We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean hotel.A couple of odd touches!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shipra International
Ranked #643 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel.A couple of odd touches!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just a couple of nights in Dec '13 my partner was quite unwell at this point so we spent quite a lot of time in the room.

The double room was a good size, had a large comfortable bed and both the bedroom and en suite were clean. The hotel breakfast was a standard buffet affair, no real complaints here.

A couple of odd touches: the floor we were on had a concierge /security guard type guy, a little weird as he would jump up whenever you left the room. He also had the ability to turn the AC on and of on the room instead of you having your own control - that's odd and inconvenient having to ask to turn this on and off! A solid, good, clean place to stay and close to New Delhi (NDLS) rail station (but not so close as to be noisy) however quite pricey at 20GBP+

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank agrotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
14
7
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

After a very long overnight train journey we were met with unfriendly staff who were happier being rude about us in Hindi (I understand some Hindi) than talking to us directly. This is one of those places where they will not let you carry your own bag and then not leave your room until you give them money. In fact, we had the strangest experience when a porter decided to push past me with our eventual pillows and blankets we requested, entering our room when my wife was in bed, clearly against my wishes. He refused to leave (he wanted to put the pillow cases on etc) saying no problem no problem, when I am clearly saying ‘yes problem’. Unsure what do I exclaimed how ridiculous this was, and lifted the phone to call reception. Santosh hung up the phone saying sorry sorry, but still wouldn’t leave, I think, he was waiting for a tip!! I pretty much had to man handle him out of there. Absolute disbelief. Unfortunately for us too, the porters all hung out in the corridor outside our room, playing music on their phones and chatting loudly. When we checked out our room bill was twice the price that was expected, but it was claimed that our bill was mixed up with another guests. And our Airport taxi was more expensive than was quoted the day before, apparently the tiny taxi that came to pick us up was a ‘large’ taxi and therefore more expensive. Avoid avoid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at The Shipra International, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Shipra International!!!

We thank you for giving us the chance to serve you. It was a pleasure having you as our guest but at the same time we are also horrified to learn that you had to face inconvenience due to certain staff and let us assure you that the concerned person have been notified about the same and we would like to request you to please do not let this leave a sour impact of our services .

We are glad that you did like the room and rest of your stay experiences leaving apart the certain shortcomings. We have taken actions in the part that you have pointed in your review. A guest's feedback is important to us and helps us to better ourselves.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having booked & paid via Agoda 2 months earlier, we arrived in Delhi at 3am to find the hotel full. They offered no help in finding somewhere else, & said that our payment would be refunded within 2 days. Stranded in Delhi in the early hours was not a pleasant experience - a very dangerous place, especially for women. 3 weeks later we are still waiting for a refund......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juven8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I stay at the shipra quite often when am in Delhi, located close to the railway station has an advantage of location. Tourists be aware of Paharganj, dangerous to venture late evenings. Prices economically this is good value for money place.
Overall average sort of a place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faisalsyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at The Shipra International, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Shipra International!!!

We thank you for giving us the chance to serve you. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

We are glad that your stay at Shipra was pleasant and you enjoyed the facilities provided in the room. A guest's feedback is important to us and helps us to better ourselves.

We look forward to your return and would love to see you in the near future.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was my first time in India and the surrounding area was a bit daunting...very busy, dirty and chaotic. The Shipra however was a great place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, from the nice security guard at the front door to the reception staff and the house-keeping. Nothing was too much trouble...they even arranged for someone to pop over to the Off-licence and grab a couple of bottles of Beer for me. When the Internet in the Business centre was down, the Manager allowed me to use the computer in his office and made me feel welcome. The staff actually cared about the residents.The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. I have now been travelling in India for over two months ( part of a six month adventure ) and The Shipra is one of the best value for money hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a very busy and noisy area, so a room on the second floor at the back is good. The K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuestRelations1, Guest Relations Manager at The Shipra International, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

The team of The Shipra International thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us a chance to serve you and make your stay, hopefully a memorable one.

We really appreciate your review and thank you for your kind words. The staff strives to make the guests stay a homely one and your review shows that their hard work has not gone unnoticed.

t was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. We look forward to serving you yet again.

Thanking You

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

i was in delhi for an official trip for 2 days. i selected the shipra international for lodging. now i regret. staff at reception dont even smile, very rude.
the image of the rooms on net looked spacious, but we were given one tiny room with no ventilation at all, costing Rs 2600/- a night (executive double room). i had no clue the executive double room is the least quality. the customer care of the hotel had called me before i booked the hotel but he never gave any such information.
i demanded to shift the room, receptionist bluntly said we cant provide you any better room. also pointing that he gave us free breakfast (which was anyways complementary). we had to pay some additional 600rs to upgrade the room.
the upgraded room was better, spacious, but lacked basics things like toothpaste, a hand flush in washroom.
i asked the helper boy to go get a toothpaste, he didn't bother to return me the change.
at the time of checking out i wanted a taxi from paharganj to roopnagar(near delhi university), hardly 7-8 kms distance, the guy at reception charged me RS700/- . Such cheaters i swear. only coz i was new to that place doesn't mean you can charge me any amount you want....
if anyone is reading this review then plz understand that the staff is very rude, and i do not recommend anyyyyyone to go stay at this hotel.... bloody money minded rude manner-less staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakshmism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Optimum Palm D'or
Optimum Palm D'or
#520 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Hotel Chanchal Deluxe
#385 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Paharganj
FabHotel Paharganj
#114 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Hotel The Pearl
#483 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Hotel Krishna
#584 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shipra International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shipra International

Property: The Shipra International
Address: 8596, D.B.Gupta Road, Near Shiela Cinema, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shipra International 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Shipra International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing