We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, no frills, no quibble”
Review of Hotel Krishna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Krishna
Ranked #549 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic, no frills, no quibble”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed twice at the Hotel Krishna, having pre-booked both stays. If you want a basic, no frills room at a reasonable price then Hotel Krishna is for you. Occasionally, though, it falls below no frills. On our second stay we found there was no toilet paper in our bathroom on our arrival! To be fair this oversight was addressed quickly by room service when it was reported. The water from the shower also rather unappealingly trailed across the bathroom to a drain.
The hotel was welcoming enough. The small rooftop restaurant is open until late and serves a range of freshly cooked fayre, ranging from Indian, Chinese and some Western dishes. The friendliness of the waiter was one of the best parts of our stay. The food was passable: we had the chicken fried rice one night and it was very nice, but it was not as good on another night. Breakfast was very limited and the over-worked waiter struggle to keep it stocked with basics such as bowls and bread. Don’t expect a view to the Lal Qila (Red Fort), India Gate or Connaught Circus from the rooftop or any of your rooms (our window was screened off to protect a view of another brick wall one yard away from a window that might last have been cleaned in 1978). The Rooftop restaurant gives you a view of other hotels and other people's houses in the area .
The fitness facilities comically consisted of a treadmill and cycle on the landing near the rooftop restaurant!
The Hotel Krishna has a travel desk from which tours can be booked. As ever be prepared to negotiate a price if you're not happy (we were content enough with a day tour of Delhi for Rs 2000 (just over £20)0, Please note that if you go on a tour of Delhi make sure you have an agreed itinerary: ie, insist on the driver allowing you to see what you want to see (in our case he just drove past India Gate, saying it was difficult to park, when he could have dropped us off). It pays to have studied a travel book and highlighted which of the many local attractions you would like to see. Whilst the Krishna's travel desk served us well enough, the official Delhi Tourism "India With You" travel agent in Connaught Place (10 minutes by taxi or tuk-tuk) is a very good alternative.
The hotel has an airport pick up service costing about Rs800-900, but the pre-paid taxi service (overseen by Police) at Delhi airport is invariably cheaper. The Hotel Krishna is situated at the better end of Paharganj on the vibrant Arakashan Road, which is lined with similar hotels, quintessentially Indian cafes, travel agents, fruit vendors and a very decent Grocer’s store (Lal’s). It is indeed a good slice of "real India". At night the Arakashan Road is a long line of neon-lit hotels, which does have a certain naff charm to it. It is certainly more pleasant than the drive through the other dirty streets of Paharganj’s crushing concrete on a foggy Delhi morning, which can be a bit of a culture shock. The hotel though is close to several attractions in Old and New Delhi, and less than a 10 minute walk to New Delhi Railway Station.
So if you're on a budget/back-packing this hotel may well do. If you're looking for luxury this hotel, and indeed Paharganj and Ram Nagar is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    156
    92
    47
    29
See reviews for
92
134
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I had one night in delhi before flying on in the morning, Krishna was perfect for the price, clean and the room was very comfortable, wifi was great and food good. The front desk was helpful with queries and overall very keen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter_ClarksonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krishna, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Krishna!!!

It was a pleasure having you as a guest of our hotel and we thank you for the review.

We are glad that the hotel made your stay comfortable. Guest reviews motivates us and help us to better ourselves.

We look forward to your return and to serving you yet again.

Thanking You

Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have stayed in hotels all over the world including more luxurious ones over many years,However the warmth and hospitality of the staff at the Gateway was the best,
The Staff were excellent--always smiling & so helpful at all times. I was made to feel like a prince from check in to checkout ,duty manager jitendra & dharmendra on the front reception desk were beyond excellent--careful,other Staff went out their way to be friendly, I would greatly appreciate the attitude & helpful of your restaurant staff.
I felt very safe as couple traveler, Food in restaurants was superb & always freshly cooked,breakfast was also good, Incredible service - nothing felt like too much trouble. This is the real highlight of the hotel, Well appointed and comfortable rooms,
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krishna, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Krishna!!

We thank you for choosing Hotel Krishna again for your stay in Delhi. It was a pleasure having you as our guest yet again.

We really appreciate your reviewing our hotel and thank you for the praises that you have showered upon us. We are glad that the hotel facilities made your stay comfortable. We, at Krishna, believe in providing the best to the guests so as to make their stay comfortable and a memorable one. we also appreciate your generous words for our staff and .Your review has been shared with our staff who thank you for your compliments. We look forward to another visit from you so that we can serve you yet again.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Trip Advisor has been my travel bible for 8 years ... I am astounded that other TA reviewers rate this place so well... my experience was appalling. The street noise levels in the rooms are crazy.. I asked to be moved to the quieter part of the Hotel and the staff who helped me moved made me feel like a nuisance. When I was shown to my new room it was a smoking room and reeked. I decided this was a better option than the relentless street noise so stayed here 3 nights and was miserable. The room was not clean, fridge did not work properly (mouldy brown slime in the ice cube tray... eeeeewwwww), towels threadbare and shower had limited hot water and they really ration out the toilet rolls (not ideal in a place like Delhi!!). If the staff assist in any way they stare at your HAND obviously expecting a tip, very offputting. There is no daily room service but I was actually pleased that no-one entered my room in this Hotel. I was also ripped off by the Travel Desk on a day trip to Taj Mahal, the driver conned me from the moment he picked me up until the moment he dropped me off... perhaps they see single female travellers a soft touch? At the end of a hellish day he DEMANDED a tip, which was flatly refused. When I left this awful hotel the male receptionist insisted I pay cash.. I refused point blank, they then asked I pay half cash and half credit card, I suggested that I might contact the Indian Taxation Office and all of a sudden I was allowed to use my card. I have contacted the Hotel independently to ask for some sort of explanation to the above and all correspondence has been ignored... PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE, you will be miserable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

good hotel, good mattress ( if you like soft mattress,extremely soft) , warm room, good location,centralized heater AC(rare in paharganj), but the bathroom is not really that well kept.
previous stay, everything look brand new and wonderful, this recent stay, i found there some stain on the basin, bathroom wall, toilet bowl, the bathroom cleanliness was no as good as my previous stay, hope the management will look into it .
auto fare from hotel, new delhi railway station, 20 rupees, no more then that,
connaught place 40-50 rupees, masjid jamid, red fort, chadni chowk, 50-60 rupees,

if you travel more then 12 km, ask hotel help you call cab, mega cab they are meter fare, very safe. even cheaper then auto

Room Tip: try to avoid level 4 or 5, too near to kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Krishna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hotel Krishna!!

We thank you for choosing Hotel Krishna again for your stay in Delhi. It was a pleasure having you as our guest yet again.

We really appreciate your reviewing our hotel and thank you for the praises that you have showered upon us. We are glad that the hotel facilities made your stay comfortable. We, at Krishna, believe in providing the best to the guests so as to make their stay comfortable and a memorable one.

Your review has been shared with our staff who thank you for your compliments. We look forward to another visit from you so that we can serve you yet again.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Having just returned from a 15 day trip to India I must say Hotel Krishna was unfortunately one of our poorest experiences. Our room was not as clean as it should be, including the sheets, and the room smelt a bit like mold. Only one light bulb was actually working in the room. Out of the three days we were there, we had lukewarm or cold water in the shower for two of them. Hotel staff came to take care of it but in the meantime we had missed a few hours out of our morning. Location is central, yes, but would not describe it as ideal. Room was extremely noisy. Staff was generally polite, though they tried to convince us to use a driver to take us to Rajasthan for a ridiculously high price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meleh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in Hotel Krishna in Delhi when we were holidaying in India. It is a nice budget hotel in central Delhi. Being a budget hotel it was surprising how convenient and comfortable it was. The location was great. It was right near the Delhi railway station. It was a few blocks away and getting there was easy. The hotel seemed well connected to the city, the main business district. The main sightseeing places and attractions can be easily accessible. The Connaught place was right nearby, a short drive from the hotel. The metro station was also very easily accessible, on foot. It was so near it. The metro was a very convenient form of commute as Delhi traffic is unbearable. There were many convenience stores, restaurants, bakeries and eating joints around the area. All very affordable and nice. There were many little shops for jewelry and India handicrafts, leather stuff. We explored the area and it was pretty good. The hotel itself was pretty great and the rooms were well maintained. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room we stayed in was pretty clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the bed sheets were fresh and clean. The room was copy and well insulated to the outside noise. The bathroom was very clean, spotless with modern sanitary fittings. The experience we had here with them was nice and we would recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranjulla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Krishna Deluxe
#605 of 715 in New Delhi
146 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Optimum Palm D'or
Optimum Palm D'or
#147 of 715 in New Delhi
137 reviews
Hotel The Pearl
#247 of 715 in New Delhi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,096 reviews
Hotel City Star
#23 of 715 in New Delhi
1,313 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Sri Vinayak
Hotel Sri Vinayak
#630 of 1,095 in New Delhi
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krishna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krishna

Property: Hotel Krishna
Address: 45 Arakashan Road | Behind Sheila Cineman, Ram Nagar, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krishna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our well-established budget hotel in Delhi. All our rooms are equipped with modern facilities. The most striking feature of our hotel is its perfect location. We are centrally situated in New Delhi. We are very close to Connaught place, Historical monuments & famous Market Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Krishna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing