We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel in mad paharganj”
Review of Hotel Pearl Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pearl Plaza
Ranked #269 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“decent hotel in mad paharganj”
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found the staff very helpfull, the rooms were large and kept very clean, the hotel is in a very manic part of delhi but was great fun just watching the street life. Very good value for money, but Paharganj area is not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollywood_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
11
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Stayed here with friends as a hub in and out of New Delhi. The hotel arranged car service to/from the int'l airport and to/from the Taj Mahal the next morning. I definitely recommend this hotel as a stress-free way of traveling around and into/out of Delhi - they took care of everything and were happy to assist.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWW1SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2009

My boyfriend, two friends, and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. Prior to our trip I was emailing with a number of hotels in this neighborhood near the train station. Vishal from the Pearl Plaza was by far the most responsive.

In advance he arranged for:
--A car to pick us up at the airport at 2am when our flight arrived
--A car, driver, and guide for a day trip to Agra
--2 Clean hotel rooms with plenty of bottled water

We had a great experience. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful.

The prices for the hotel and all the additional services they arranged for us were also very reasonable.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libra707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed at this hotel a few times. The rooms are OK. The linens are not spotless, definitely had not been changed but this is normal for Indian hotels/hostals (unless you go to upscale places), so bring your own if you wish. Also if you use the AC, there is no blanket and it gets pretty cold. I had my sleeping bad.
The first time we stayed the AC worked the whole time and the room was freezing. The next time, the AC was turned off through the main switch downstairs so it got stuffy and hot. Complain and ask for a discount if this happens. Everything is negotiable in India!
Rickshaws and taxis are easily accessible, the staff will even fetch you one if needed. Friendly, safe, hot water, good price.
Located in Paharganj, metro station (Rama Krishna) is 2min walk, plenty of dirt and beggars, so if your first time and day in India, be prepared to be shocked.
New Delhi railway station is super close and a ride with a rickshaw should be no more than 40-50 rupees. Nizamuddin is farther away.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ValKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We stayed at Pearl Plaza in Paharganj, Delhi for 2 nights in the middle of May 2009.
We got lost in Paharganj (which is a big market) on our way there on the first day, but on the second day we had no problems finding it anymore, even at night.

Here is a summary of our impressions from the Pearl Plaza.

positive:
- email communication with the hotel was very fast (we made a reservation in advance. In Delhi making a reservation in advance is strongly reccomended, as there are not so many good hotels and prices are quite high)
- very good price for double AC room (no breakfast, but breakfast could be booked extra for 80 Rs. p.P.) - 1100 Rs including taxes.
- reasonable price for airport pick up - 600 Rs for AC car. The Airport is quite far away from the city (ca 30min drive). Prepaid taxis from the eirport are cheaper, however.
- friendly staff
- nice, modern furniture
- warm water
- comfortable beds
- clean linen
- laundry and dry- cleaners' service which was quite cheap (15Rs. p. piece of clothing) and returns the laundry on the same day
- free tea around the clock
- TV and fridge
- a lot of restaurants, internet cafes and shopping possibilities all around.

negative:
- no internet
- many rooms have no windows
- ACs temperature is being controlled centrally, by the reception staff. Thatswhy our room was quite cold when the AC was on. We even could not switch it off ourselves.
- no wardrobe in the room

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelieden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#145 of 715 in New Delhi
395 reviews
Hotel Payal
#196 of 715 in New Delhi
163 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Vivek Hotel
Vivek Hotel
#234 of 715 in New Delhi
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#88 of 715 in New Delhi
323 reviews
Hotel Avtar
#408 of 715 in New Delhi
52 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#325 of 715 in New Delhi
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pearl Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pearl Plaza

Property: Hotel Pearl Plaza
Address: Rajguru Road | Chuna Mandi, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pearl Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pearl Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing