We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well decorated hotel with a good breakfast service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #77 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night when we were travelling for touristic reasons. The hotel is very central and close to the modern parts of the city. If you want to go out to experience the nightlife of Delhi, this hotel is very close to some of the popular place. We had a good experience especially at breakfast. You have an open buffet with choices of Indian, Continental and British breakfast. A variety of eggs, ommelets and pancakes available. The room was also traditionally decorated as shown in pictures.
The only 2 negativites were:
1) The bathroom: it was a bit old and the shower was blocked so we had a small pool when we finished showering
2) Wi-fi is not free.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pebblyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I am frequent guest to this hotel. U can rarely see phone calls picked up in just 1 ring, excellent ambience, great hospitality from security to bell desk to reception to front office mangers. Their very charming and pleasentness makes you happy.Great feeling. Very centrally located near Connaught place. You feel at home when you are inside . Real 5 star feeling at quite moderate tarrif

Room Tip: Great 5 star feeling at excellent money worth rates. Corner rooms are great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Relish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is rather drab and in need of freshening up. I found the preponderance of statues in the lobby oppressive and rather than giving the hotel an air of elegance, had quite the opposite effect. The rooms were grubby, the towels 'grey' rather than white and the restaurants expensive considering the general standard of the hotel. I have rated The Royal Plaza as "average" because I think it may work on some level, however I would not recommend it for business or romantic trysts - it just isn't up to the mark.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

i had frequent visited new delhi past six month and many time acodomate at the royal plaza,it's totally worth what you pay.room were fine,service is good,breakfast /food good too.located close patel chauk,metro station,canought place also very near. ins short hotel in nezr biz area

Room Tip: all rooms were compact & good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here last year. The room was small, not very clean. When we asked for a change found the staff unhelpful to the point of being rude. We were with a small tour group and luckily had an extremely good tour leader. He eventually got the manager to agree to a free meal for us on our last night there. Unfortunately one meal did not make up for our nights in a rotten hotel. They were obviously very proud of the while Rolls Royce parked outside the main entrance - pity they didn't care more about their guests and their accommodation.

Room Tip: I would suggest finding a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Puttles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and that was enough. You are greeted with a grand extrance that promises a great hotel but on entering our room the disappointment began. The room was tiny, smelt damp, the kettle didn't work, the shower was broken, the towels grey instead of white, I could go on......We were a group of 20 people in 10 rooms and everyone had some problem which their room. On a positive note, the location is great and the food was good however the staff need some training on customer service.

Room Tip: Not floor 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

You don't gain anything by having an exotic building with painted ceilings, golden structures and the word "royal" in your name if you can't look after your guests or don't even have clean and working bathrooms. Ours was dirty, rusted and flooded, for example, and all the "fancy" fabric and curtains hanging in the room were full of dust. We had to contact the reception staff a few times and they were not helpful at all. Also, charging $15 for using the wifi in the most modern city in India shows greediness on the part of the hotel. In Mandawa was free. On the other hand, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is really good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
3,018 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#108 of 715 in New Delhi
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,882 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 715 in New Delhi
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19, Ashok Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing