We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dependable budget hotel”
Review of Ginger New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ginger New Delhi
Ranked #81 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“dependable budget hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Usually hotels in India in this price range (less than 3000Rs per night) are highly unpredictable and also highly inconsistent in the quality of services. But at this Ginger property, one can be sure of consistent level of service. The water supply is dependable, the sleep quality is acceptable. The on site restaurant is OK and it is open 24/7. The location of this property is unbeatable with the Delhi metro station just a few hundred feet away. The neighborhood is dirty with the typical squalor of Delhi. The hotel is hidden in a corner of the Train station and it takes some effort to figure out how to get in and get out. Because it is right at the New Delhi train station, you will hear the trains honking all the time. Because this hotel is mostly booked by people on line, I suspect the guests here are decent folks. So, if you need a hotel at under 2000 Rs a night and you do not want any unpleasant surprises, go for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indian1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    433
    252
    62
    47
See reviews for
351
187
183
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nanded, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Bang @ new Delhi rail station. In the heart of market. Walk few steps to enter Delhi metro station.It is self help hotel . You have to help yourself . No room service of any kind. Ground floor you have a eatery of fast food. Its ok to good. Its fast food type joint. Biggest plus point is reservation ..service is good you have call them on specified phone and they will tell you the availability and you can pay money even in their a/c. Nice reservation service. Nice people on phone. I once cancelled and forgot to collect the refunds. They sent me a cheque at my home address!
Rooms are good if you compare the price . My first option to stay in Delhi is rail yatri nivas ginger, always . No experience of other ginger hotels in Delhi. Remember you have to carry your own luggage on trolley and lift to your room !

Room Tip: They have few family rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girishdeshmukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The accomodation,facilities&the staff are good.It is certainly VALUE FOR MONEY.Location is also ideal for movement.but the food from the Resaturent,managed by some external agencies,is below stadard.There are no better options also nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days. The room I was allocated was 303. It was neat and clean room with all the basic amenities. The hotel is just near the exit side of Ajmeri Gate side of New Delhi railway station. (Take left alley before you cross the big exit sign of the station). This is a self service type hotel. The AC in the room had the option to cool and heat and since it was winter time I used it to heat up my room. You have got LCD TV in the room with all the basic channels. There was a refrigerator in the room with two bottles of water in it. There were tea and coffee facilities, if you want to make one for yourself in the room. The bathroom was clean but the towels were a bit worn out and could have been changed. The lighting in the room was adequate. The beds were quite comfortable.
The main put off of this hotel is its restaurant. The food is not so good and it depends on what you order. First day I ordered a chicken biriyani for dinner and it was awful. Also the cash counter guy will never bother to return you the change if its either 2/5 rs. They always had a plea of not having enough changes. This happened all the time I ordered in the rest. In the second day I ordered chicken chowmein which was quite good, All the food here are a bit pricey in comparison to the quality/quantity.
Furthermore the price in the menu differs from what they actually charge. But one of the positive aspect is the value for money. They charged me INR 2K per night (Twin room) and it was quite reasonable.
The check in time is 13:00Hrs and checkout is 11:00 Hrs. My train was at 16:30 hours and they gladly kept my luggage in the cloak room for the extra hours while I went for a small city tour. But one bad thing about the cloak room is that they asked me to enter and keep my luggage there and when I collected my luggage no one checked whether I am carrying mine or someone else's luggage. So, you have to keep your luggage there at your own risk. But luckily my luggage was intact and nothing was missing (No valuable was there in my bag).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvishekMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

i have stayed here several times before this, and i stayed here yet again for 3 nights with my family.they have a family room which has 4 individual beds..i guess its good to accomadate a family with 2 children for the price they offer.
i guess the only problem now is the entrance to the hotel, we have to traverse all across the ajmeri gate railway station to get to the hotel , there is no seperate entrance for the hotel which is now a little painstaking getting there..although there is a huge sign age at the top of the hotel, but there are no directions to take you there becoz if u miss the passage to the entry to the hotel then getting back again is a big task.
i would really request ginger to do some thing about this.
other wise over all experience is splendid..
i dont know why they have shut a convinience store which was in the hotel premises ?even the medicine shop has dissappeared..

Room Tip: if u r a couple go for a double room instead of a twin room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faisaldaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

location is far from airport, rooms are clean, toilet is average, service quality is good, wifi in rooms, beds are comfortable, rates are affordable, self service for baggage, food quality is good, worth staying.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmiljoshi_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Ginger, New Delhi is located on the Ajmeri Gate side of New Delhi Railway Station as you get out from that side its on the left-hand side which is locationally perfectly located.

The property is neat & clean with an option for Self-Check-in kiosk, have its small Gym, its own Restaurant which serves both Veg. & Non-Veg. meal options with breakfast, lunch & dinner being served on buffet basis which tastes good. Motion-activated lighting sensors throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuragKumarGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Ginger East Delhi
#132 of 716 in New Delhi
154 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#32 of 716 in New Delhi
973 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#100 of 716 in New Delhi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger New Delhi

Property: Ginger New Delhi
Address: IRCTC-Rail Yatri Niwas,New Delhi Railway Station, | New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger New Delhi 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ginger New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ginger Hotel New Delhi
New Delhi Ginger Hotel
Hotel Ginger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing