We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, no hot water and overpriced”
Review of Hotel Pearl Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pearl Plaza
Ranked #266 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Dirty, no hot water and overpriced”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed in Pearl Plaza in February 2011 for 3 nights while in Delhi. I travel a lot and frequently stay in hostels and budget accommodation - but this hotel is one of the worst experiences so far.
We arrived in Delhi early at night (about 2 am) and hotel´s driver met us at the airport. That was a very nice beginning. Upon arrival at hotel we found staff sleeping on the floor at the so-called lobby. It hardly looked the same lobby that´s shown on their web-site. But that was still OK, no worries. The problem was the room.
Our room was spacious and looked well-furnished (LCD TV on the wall, nice bed-covers). But it was extremely dirty. It was definitely not cleaned for longer period of time - including after previous guest. There were rolls of dust on the floor, the toilet bowl was stained with somebody´s pee with yellow liquid inside, the shower dripped, there was dirty paper on the WC floor, trash-bin was still full of trash etc. We checked the bed-linen and these were very dirty and stained, there was hair on the sheets - the linen looked like it was used and left unwashed. We complained the hotel staff about the problems with the rooms and politely asked to clean the room or give us another one. They were sleepy and didn´t bother too much, promising to clean in the morning. We demanded the manager (I guess he was the manager - he was the one in reception) to check the room and after that one guy cleaned the room. We asked for new sheets as well and were firstly said there´re no clean ones in the hotel. Finally the found some new bed-clothing - but it didn´t look promising as well. Finally we slept all three nights fully dressed. And all this happened in the middle of the nights - we haven´t slept for more than 24 hours and were expecting nice rest before exploring the city.
After getting our room cleaned we planned to take a shower - but no hot water was provided. Staff said it was due to late hours - but there was never any drop of hot water during our stay - was only cold and ice-cold. So we just showered in cold water.
The room itself was very cold. I know that in February nights in Delhi are not warmest ones and we were prepared with warm underclothing and wool socks - but this was just too cold, like staying outside. I understand that there could not be heating in India - but there were no warm blankets as well. There were only two thin ones and we were said they don´t have additional ones to give us. They didn´t clean the room any more during our stay and we had to ask the reception even a roll of toilet paper.
The breakfast was served in our room - we had omelette, tea and toast for breakfast.
We liked the neighbourhood - it was crazy and noisy and smelly - but it was fun and very Indian. There´re small markets near the hotel were one could buy snacks and drinks. A money-changer was right opposite the hotel. There´s a short walk / even more short drive from the hotel to the railway station. Don´t ask the hotel to arrange a railway station drop-off for you - the price is absolutely unfair. We asked the staff if we could find a rickshaw at 5AM and were suggested to take a taxi as there could be shortage of rickshaws at that time. So we asked for a taxi - but received a hotel driver for horrific price. As we were really tired of arguing and were in a hurry to catch our train we used the service. Actually there were plenty of rickshaws on the street.

In general that was very bad hotel experience. We were really considering moving to another place - but we booked through HotelClub and the full fare was pre-paid. This was the first time ever I considered changing a hotel.

I would be satisfied if I paid 10-15 USD for night. We paid 42. And that was a real rip-off for the quality received - a dirty room without hot water. Totally overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
11
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I love this place so much. Yes, maybe if you don't like noise, or a club feel, then no, you won't like it. Same if you don't like current music. I've been going here since I was little, I love the food, and the place itself. Definetely a must see for teen and young adults. Good service.. a littly pricy, but worth it.pleasure to be there

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anurag072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed in this hotel with family for 3 days. We made a booking for double bed room via e-mail & got their confirmation, but surprisingly they provided us with a large family room on arrival, as double bed room was not available on that day. Rooms were clean enough. Thanx to Mr. Tegchand, the courteous manager of the hotel. He was always available for service. Location is good, within 5-10 minutes walk from RK Mission marg Metro station. It is situated in Paharganj, but not in the busy market area, so quiet place to stay. Restaurant is on the roof top of the hotel, room service is available. We traveled with our 3 yr old son, and foods were made as per our order. We had to catch the early morning train for Agra from N Delhi station. Location proved to be very helpful, as it takes 5-10 minutes by rickshaw to reach the station. We hired the car from the hotel at very competitive rate for Delhi sight seeing. By mistake I left my purse to the car, and even didn't notice it. Got a call from the driver & he returned it intact. Really helpful & reliable staff. Surely will stay in this hotel during my next trip to New Delhi. Room Rates were on little bit of higher side, but really it is value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saikat_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Staff were helpful. Situated just off Main Market in New Delhi. Don' t let the title 'market' fool you into thinking there will be lots of things to buy as it's mainly food and essentials. The hotel is good value. Breakfast is served to your room but there is a restaurant just next door.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phipppsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bay, Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The first thing that hits you smack in the face is that the photos are not truly reflective of the surroundings. Pahar Ganj is like a pot pourri of the dusty Wild West, and people are always in a rush. That said, the market, book stalls and tea shops (Madan's) are great places to visit.
The breakfast offered was very rudimentary; an overoiled omelette served witha grimy plastic fork; I didn't expect Cordon Bleu cuisine but at least something that resembled airline food as a bottomline.
If you are visiting Delhi; fork out that bit extra for comfort; it's definitely dustier than either Mauritus (where I live) or UK (where I grew up). People spit without warning, and air pollution is rampant. Crowds are commonplace, and may be daunting for the first time traveller; I thought that my experiences in Bangkok, and Kuala Lumpur would prepare me for Delhi but I was very wrong; the former two are a comparative walk in the park.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Naugah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Tynemouth UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Despite emails confirming both room booking & collection from the airport - the car & driver never turned up... having got a taxi the night manager then told us he had no room booking for us (despite showing him the confirmation email) & claimed never to have heard of the manager.

He then threw two females out into the street at 2:30 in the morning & told us to come back in the morning.

Utterly disgraceful behaviour. We will never, ever use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marknew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Its a nice place with good rooms, 12 noon check out time, with average price 1000 Rs.
But manager is a big whiner and always in bad mood! Later we told him that we checking out at 11 pm, and he agreed. After while he told us, that we need to leave earlier then that and blah blah blah! And during the day we stayed in the room and his staff keep shutting out TV, AC or power. And phone dosnt work, and everytime I have to go down (from the 4th floor) to ask why its off again.
Its 1st and last time I stayed there!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aigul_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#145 of 715 in New Delhi
395 reviews
Hotel Payal
#199 of 715 in New Delhi
163 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Vivek Hotel
Vivek Hotel
#234 of 715 in New Delhi
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#321 of 715 in New Delhi
94 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Indo Continental
Hotel Indo Continental
#231 of 715 in New Delhi
33 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Sita International
Hotel Sita International
#334 of 715 in New Delhi
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pearl Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pearl Plaza

Property: Hotel Pearl Plaza
Address: Rajguru Road | Chuna Mandi, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pearl Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pearl Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing