We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Omni(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Room Service
China Town(New Delhi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
1
2
5
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
2
5
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The location of the hotel makes it noisy. With the roads around you will always hear the horns of vehicles. On top of that the staffs are always talking and making noise in the kitchen upstairs and guests going there for group tours are noisy as well. Aditionally there was renovation work going on in some places which makes it a nightmare!
We had booked the hotel for an extended length of stay of around 3 weeks or more since one of our family members had gone there for medical purposes in India. It was nightmare! In one of the room the TV was not playing. Luckily we got hot water to shower since it was winter but they also have a central control for the geaser thus, they would switch off the geaser as well! One morning at 6am I had to shower with cold water, in winter! The cleaners are friendly but the hotel staffs are not! I do not recommend this hotel at all unless you a really tight on budget.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My fiance and I shared a basic non-ac room which had no window but it was a reasonable size (a double and single bed). The bed sheets had not been changed and the toilet was dirty. The room looked unfinished with no mirrors etc and everything was botched. TV worked but no English channels. Also no hot water but bearable in the heat.

The whole hotel is undergoing construction and is very dirty, dusty and noisy. We were woken at 7.30am by lots of shouting and banging and then by a waiter ringing our door bell repeatedly bringing us tea which we had not ordered - and no appology when he realised his mistake. Staff at reception were average but beware of the guy who takes you to your room - he seems dodgy.

Good location just off Main Bazaar but I would not stay here again. Check out the roof top restaurants nearby for a beer in a tea cup!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We booked this hotel with airport pickup. The driver was waiting to pick us up, but the backseat did not have seat belts. They explained that no one in India needs seatbelts (as they buckled up theirs in the front seat). Then they proceeded to take us to the worst "hotel" I've ever seen. Dirty, bugs, mold, A/C didn't work, etc. It wasn't the one we booked and the manager said they "changed their name". We jumped in the first taxi we could grab and got out of there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gte926p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

If you need a cheap place to stay near the New Delhi train station and metro, this is perfectly fine. I've stayed here maybe 3 or 4 times in the last few months. It is set off the main bazaar, down an alley, but this doesn't mean it's quiet unless no one else is staying there. The rooms face each other across the concrete/tile stairwell up and down four stories and you can hear everything going on everywhere else.

It looks a bit grungy but is clean enough.

A regular room without a/c for one person should be no more than 250 rupees at the time of this writing. There are larger rooms with a/c for more money.

There is an internet cafe right around the corner.

The travel agent in the lobby will not give you good deals on things unless you really haggle.

It can be hard to find. If you're walking out of the train station and straight into Paharganj, it's about 100m in. Look for a Reebok store on your right, across from which, on your left, is an alley that leads down to the Himalayan Bakery, an internet cafe, and a "Star Paradise" sign -- another Star hotel right next to the Star Palace.

Book directly with the hotel instead of going through hostel bookers: http://www.stargroupofhotels.com/html/star_palace.html

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ghostmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews