We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby hotel in Karol Bagh”
Review of Hotel Royal Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal Queen
Ranked #451 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Karol Bagh is know as backpacker area, where you can find decent, basic hotels as well as dirty, dilapilated places. Western Queen belongs to the latter category. It is a place where staff and owners don't care about their guests and don't bother to provide any kind of service. There are a number of rooms without window, the bathroom consists of leaky or defunct appliances, and you need to ask for an extra bedsheet if you want to avoid to touch the filthy blanket they provide. Don't book this hotel - there are many alternatives in the area!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

The only positive thing is the location in Karol Bagh, which is "Ok".
The hotel is very run down. When we arrived at 5.30 in the morning they did not even turn the lights on. People where sleeping everywhere in the lobby. The bathroom was moldy and very very run down. After showering we did not even know if we were cleaner or mor dirty...Birds got stuck in the aeration. And it was very loud. There is no generator, so when the electricity was gone you don't even have a candle to light...
It was our first hotel in India and it was a very bad start. Fortunately it got better.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hasenfuss_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

average-proximity to metro station-food ok-hospitality good

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank psktvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I have booked this hotel online thru one of travel portal and my experience with this hotel is very bad. It was very unclean and there was no ventilation for rooms. All rooms stink with cigar smell. Also photos provided in internet are not exactly same. I looked almost 10 rooms in this hotel and haven't found even a single decent room. Also, bed sheets provided smells badly. A/c in room makes big sound. Boys that serve food are like street sellers with really dirty clothes. They have many hidden charges and asks for extra money to provide bill. Restaurant in the hotel is damn expensive. I really never recommend this hotel to anyone.. I don’t think this hotel room should cost more than 500/- for the kind of room and service they provide.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Siva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westernqueen, Owner at Hotel Royal Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Many of our guests are write a good review for our property but the reviews are not shown in Trip Advisor

Please do needful for us & also please delete old reviews because my hotel are renovated but reviews are old.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We booked through makemytrip and after looking at one of the reviews abt the cleanliness factor, we specially asked Rohit and Narendra from Makemytrip to take care that the hotel does not dissappoint us with their service. We checked in early as informed before, but, the room was not set. It was smelly n moisty because the room was closed and not cleaned. The bathroom was not clean at all and there was no provision for curtains. The AC stopped working and tour complaint was unattended. to add to this, our lunch order took 2 hours to arrive after repeated reminders to them. Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Services:
breakfast included--- we did not have breakfast at any morning.
Limousine: possible managers Tata
Room service: bedding were the same all the time.. we changed hotel and the last evening looking our things under the bed, we found garbage which was not ours. that´s good, we can be sure, nobody visiting our room and stealin our goods.
On the corridors the same waste and trays were all the time
We got toilet paper and towels after we asked it ( no soap or shampoo)
Service was very very bad... having a cup of coffee take 1hour 15 minutes.
air condition--yes but the electricity connection was dangerous
fridge-- broken and dirty
internet connection: possible on managers computer if he was there
satellite tv: even the normal channel did not work
The pictures of the hotelrooms must be taken in some one other hotel.
Very Briefly: DO NOT TAKE THIS TERRIBLE HOTEL, you can have better hotel near putting some euros extra

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hanuman49years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Room is good & stay comfortable. But service is bad. Eg. They take 1 hour to serve even a tea or coffee. Housekeeping service is provided only if you ask for it. Room service Food rates are very high.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank vasu7428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
812 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#27 of 777 in New Delhi
2,945 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,050 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 777 in New Delhi
4,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Queen

Address: 14A/25, WEA, Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India (Formerly Hotel Western Queen)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £14 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Royal Queen 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing