We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #73 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived early at hotel and had to faff around before room was ready. Had breakfast outside which was a treat, nice area around the pool. The lobby is very opulent, rather OTT to be honest but when we arrived in the room, it was small but clean and the beds were comfortable.

Food was good (buffet) but the drinks were phenomenally expensive. They were cheeky enough to put a bottle of water on the table (Evian) which was chargeable.

Handy to India gate, Sikh temple and Connaught place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    550
    527
    231
    214
See reviews for
356
477
197
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coulsdon, Chipstead, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As you enter this hotel past the new Rolls Royces and through the beautifully appointed reception area you have very high expectations which are swiftly reduced when you get to the rooms. The tour company was probably paying as little as they could get away with but while you might be able to put up with the small rooms a shower with no door one night and a musty smelling bathroom another is very disappointing. The food was good but service at the fron desk was often lacking and one time it took three separate visits over a five hour period to get some US dollars changed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was booked in for two nights. (19/11 and 20/11) They lost my voucher and I had to stand firm on my booking for the second night. A Do not disturb sign was put on my door. Two people thought I was asleep when I was actually out. When I got back at 9 the signs had been removed and the room had not been serviced.
Also there was a match on the floor and some small bits on the bathroom floor when I first arrived.

Summary A flash entrance with no substance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have stayed at Royal Plaza twice in last two weeks in 3 different rooms. Very impressive to walk into but is far as it goes. The photo used for publicity puts it in a better light than it is.

Air-conditioning on higher floors does not work. Can not open windows so room becomes very humid and stuffy. Vent fan for bathrooms do not work so turns into Sauna if water is hot enough.

Shower very tired and doors can jam.

Wireless internet is expensive and very problematic and can just stop. IT guy helpful but does not make it work any better. Speed is slow to dead stop. No good for dealing with business.

Every bar has own accounts so cannot take drink from one area and expect to pay against room in other area, guys chase you and want you to finalise your bar account before moving to outside bar or to restaurant.

Room Tip: See room first and check AC does work and get their assurance WIFI is working OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_B_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Entering the lobby, the initial impression was impressive. Not upstairs. The rooms are clean but rather cramped. The pool area is clean and staff are rearranging and cleaning constantly. Food in the restaurant is fairly good and waiting staff are attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I think words will fall short if I start writing a detailed review for this hotel therefore I will keep it short and simple short. We stayed in Room 603. Maharaja Suite. Excellent hotel, very centrally located, near connaught place. Very helpful and polite staff. Buffet is good, good spread of cuisines. Would definitely stay here again! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was staying here as part of a tour of India with Voyages Jules Verne. First impressions of this hotel upon driving in are extremely good and you'd be forgiven for thinking you were about to stay somewhere lavishly opulent. The impressive exterior entrance portico, the gushing fountains, illuminated gardens, fleet of Rolls Royces and uniformed staff to greet you all looks great. The entrance lobby is as OTT a blingfest as you can get, with Italianate fresco-ed ceiling (actually, it's just wallpaper, you can see the join!), glittering chandeliers, marble columns and OTT wrought iron and gold-leafed banisters.

Apart from an abominably slow check-in, where everybody's passports had to be scanned and then scanned again as they hadn't been properly scanned the first time, thoughts were: Hmm, this is nice.

Unfortunately it all goes downhill pretty quickly once you get upstairs. There's something about the corridors that sort of forewarns you, but it's when you swing open the door to to your room (this was 326) and it smells strongly of damp that puts you off straight away. It seems to be a problem with rooms at the rear of the hotel. By and large, the room itself was ok (yes they are quite small, but that didn't bother me) and well equipped, but the cleaning left a lot to be desired. Dust in the corners, scuffed walls and peeling paint in the damper patches. The back of the bathroom door resembled that of a public lavatory cubicle (indeed, even in India I had been in cleaner public lavatories than this!) covered in stains and marks, including one brown stain (which I wiped off with a wet tissue) I'm quite sure was faeces. The tiles were largely chipped, a leaky showerhead/extension had obviously contributed to a brown gunge which had formed around the head of the bath, the mirror was marked and the frame was covered in stains, the chrome fittings were all smeared and marked (a little polishing with a dry cloth would have sufficed) or rusted. The light above the bath flickered and buzzed in a non-too-electrically-safe kind of way.

Toiletries and accessories were nicely displayed and other useful items such as a comb, toothpaste and toothbrush and bathrobes were provided. Nothing wrong with those.

Bedding was fine, although I was mortified to pull the bedding back on one bed and find it full of black hair. Eeek. The other bed was ok so I slept in that, although a little stained in places, however I think (or hoped) that these had at least been through the wash first!

Either the hotel does not have enough cleaners or the cleaners have slackened off somewhere.

Our excellent guide had I think pulled strings with the hotel to get us upgraded rooms when we stopped here for one further night at the end of the tour. All guests in the party were upgraded to suites this time, so in fairness to the management the hotel were obviously trying hard to make amends. The suites were a good size, but once again (the Maharini suite) smelt damp (again at the rear of the hotel) and there was clear evidence of this around the bottom of the walls, plus more dust around the edges. Marble bathroom this time, and a jacuzzi bath (but still needed more of a clean - I wouldn't have been tempted to bathe in it. Two travel companions were in an Oxford suite and their bathtub actually had big brown marks in it. Nice!). A separate lounge area in the bedroom and also a table and chairs looked nice and inviting. However a previous guest had obviously had a glass of fruit juice, as the dirty glass was still sitting there untouched on the table when I moved in.

A slightly scary feature of the Maharini suite that I should warn you about, is that on the ceiling above the double bed is an oversize painted reproduction of the Mona Lisa. It's huge, equaling the size of the bed itself, and her eyes bore down into your own as you sleep. It's good, but the head I think is a bit too big and the eyes look way too dark around the sides - Mona looks more sinister than anything else in this artwork - and interestingly she has a smoke alarm on her right breast. Waking up in the dark and seeing that above your head could scare the hell out of you.

Now I appreciate I've been scathing of the hotel, and I have to say everything else was fine (food, drink, service, facilities etc) and I have to acknowledge that this is India and those of us who can afford to stay here are the lucky ones. Much of the population live in abject poverty and squalor in poorly built housing and extremely dirty and unhygienic conditions, and yet are a happy, welcoming and smiling people. But all I can say is as a tourist, you tend to find hotel standards and peoples expectations of a hotel are pretty consistent worldwide: Some of the hotels used on our tour were quite basic, but all were scrupulously clean except this one. And given it's rating, facilities, services and that it obviously tries to appeal to Western travelers, it needs to up its standards considerably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the pool. The view from the back is a bit ugly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BezCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#50 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#108 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing