We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel great price good location”
Review of Hotel Shelton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Shelton
Ranked #80 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel is located on main bazzar road. It is close to 2 metro stops. The price is very good, lower than most hotels in the area. Hotel is a little dated and is in need of new beds, sheets and towels. Good helpful staff

Room Tip: Hire a driver if your a tourist, they are very cheap, metro is good in Delhi but no where else in In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, Our Staff is our strong asset but it is very sad to know that you had such an experience at Hotel Shelton. We are going to look into this deeply and i assure that it wont get repeated again. About the room not being ready We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

The first impression is positive - room is modern and first encounter with the staff was OK. But then it only got worse.

The room turned out to be dirty - there were previous guests' hair all over the place, including the bed and bathroom, carpet was dirty and the fridge was so filthy we were afraid to touch it, not to mention keeping the food there. Bathroom alone was smelling with naftaline, the flush was working only on occasions and the water from the AC was dripping directly on the bathroom floor making it dangerously slippery! Equally dangerously slippery are the stairs in the hotel so be really carefull.

The food in the restaurant was completely lacking taste so after the first meal we never got back.

But the worst in this hotel was the staff. They were utterly rude, unpleasant and not helpful at all. The manager told me to "go now if I didn't have money" when I wanted to negotiate the rate for late check out (they demanded full 1day rate) and they told me laundry would take 36h to complete while it was 45 C outside and they had in-house laundry facility. Each encounter with the staff was just a bad experience.

Some people mention this place is an oasis in the dirty Pahar Ganj where people are rude and not reliable. In my opinion this place is the exact essence of Pahar Ganj and is best avoided as clearly they forgot they operate in hospitality business.

Luckily they do have cleaner and more friendly competition just 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NasiGorengPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, Our Staff is our strong asset but it is very sad to know that you had such an experience at Hotel Shelton. We are going to look into this deeply and i assure that it wont get repeated again. About the room not being ready We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel Shelton is a great place to stay if you want to escape from the chaos of Pahaganj. The rooms are clean and modern. The service is first class. Abhishek, the manager, is very friendly and helpful. The travel desk is very reliable and honest. All the other hotels in the area do not match up to Shelton's standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katora123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us and you found our Staff courteous and helpful. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent Hotel very comfortable and friendly environment , any time I will be in Delhi I m sure that I will stay in Shelton Hotel for his wonderful room and convenient location makes of this hotel one of the best place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jivancamoirano6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

THe room provided was non AC as I was told that no AC room is available. Instead they offered complimentary Breakfast. Since the weather was cheerful after rain showers, I accepted the offer. TV not working due to Security Problems.
Service in Restaurant was not proper. Water Jug was provided but no glass. Coffee provided but no sugar pouch. Breakfast served but No spoon provided. Such silly mistakes were there. Receptionist was gentle, polite and accommodating nature.
Location wise very good hotel situated within main market.
Overall rating satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank R L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to know that you have had overall Satisfactory stay while staying with us. We are surely going to take care of these irregularities. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our room was clean and tidy.
The complimentary drinks were a nice touch.
Working air con and a fan was nice.
The staff were friendly.
The bed was comfortable

My only complaint would be to do with the airport pickup.

I missed my original flight and upon my arrival at Delhi airport I managed to locate a phone to arrange another pickup. The hotel was not keen to pick me up however, because I had missed my original booking.
What bothered me was that no-one contacted me to check where I was, or that I was ok.
I had made a booking and prepaid for my room, so surely if I didnt turn up somebody should look into it?

Otherwise totally acceptable. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not roadside - the hotel is on a busy street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. We would like to inform you that we request all the guest to contact us 24 hours prior to the arrival time so that we can make sure that the transfer happens on time. however when some one call from the airport some times our Hotel Vehicles are already in use so it becomes very hard to execute transfer with in the last minute.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good staff and friendly manager. The elderly person at the reception was kind and friendly. I had a comfortable stay at the hotel. The rooms were clean and the hotel is a perfect value for money. It is just about 500m from a metro station. so the location of the hotel is good too. But, the area around the hotel is a little messy, I think that is beyond the control of the management.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vibudh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us and found our staff helpful. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#56 of 777 in New Delhi
1,773 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#70 of 777 in New Delhi
107 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel All Iz Well
Hotel All Iz Well
#102 of 777 in New Delhi
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#132 of 777 in New Delhi
237 reviews
Hotel Cabana
#104 of 777 in New Delhi
283 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#38 of 777 in New Delhi
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelton

Address: 5043, Main Bazaar | Near Six Tooti Chowk, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £17 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shelton Well is located at a walking distance from New Delhi Railway Station, 5 Minutes drive from Connaught Place and 10 minutes walking from Ramakrishna Ashram Metro Station. Hotel offers good connectivity from Indira Gandhi International Airport which is at the distance of around 21 km. The hotel is in close proximity to India Gate (5 km), Hajrat Nijamuddin Railway Station (7km), Pragati Maidan (4.5 km) and Akshardham Mandir (6.5 km). Hotel Shelton is an artistically designed hotel that mesmerizes its guests with a range of comforting facilities.Hotel offers In-house restaurant serves a wide array of authentic Indian and global cuisines to pamper the taste-buds. Hotel Shelton Well provides a range of services for the comfortable stay of guests. The hotel pampers its guests with other eminent amenities like high-speed wireless connectivity of internet,Elevator ,24 room service, 24 power backup doctor on call, Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service(Surcharge), local tour and travel desk, Free Dialing telephone and Airport pickup and drop facility (Surcharge). All the rooms offer amenities like private bathrooms with rainfall shower heads and well designed toiletries with regular supply of hot and cold running water. Free Wi-Fi and LCD television are available in the rooms. Additional amenities include Mini Bar (chargeable basis), a safe, working desk, direct dial telephone service and full length mirror.Hair Dryer and Tea Coffee Maker available on Request. The hotel is well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing