We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG. So royal. Looks like a palace.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #79 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very beautiful. And what a location. High floors give you a great view of Central Delhi.

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,170 - 2,176 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed at Royal Plaza during the month of Feb 2012 for 3 nights. While we checked it we got a room on the 19th floor, Found the rooms to be quite small. We also found that the ved linen were smelling stale as if they werent changed. Complained about this to the Hotel Front Office manager who prompty offered us a suite. The new room was better ( obviously).

Overall adding to the review, they do need to improve on the Breakfast, its just too monotonous having the exact same things served every morning. Also, feel that the rooms are a little overpriced. But again the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhinavarya10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This has been a great journey for me and the amount of attention received by these employees was really great.

Spa was very enjoyable,so was the food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcclarke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel, with its spectacular lobby, three times during our tour of India. The public areas are spacious and well appointed; the pool area is lit at night by twinkling lights. The food is well prepared and served hot. There is a choice of Indian and western food. They do a generous Sunday brunch served beside the pool. We found the rooms well decorated and comfortable if a little on the small size but adequate. The bathroom had a roomy walk in shower instead of a bath. On our second visit there was an issue with the plumbing in some rooms as the water was the colour of black coffee but ran clear after about 15 minutes. Some of the staff were less than gracious. We had issues at check out as they had charged for the wifi twice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed here with my Sister and Mum while sight seeing in Delhi and I have to say I was very impressed. The rooms were very nice and spacious and were nicely done.

The breakfast was good with efficient service and the hotel was conveniently located for site seeing being very close to the gateway

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is located not far from Connaught Place.

Rooms are rather small and some of them have air conditionning issues. As windows do not open, make sure the A/C is working properly before settling in your room. For the same reasons, avoid smoking rooms.

Restaurants are good but make sure to check the price of the buffet if this is what you want - it tends to be very overpriced. All restaurants will offer a la carte selections if you ask.

The hotel has a small pool at ground level with a bar area. You can also eat outside. Again, bar consumptions are quite overpriced for all standard.

WiFi is dreadful and also expensive. You have to buy a coupon from the business center. For the same charge you can also use their computers in the business center. Outside calls, local and long distance are also very expensive. Be careful.

Overall - okay hotel but ameneties / services left to be desired. You always have to argue with staff to get issues fixed - this is why I now try to avoid this place.

By the way, don't bother paying more for a superior room. Apart being on a "club floor" there is virtually no difference with the standard room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Rooms our a bit small but enjoyed our stay. Staff efficient and polite good food in the Restaurant.

Room Tip: Best to be on 5th Floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#68 of 777 in New Delhi
3,112 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#118 of 777 in New Delhi
654 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Connaught Royale
Hotel Connaught Royale
#113 of 777 in New Delhi
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19 Ashok Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Connaught Place/Janpath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £64 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing