We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Transit Place Near New Delhi Railway Station : Ginger”
Review of Ginger New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ginger New Delhi
Ranked #82 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you are looking for a safe,clean, convenient budget hotel near New Delhi Railway Station, then Ginger Rail Yatri Niwas, could be your ideal choice. Me-self & my wify stayed there for one night on 30.10.2013. The rooms are though small, but having all the modern facilities ( AC, TV, FRIDGE,HOT WATER, TOILETARIES, LAUNDRY SERVICES) required for a transit traveller. The restaurant at the ground floor offer 24hrs. room service. New Delhi Railway Station ( Ajmeri Gate Side) is about 300 mtrs. Check-in & Check-out facility is very fast. The front desk personnel are efficient & no loss of time, during check-in & check-out.

Room Tip: Try to book upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsengupta_ncpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is not the best but the price range they offer is unbeatable. The hotel has everything that is people generally look for while searching for an economical hotel. It's located next to the New Delhi railway station on the Ajmeri Gate side & thus makes it most suitable for those who come to Delhi for Business or Personal visits. Within 50 mts of the hotel there is a metro station that connects entire Delhi including the New Delhi International Airport T-3 Terminal. it also houses the Comesum restaurant at the basement that serves South & North Indian Food. Excellent place to live if you are not looking for Luxury stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohammadFahad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Visited in October for one day. The USP is its location. Walking Distance from New Delhi Railway station and Metro Station. The rooms were clean and good. The food at the restaurant was also good. Overall a good stay and value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrugen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Chose this one only because of the Brand name "Ginger". But it was a big disappointment.

1. They kept us waiting for around half an hour as the room was not ready.
2. There was some kind of mildew smell in the room, the house keeping made an unsuccessful attempt by using room freshener.
3. Food we ordered came from "Comesome", a restaurant on NDLS station, and was a very big dissapointment.
4. Washroom was like some C class hotel's.

I agree that it is cheap but then also it was not at all the value for money.

Conclusion: Don't ever visit with family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandhuSaahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Mr. Sandhu,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Delhi – IRCTC.

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction, regarding the delay in check in, staff, cleanliness & food has been taken up with the reception staff, housekeeping & the F&B team respectively. The respective teams have been briefed up to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't have to wait for a longer period to check in. We have put up some standard procedures like prior allotment of rooms to guest The Hotel Manager or Shift Supervisor will personally check the room to maintain the hygiene and quality of the rooms. We would also like to inform you that now the rooms and bathrooms are cleaned & well maintained.

You will experience a marked difference in the quality & taste of our F&B offerings during your next visit. We look forward to your continued association with us.

We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback as it assists us in improving further. We assure you of the best of our services in future.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It can be criticised for its old building, poor surroundings and possibly a few other reasons too.

However, while I do acknowledge the aforesaid points I would nevertheless appreciate them for the efforts they have done to upkeep the facility and provide a great value for money deal. More so in the eye of cut throat competition and the ensuing inflation, it sure is a marvel to deal with Ginger guys for their clean deals and best value for money.

They maintain their standards and provide what they promise. No hanky-pankies at all.

Isn't that what we all want when we're travelling, no cheaters, no unforeseen extras et al. You get what you pay for, and I would say you are quite unlikely to get even that with others in general. So it's a sure shot a great deal.

Comfy place, all facilities and proximity to major transportation hubs, are its other key benefits.

Highly recommended to like minded travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is very nice & is at very nice location near to railway station. I will always preferred this hotel as its a budget hotel with nice facilities.

It is perfect for the person who has minimum budget with good facilities. The ginger concept is very nice & the staff is also good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pradeep d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is an old hotel, taken over by Ginger Hotels and named Ginger Rail Yatri Niwas. The USP of this hotel is it's location, right next to New Delhi railway station.

I was staying in this hotel as part of a marriage party, and drove here from ten airport. The hotel is extremely difficult to find the first time, with no road signs. You have to actually enter a No Entry lane and that's when you see the first signboard.

After getting to the hotel, I found it quite standard in terms of Ginger facilities. This is an old hotel, so the rooms are not quite new. I was given a 4 bed bedroom with extremely tiny bathrooms. Quite confusing, big room with small bathroom.

The restaurant is outsourced to the railway food department. The menu is limited, but the staff tries hard and provide above average food in terms of quality and variety. I was happy with the food here.

The wifi was not working during the 3 days of my stay. But it's not free and costs approx. RS. 350 for 24 hours.

Overall an average experience with the old rooms, difficult to find location and good food.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Axi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the location of the hotel, as there was no signboard available which would help you to locate our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you, we have noted your valuable feedback & will definitely have the signboards fixed so that it becomes very easy for our guests to locate our hotel. However, I would like to inform you that our website has maps of all Ginger Hotels’ locations. You can get more details on http://www.gingerhotels.com

Your other concern regarding the rooms & bathrooms had been taken up into consideration and we will ensure that this will be taken care in our next up-gradation in consultation with of our corporate team. However, your concern about the Wi-Fi facility issue is fixed & working fine now.

We will definitely work upon the feedback shared & look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property a better at your next stay at Ginger Hotel.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Delhi – IRCTC, thank you for bringing it to our attention; your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best.
Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
Ginger East Delhi
#307 of 715 in New Delhi
171 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#56 of 715 in New Delhi
1,717 reviews
Wood Castle
#16 of 715 in New Delhi
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger New Delhi

Address: IRCTC-Rail Yatri Niwas,New Delhi Railway Station, | New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger New Delhi 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ginger New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ginger Hotel New Delhi
New Delhi Ginger Hotel
Hotel Ginger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing