We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel The Raj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Raj
Ranked #260 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I like the hotel.This is my 2nd stay here.The manager Mr.Sunil Chandel is most helpful.All the staff are helpful and cooperative.The ffod there is just awesome.It is very tasty and caters to a multitude of cuisines.In Paharganj area,this is one of the better places,where travellers both domestic n foreign can stay safely and securely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoopvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Raj
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you ignore the quirkiness that seems typical of a budget Indian hotel (air con periodically being switched off and then you have to ask for it to be turned back on, needing to let them know when you want to shower so they can turn the hot water on), the Raj provided my wife and I with a pleasant stay. The young men at reception were friendly, the food in the restaurant amenable, and the room quiet - for Paharganj, that is!

Excellent wifi.

Room Tip: There's no escaping noise in Paharganj, but we asked for rooms at the back. You do still heard v...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks. Since I was working from our room, Internet was crucial and was 95% of the time stabile (which is excellent) with very good speed (~2Mb/s).
We booked the cheapest standard room. It was clean, with the comfortable bed. The room size is ok.
TV receiver didn't work but they fixed it right away.
The food was excellent! The hotel staff really nice and professional.
Keep in mind that Arakhashan road is very busy and noisy so ask for a quieter room if it is available or bring ear plugs.

They also have a "travel department" which we didn't use but our friend did and she said that they are reliable and that she was very satisfied with the service, advice and booked tours. Everything was well organized and on time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pravoslavac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I recommend this place for a stay in Paharganj. Though location is clumsy, Hotel service was good. Food options in the restaurant are good and in budget. Travel desk is available in the reception which helped us in figuring out the sightseeing places.Low price-High value :-) .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunilburri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at Raj for our first few nights before setting off on our Indian travels. The staff was kind, rooms clean and showers hot.

They were very helpful in planning out some of the trains for our trip. We've returned multiple times during day trips / airport layovers in Dehli and they've always remembered us and been extremely kind and helpful, particularly Sunil.

Good location. It's a short tuk tuk to the train station or cannaught place.

On a side note: the attached restaurant has amazing food.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadianwanderlusts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is great for backpackers on a budget. The location is a plus as it is near to old delhi railway and metro stations as well as many places to eat. The hotel is very modern, the rooms are spacious and clean, have a fridge and a large comfy bed. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaraunt which is a buffet style and serves cereal, toast, eggs and indian variety. The staff are very helpful and will get you a Tuk Tuk at cheap prices if you let them know where you want to go and will store your luggage after you check out.
I would defenately recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in the centre of Delhi

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BECKYHEARTSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked our rooms via Agoda,which was a mistake, considering the Hotel is located in an area (Pahargunj) where every building is a hotel,and we could have booked rooms at a fraction of the cost by using the taxi driver as agent.
We were given the smallest standard room,without air conditioner- we knew the cheapest rooms were for 18 US$,and had booked rooms for 22 US$.There was no fridge,tea and coffee maker(as promised),so we requested for the tea coffee maker late at night,which we were given.
Although the room was clean, it was small,and even though we requested for a bigger room,we were told that that was the best they could give us.The next morning,when we were checking out,and we told the manager we did not think we got our money's worth,then he tells us we could have changed!
We felt that we were not given the rooms we had paid for-and the management knew it too.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the rooms first,all the vacant "standard"rooms they have,so you don'...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kadambini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#320 of 713 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#149 of 713 in New Delhi
395 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Sita International
Hotel Sita International
#313 of 713 in New Delhi
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Mohan International Paharganj
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#71 of 713 in New Delhi
93 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#22 of 713 in New Delhi
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Raj

Address: 8495 Arakashan Road, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly FabHotel Raj Paharganj)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £14 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the busy area of Paharganj, Hotel Raj is only 500 mtrs from new Delhi Railway Station. The hotel is near to Gaffar Market, Janpath Market and Palika Bazaar. Nearby attractions include Jantar Mantar, Connaught Place, Gurudwara Bangla Sahib , Jama Masjid and all Tourist Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Raj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing