We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here very dirty hotel”
Review of Hotel Shelton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shelton
Ranked #76 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dont stay here very dirty hotel”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked this hotel seeing so many positive feedback on trip advisor and how disappointed we were once reached this hotel
This hotel is placed on main bazaar street so you can hear all the noise from street in your room therefore it is not possible to sleep at night
Our room and bathroom was very dirty, we could see many dirty stains on bedcloths
They were doing building work at roof top restaurant during our breakfast in one corner, in other corner of the restaurant were tables for guest, and in another corner was a man sitting on brick and cutting onion (I hope that wasn’t our chef?). I don’t need to mention how dirty the restaurant was. We were waiting 35minutes for tee (served with tones of sugar even when I have asked without sugar )and another 15min for breakfast which came to us cold.
This was the worst hotel out of many during our trip to India. Just stay away and look for many other hotels lockated in Paharganj

Room Tip: Dirtiest hotel we stayed in during our trip to india, do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for choosing Hotel Shelton for your stay in New Delhi, We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. However as you know the restaurant was going through the massive construction. We tried to offer best dining facilities for the guests and for that renovation was a must thing.

we promise you that if you stay with us one more time. You will have the chance to enjoy our unique services.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    154
    57
    29
    22
See reviews for
80
112
86
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good:
Near to New Delhi station
Room and bathroom was clean
We booked a 3 bed room, the first room given to us was very small. When we complained that bathroom geyser is not functioning, they shifted us to a bigger room

Bad:
They did not inform us in advance that they need ID proof of all the guests. I and my wife had ID proofs, but the receptionist said he will not be able to give us a room unless we show him ID card of the third guest also. When I strongly objected and mentioned that why it was not communicated to us in the booking confirmation mail sent by the hotel, which had most of the instruction on how to reach the hotel. After that manager of the hotel intervened and allotted us the room on the condition that we will arrange for the ID proof before check-out.
Behavior of the receptionist is not good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huzefa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mr. Huzefa

Thanks for choosing Hotel Shelton New Delhi,

We are glad to know that you found our rooms neat and clean however regarding your complaints i would like to inform you that you have made the reservation through expedia.com. About photo identification they have clearly mentioned on their website that a photo identity (Valid) is must for every guest. i am hereby sending you the link.

http://www.expedia.co.in/Delhi-Hotels-Hotel-Shelton.h6921039.Hotel-Information?chkin=26/04/2014&chkout=27/04/2014&rm1=a2&hwrqCacheKey=abcaf039-e59c-4b9a-b5b0-f8822047ddddHWRQ1398419373924&c=c9c0b2eb-3329-4af3-bb9a-b540c4a74cd7&

You click on general information and please read that carefully. This is the law of the Delhi government. We hope people to cooperate with us. How could a hotelier will let you stay with out valid identification? This is quite logical for a person to understand and there are certian things on which no hotelier can negotiate. one such thing is the Law of the Country. How ever we told you to stay and while staying you can give us the identification as that is required by the Delhi police.

I really apologize for the inconvenience but we request people to understand and oblige the laws of the government.

We look forward for your memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed only for a couple of hours before taking our flight. The staff was nice and cooperative. The room provided to us was also clean and comfortable. It took us some time to locate the hotel but it was a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anshuman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipoo, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at shelton with my 2 young children. The room was clean, comfortable, safe and the location was just perfect near the metro and the New Delhi train station. The staff is very helpful, cheerful and well mannered and friendly.
When my youngest got sick they accompanied a staff with me to hospital, who waited there with my older son I visited the doctor. Then he went and bought the medicine as well. They checked regularly on us while we stayed.
Hotel is very beautiful and rooms are affordable. Rooftop restaurant is best to be at night to enjoy the meal and watch the light and traffic at the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibiChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. Our staff is our asset who goes out of way to help and assist each and every guest. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is in Mainbazar,near New Delhi Station. The rooms are well decorated, neat & clean. My room was adjacent to the Mainbazar road, and I enjoyed the view of the crowd,the colourful shops etc through the large window. The staffs are well mannered. I will advice to drink a glass full of tea which is very tasty with lots of milk & spices.

Room Tip: Rooms parallel to Main Bazar road are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank na04212014j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. /Our Hotel is located right in the centre of Main Bazar it feels good to know that you have enjoyed busy street of Main Bazar.We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here with my family just for a night as we were transiting from the train station to the airport. The hotel is nice and in the heart of the city. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was professional and very helpful. They recommended we leave at 7am on a Monday morning to catch a flight at 10:10am, but we reached the airport by 7:30am, so we could have had a little more time to sleep in the cozy bed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. About the flight timing you can never trust the Delhi Traffic. We are glad to know that you have smooth ride to the airport usually it takes more than 30 mins to reach the airport. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiler, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

first time in sheltonhotel and i must say very good place, very clean, safe and the location is perfect, also the rooftop-restaurant is a palce to relax after a long day in the city. but the best are the staff they all very friendly and helpful. thanks for this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulla61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel All Iz Well
Hotel All Iz Well
#92 of 715 in New Delhi
233 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Main Bazar
Check In Room Main Bazar
#59 of 715 in New Delhi
116 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#74 of 715 in New Delhi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,700 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
177 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelton

Property: Hotel Shelton
Address: 5043, Main Bazaar | Near Six Tooti Chowk, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shelton Well is located at a walking distance from New Delhi Railway Station, 5 Minutes drive from Connaught Place and 10 minutes walking from Ramakrishna Ashram Metro Station. Hotel offers good connectivity from Indira Gandhi International Airport which is at the distance of around 21 km. The hotel is in close proximity to India Gate (5 km), Hajrat Nijamuddin Railway Station (7km), Pragati Maidan (4.5 km) and Akshardham Mandir (6.5 km). Hotel Shelton is an artistically designed hotel that mesmerizes its guests with a range of comforting facilities.Hotel offers In-house restaurant serves a wide array of authentic Indian and global cuisines to pamper the taste-buds. Hotel Shelton Well provides a range of services for the comfortable stay of guests. The hotel pampers its guests with other eminent amenities like high-speed wireless connectivity of internet,Elevator ,24 room service, 24 power backup doctor on call, Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service(Surcharge), local tour and travel desk, Free Dialing telephone and Airport pickup and drop facility (Surcharge). All the rooms offer amenities like private bathrooms with rainfall shower heads and well designed toiletries with regular supply of hot and cold running water. Free Wi-Fi and LCD television are available in the rooms. Additional amenities include Mini Bar (chargeable basis), a safe, working desk, direct dial telephone service and full length mirror.Hair Dryer and Tea Coffee Maker available on Request. The hotel is well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing