We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean rooms”
Review of Hotel The Raj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Raj
Ranked #287 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, clean rooms”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip and the hotel was in a good area. We arrived late at night and thankfully the restaurant beside reception was open 24 hrs and we managed to get some food but it wasnt that great. The rooms were large and modern, they were clean, but the bathrooms could have been a bit better for the price. The service was good, we did have an issue with the fan in the room which they tried to fix but were unable so turned on the ac for us instead. Not a bad hotel and would stay here again, however probably cheaper options for backpackers out there!!!

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    109
    57
    31
    32
See reviews for
43
78
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What we liked: The beds where softer than many of the beds in Indian hotels/homestays
There was an elevator (small and slow but better than none)
The reception staff were friendly and helpful
The restaurant staff where great and its food was pretty good.
They provided toilet paper and ok quality soap + 1 dove shampoo and an ok towel (these small things do make a difference)
The room had a coffee table and a chair and the air conditioning worked.
The less good points: we could not log into the wifi and found out on the last day that 1 staff member had spelt it incorrectly on 3 occasions (i.e. initially then when we went down to check 2 more times) - on the plus side they let us use the computer behind the reception desk to send a quick email which while not ideal is better than nothing.
The street its located on is small dirty and busy - BUT if your wanting a full on "India" experience then this is not necessarily a terrible thing.
The shower had slightly heated water (we waited 25 min after they turned it and it was still only luke warm) BUT - we stayed in several other places that did not have working hot water/showers.
The rooms floor was a bit dusty - but the overall hygiene level was acceptable.
Things we did Not like
we pre-arranged an airport pick up that never showed up. we also arranged an airport drop of then came down in the morning to find that they had forgotten and were delayed getting to the airport as a result (never a good thing)
Their was a faint cigaret smoke smell in the hallways as people were allowed to smoke in the rooms.
One of the bell boys was rude and mildly aggressive lingering in our room clearly looking for a tip and later bursting into the room staring at me and then leaving (we had called down to say that the wifi was not working shortly before so perhaps that was the premise - but he never said anything upon entering the room and I felt pretty uncomfortable being stared at in pajamas and made sure to lock the door after he left. I know that many Indian men have a negative attitude towards white women and you get stared at a lot but that kind of behavior is not acceptable within a service industry catering to tourists.
Overall an ok place to stay but defiantly has room for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Nice Hotel rooms are very good and well maintained. Hotel service is good and staff of hotel is very corporative and helpful. Room service is good as well as food. On my every visit to Delhi I stay in this hotel only. The restaurant service is very pleasant.

Room Tip: A/C rooms are great and I prefer Executive Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnydaneAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This place was a very nice surprise after many hours of flying. We arrived late but were looked after as soon as we walked through the doors. The rooms were very good, the wifi was excellent! and the restaurant was amazing! The staff here are fantastic! whatever you need, they will try and do for you, We were even helped out with an auto rickshaw at 3am. There were no problems when we changed our trains and had to stay an extra night, we were also able to leave our bags after checkout while we travelled around Delhi and Agra. The raj is superbly placed close to New delhi train station and is very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayNZ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Dont know where everyone else has been staying but this hotel is disgusting. Located on a strip of just cheap hotels, staff are useless do nothing to help any situation. Room are even worse every picture shows thier best room, we had 3 of their best rooms after complaining and 2 of the bathrooms where like caves and the 3rd had tiling done half way which I later realised is the pic that is uploaded on here. Food was ecoli in a bowl so lucky I packed pot noodle

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Surajpal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed in a family room which contained two double beds. As it was cheap I supposed you do not expect the most quality but the main issue with this hotel is how dirty it was. The bathroom was terrible, there are open vents meaning you can hear everything going on in the streets outside and for those who have been to India before, you will know that it is not quiet.

The restaurant service is very pleasant but the food is below average. A rusty toaster and some bread was the continental breakfast option. The location was good, as with most Indian cities its so cheap to get a rickshaw, everything in Delhi is reachable from this hotel for low prices.

Room Tip: If I was going again, I would definitely pay a little bit more to go somewhere else that was clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilSatisTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I Stayed there only for one night , hotel location is not in good area, but the hotel itself is good, service, food were good and room were clean, overall stay was good. Staff is very help full. i ask him some location of delhi and we was not sure about the same than he (reception) ask some body on phone and than he advise me the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devrajbansal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Mohan International Paharganj
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Hotel Lal's Haveli
#110 of 716 in New Delhi
274 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#144 of 716 in New Delhi
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Indo Continental
Hotel Indo Continental
#231 of 716 in New Delhi
33 reviews
iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd
#130 of 716 in New Delhi
314 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#318 of 716 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Raj

Property: Hotel The Raj
Address: 8495 Arakashan Road, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly FabHotel Raj Paharganj)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the busy area of Paharganj, Hotel Raj is only 500 mtrs from new Delhi Railway Station. The hotel is near to Gaffar Market, Janpath Market and Palika Bazaar. Nearby attractions include Jantar Mantar, Connaught Place, Gurudwara Bangla Sahib , Jama Masjid and all Tourist Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Raj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing