We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Janpath Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Janpath Guest House
Ranked #427 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Nara, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This guest house locate close to Connaught Place, prise is lower than other hotel but room is very clean. I'm using here for seven years.Janpath Guest House is the first recommended hotel around Connaught Place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lithicmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
4
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed as a single woman for five nights at this centrally located and secure guest house of Connaught place, New Delhi. Most economical stay for just Rs. 980 a day at such a wonderful locality.The staff is very hospitable and eager to meet the need of the guests. Easy access to taxis and auto rickshaws. I was able to catch autos even at five in morning to catch a train from new Delhi railway station which is only 2 kms away. Area is well connected by bus as well as metro which is only 05 minutes walk from the guest house.
Only had breakfast which was good. Surrounded by KFC McDonalds and Dominos which are within 02 minutes walk. Noise less rooms at night for a peaceful sleep.I found the room and washroom cleaned everyday on my return. Tibetan Market across the street offers good last minute shopping opportunity.
Manager Mr. Rakesh Bagga was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable and ready to facilitate.
The only problem I faced was lack of Wi Fi on the property for which I had to request the front desk to let me check my mail every night. If only they can add a WI Fi this place can surely get a 5 star rating in the category of guest houses.
Still I would definitely recommend this place for people who prioritize to stay at affordable,centrally located,safe and posh areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arifa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

If you want to feel like you might get shanked, stay here! Seriously, if you’ve ever wondered what if feels like to be in a mysterious place with dark maze-like hallways with no hint of light from the outside world, almost like a dark, scary attic, this is the place for you. Don’t get me wrong, the location is quite safe – right next to the Delhi Tourism office in Connaught Circle. However the moment you spot the place, you get a sad, longing feeling for home. It all starts out with a dark narrow hallway and two flights of stairs. Now imagine two single female friends experiencing this: After you drag your luggage up the two flights, you squeeze into a narrow antique elevator, and I don’t mean antique in a good way. First off, there’s bullet holes in the elevator and once you and your travel companion hop in and try to shut the accordion style gate, you realize only 1.5 people fit in there and one of you has to get out. After my travel buddy and I made it to the reception desk, the very kind gentleman at the front desk was unable to make a photocopy of our passports since the copy machine/printer wouldn’t work so he kept them while he escorted us to our room. We got to choose from a selection of 3 rooms, but they weren’t too different from eachother: Eerie fluorescent lighting, no telephone, no windows, no heater and ah yes, bucket showers. I’ve taken bucket showers before and that is to be expected, especially for the price. Even the room that did have a window (and by window I mean just a rectangular hole in the wall with no glass/glazing) there were cross bars so no one can get in except bugs of course. Aside from that, there was a thin quilt-like blanket on the bed and please take note, winter in New Delhi is COLD! This here is only a description of the events that occurred. The following thoughts and feelings emanating from my and my travel companion’s minds were: This is the kind of place where people come to die…kind of like in horror films…
We gave up on this place but left our luggage there (locked of course) and left to look for something slightly better. The front desk wanted to keep our passports while we were out in hopes that their copy machine would start to work again…uh…No? When we came back at night to pick up our luggage and move to our new accommodation, the crackly neon bright letters that illuminated the words “Janpath Guest House,” ensured we did the right thing by leaving.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
7 Thank LaBarnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

For the last 10 years I have been staying at the Janpath Guest House and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I have come to know the staff who are so friendly and helpful. I always ask for my favourite room and always get it. The service is good, the food lovely and always comes with a smile. If there are any special requests or help needed they will try to accomodate, and the location is wonderful. It's central, close to Connaught Place, easy to get auto rickshaws outside and close to cafes, restaurants, shops, money changers. Also it's not far from the Airtel office to get a local sim card for phones. Perfect for me and I will continue to go there when in Delhi.
Thank you to all the staff for your friendly welcomes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
179 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was my first trip to Delhi and so I chose this hotel for it's central location. I wasn't disappointed.

The staff are nice and polite. The rooms were sort of clean and the bathroom was a bit of a disaster area. This was what I was expecting. Breakfast was good and I had dinner there once. At number 88 Janpath Rd is the official tourist office.

There are some great restaurants nearby.

I would happily recommend this to anyone. I went in September so it wasn't so hot. The fans were fine.

850 rupees per night which I pre-agreed by e-mail.

Room Tip: Ask to look at more than one room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 10_Downing_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed at Janpath Guest House in late June whilst passing through Delhi, then again in July. Each time I was in different rooms, and the stay was extremely pleasant. The staff at the front desk are extremely kind and pleasant, and the rooms were absolutely fine. As must have already been noticed, the location is excellent and unbeatable for proximity to Connaught Place - ideal for popping in for a meal, or a little bit of shopping. The area is safe and secure, and I would highly recommend staying here! Much nicer than the typical backpacker area - especially in the monsoon season! Thanks to the staff there for their hospitality.

Room Tip: (there's no swimming pool or fitness centre) I'd maybe ask for a streetside room to get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Family112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, Goa, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean rooms. Ideal location for visiting Delhi. Great value for location and quality of accomodation. Stayed here four nights and slept perfectly each night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeks1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#264 of 706 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
Hotel Jukaso Down Town
#399 of 706 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Apartments
Imperial Apartments
#366 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#102 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corus Hotel
Corus Hotel
#552 of 706 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Janpath Hotel
The Janpath Hotel
#224 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janpath Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janpath Guest House

Property: Janpath Guest House
Address: 82-84, Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Janpath Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janpath Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing