love the place. They open only for lunch and you must get here before 1 pm or there won't be a table for ages. It's in the Santushti shopping complex which is more of a winter schlepp- too much outdoors for our blistering summers- though of course the restaurant is very well air-conditioned.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mani8kgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive average Italian food with worse service”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

There are a number of good Italian restaurants in Delhi - this is not one of them.

I went there once with a friend who highly recommended it. But it was one of my worst overpriced meals in Delhi.

The lunch started with a black-out which lasted throughout our entire meal. Due to the black-out, some items were not available. Smoke was coming of the kitchen but all the doors in the restaurant were closed. The AC was not running and we had to ask them to open the doors to let out the smoke and cool air into the place.

My food was over-salted while the service indifferent at best.

Avoid this place. Go to Olive, Diva, Zo...better service and food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little overrated?”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This restaurant was recommended by the NY Times as well as a friend. We made a special trip to eat lunch here b/c they are closed for dinner. I'm not really sure what the hype was about. The atmosphere was average at best and the food was nothing to write home about. My expectations were probably too high and the restaurant certainly didn't meet them

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank coastalsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot, interesting continental menu.”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just come back from lunch with friends here. It's in the Santushti shopping complex which is not a mall as it sounds but a series of small boutiques set in pretty gardens just at the entrance to Willingdon Camp army facility.
The restaurant is small but busy so you really need to have reservation. The menu is bistro-y, with items like carpaccio of smoked salmon, avocado salad, asparagus etc as starters, filled crepes, moussaka, pasta dishes etc as mains. The puddings are all fantastic (a special mention to the special of the day, strawberry and cinnamon torte).
Service was attentive yet subtle and the charming maitress d' was around all lunchtime to ensure all guests were happy.
We found the acoustic a little odd - we had a room in the centre and found it difficult to hear each other across the fairly small table. If you are going for a tete-a-tete ask for a table along the wall
No alcohol.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil & Thyme also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Basil & Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing