We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love to hate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #75 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 24 January 2010

A clear rip off!

This is the Yatri Nivas converted, with such small rooms and service the rates are absolute rip off.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ramki09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Royal Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

we stayed for 1 day for a business trip in this hotel.The behaviour of the staff at reception during check in was as if u are a criminal who is staying for free at there hotel. Very rude receptionist.You will have to search for a person to send ur luggage to ur room. Very irresponsible staff at that point. But room service was OK. Food was good. Dont expect them to clean ur room till u come back and request them even if u leave at 10 A.M. and return at 3 P.M.Rooms are vert small and suffocated
well overall a very bad experience

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinkal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This hotel is a joke - their phone system doesn't work, you have to call 3 times for service, the rooms are tiny, and the lobby is one of the most atrocious looking things you will ever see. They put all their money into the lobby and forgot to spend anything on the tiny rooms. The heating and cooling system was not working in the rooms either when we stayed there; the rooms were extremely muggy.
Spend a little more to stay in one of the neighboring hotels or find somewhere else - this place stinks.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwcbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I had booked a suite on the 9th of december at the Ramada Plaza & it has been the worst hotel i have ever stayed in anywhere in the world !

The suite was smaller than most standard rooms in other similar hotels, the bed was meant for someone who is less than 6 feet. You just have to see the bed to understand what I am saying !

The minibar is well stocked but the prices displayed would even shock the best of 5 star hotels in delhi..A complete Ripoff !

The Bathroom was nearly unusable, the shower made a noise which made me think of Jurrasic park, that done I could not shave as the tiny exhaust was not enough to remove the steam even after 10 minutes, the video will show you all what I mean !

That done, We ordered tea and coffee and an omlette with some toasts, the tea and coffee were lukewarm, the omeltte was hot but tasteless and the toasts were cold. the bill for the these was Rs.1023 after taxes, which is again more than even what the best 5 star hotels charge in the city.

so we hurried to check out and in the process i complained about the quality of the suite to the frontdesk staff, the suty manager was present & without saying a word he handed out a small card which asked of my experience of this establishment.
When i did finish writng.....the reply came promptly...thankyou for staying with the Ramada Plaza !!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voodoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

The hotel was brand new, when I stayed for a family wedding. Great location, pleasant ambience, good service was the overall experience. The suite was nice though a bit smallish.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1970Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel after reading so many negative reviews before we went. The room was small but the bed and pillows were wonderful, as was the shower. Breakfast is a bit chaotic as the restaurant is not big enough and coffee was not forthcoming until after several requests. It appears that the staff are willing but not well managed. We ate a la cart in the evening and had some very good Indian food-ask for spicy if you like it that way. There are no other restaurants close to hand. The staff were very helpful and tried their best to give advice. We used the Metro and it is cheap, clean and simple to use. Do go and wander round the spice market area if you have the time-an amazing place!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My stay was for three nights. rooms are small. food is somehow always lukewarm no matter if its in buffet or room service. lobby looked way too colourful for a decent hotel.

Bar has a good selection of wines and the person at the bar had good knowledge of wines and drinks.

leisure option are good too. i was convinced for the most expensive spa treatment and wrap by the pretty manager but all worth although the steam room was down....

asked for mobile charger several times but amazingly no mobile chargers are available in the hotel.
would recommend for a leisure trip and try the bar!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammyOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 712 in New Delhi
2,992 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#114 of 712 in New Delhi
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 712 in New Delhi
2,845 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 712 in New Delhi
3,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19, Ashok Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £55 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing