We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudimentary, but functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Raj at New Delhi Railway Station
Ranked #349 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 6 July 2014

With a few minor upgrades this could move from an average to good hotel. Bit disappointed in the quality of cleaning services, as the shower walls haven't been scrubbed in years. The air conditioner in the dining room and reception were not working, there were no knobs on the air conditioner in the room, and during our three day stay there were no attempts at any servicing of the room....so I suppose it moves from average to poor now...sorry.....it is in a good spot though close to New Delhi railway ststion

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank NathalieAndAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am a 20 year old Australian who was travelling to New Delhi alone for the first time and in all honesty I wasn't too impressed with the service,

When I got to the hotel it was 2 am in the morning and one of the men insisted on bringing my bag up to the room - less than 20 metres away up an elevator might I add which I was fine with considering I had been at airports all day until the man asked me for money for bringing my bag up. I get that tipping seems to be a thing in India - I just felt that it was really rude considering the time and the fact that he carried it up an elevator.

Due to thee area that the hotel was in, I didn't really have a choice for food for dinner other than eating at the kitchen at the hotel. The food was extremely average and I was really worried about getting sick from the food, I ate dinner here every night and unfortunately on my last night I ate Rogan josh that was cooked in the kitchen and I got really sick with Delhi Belly... Still even 8 days later I am still really sick and it ruined the rest of my holiday.

Also, each day due worries about being a single traveller, I ordered taxis from the hotel to drive me around everyday and paid about 6500-8500 rupees per day, Because of the fact I had the same driver for 2 days in a row he told me that the reason it was more expensive was because the hotel was taking a cut out of the fee for the booking so effectively I was paying the hotel a tip and well as for the taxi fair- not cool.

ESPECIALLY when one day I decided to go to Rishikesh which was a great day despite the fact that I paid for an air-conditioned car. The 19 year old driver 'Ram' did not use the air-conditioning once during the 14 hours of driving (7 hours each way because of crazy Indian traffic) and it was a 48 degree day! Also the car broke down 4 times, like literally 3 on the way there once on the way back to the point where he had to push the car off the road and use my water all 4 times to put into the car.

Also, and what disgusted me the most is the fact that I told him I was married and he still kept trying to hold my hand! At one point he actually pulled the car over and tried to kiss me and I went crazy and started screaming at him! I was meant to get back to the hotel around 7pm that night at 10pm I still wasn't back. The hotel called Ram on his mobile and he screened the call at first and when they rung back I said who is it and he said the hotel and finally he picked up and passed me to the phone to which I said I was still alive. When I got back to the hotel I wanted to complain about the treatment that day and what had happened but I just got a quick greeting and they went back to doing their thing - no one wanted to listen...

I honestly feel that when you are travelling alone and being a 20 year old Australian female you expect a bit more than this. I hate being screwed over money wise and I really hate the fact that I got sick off the food - Delhi belly is awful and I really wish I hadn't eaten the food but because of being located in a scary part of New Delhi I was told not to go out at night just in case something bad happened. I overheard a number of others staying at the hotel complaining about the food because the waiter didn't speak English and the orders kept being wrong.

the Room itself in the hotel was okay despite the fact there wasn't any toilet paper or towels etc. But the elevator actually broke the day after I got there which made life in 50 degree heat even worse. And I swear the mattress was made of stone.

I probably would say stay somewhere much nice - India is a cheap place so you can do a lot nicer than this on a budget

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rachelbarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay with your family or business purposes. Reception and other staff is very cordial and hospitality is wonderful. Rooms are clean and well decorated. Food was very good; quality and taste wise. I recommend to choose it on your next visit. It's complete value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Desh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It was nice and.homely experience to be here,the staff and hospitality is suprab.specialy the manager like.mr Vino Thanks and Mr Veer singh has such a cooperative behaviour never experience or accepted from delhi.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skdubey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this hotel online with little apprehension because i haven't been in this area before. When i checked in, i found this hotel very good. Staff is very helping and friendly. Rooms are clean, they have complementary breakfast, free WiFi. I had to visit Delhi three times during my stay in India and i returned to same hotel because i like it. I recommend this to all travelers because you won't find this kind of accommodation in this price range new New Delhi Railway Station.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelReviews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

found the hotel staff very helpful,rooms were clean,prices very good great value for your money,so good came back again..!!!even there cab drivers were very good and not very exspensive,great value for your money

Room Tip: both times had different rooms & good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryrowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed two nights at the raj hotel and was very impressed.From the minute I booked they were helpfull.They warned me about all the scams at railway station and got me picked up for a very cheap price. THe hotel was clean and the room was good. clean beds shower area nice flat screen tv fridge .Give this hotel a try

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Delhi 55
Hotel Delhi 55
#155 of 779 in New Delhi
143 reviews
Pahar Ganj
OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli
OYO 2902 Hotel Lal's Haveli
#119 of 779 in New Delhi
281 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#68 of 779 in New Delhi
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 779 in New Delhi
827 reviews
Hotel Toronto
#127 of 779 in New Delhi
307 reviews
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Mohan International Paharganj
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Raj at New Delhi Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Raj at New Delhi Railway Station

Address: 8495 Arakashan Road, Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly OYO 5392 Hotel Raj)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £14 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Raj at New Delhi Railway Station 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the busy area of Paharganj, Hotel Raj is only 500 mtrs from new Delhi Railway Station. The hotel is near to Gaffar Market, Janpath Market and Palika Bazaar. Nearby attractions include Jantar Mantar, Connaught Place, Gurudwara Bangla Sahib , Jama Masjid and all Tourist Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Raj at New Delhi Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing