We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and perhaps overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza
Ranked #481 of 778 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have just embarked on a solo trip around India and this was the first hotel that I stayed in on arrival in Delhi. I chose the Pahar Ganj area in a bid to meet other travellers but this was limited in this hotel. The lobby area measured no more than 2 metres by 4 metres with two stools, so interaction was extremely limited. Considering the majority of places that you can stay in Pahar Ganj this is definitely towards the upper end of the scale in terms of quality but it is average. The bathroom was not spotless and the vent was not covered so lots of mosquitoes entered the bathroom this way (and into the bedroom as they kept leaving the door open). The bedroom was clean and the air conditioning worked (albeit extremely noisy). The room did have cable tv which is a nice addition if you are on your own. Lobby staff were welcoming and kind, but some of the staff would loiter in the corridors upstairs - irritating and disconcerting when you are a solo female traveller. Good location and certainly a safe room in terms of security. Staff are eager to sell you a tour and insist they are giving you a good price - this is rarely the case in Delhi and my taxi trip around Delhi proved that this was also the case at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citybreak17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Rooms were clean and quiet for the most part. There was no hassle when you arrived and they did not try and rip you off! A little dark but all with air conditioning and colour TV.

Room Tip: Always get them to show you the room before you agree to staying so you are both happy with the arra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The cheap rooms here are a little dark, but other than that are a good value--decent sized, clean, and come with TVs and hot showers. We arrived late with a reservation and the only room left was a deluxe room facing the street--it was definitely a much nicer room, but for twice the price, it wasn't worth it on our budget.

The staff were hit or miss--one guy at the front desk wouldn't let us call out to order a pizza, which was a pain. Another guy came to our door every night asking us if we wanted beer, or laundry done, or a massage. At first it was just funny, but it got a little old after awhile.

Room service comes from a nearby restaurant. The Indian food was OK, but the Italian was totally disgusting.

Overall, it's in a good location, and the price was reasonable for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Californienne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I reserved a room here in September 2011, which was confirmed by email by a Mr Baweja and re-confirmed the day before my arrival in India.

When i reached the hotel, i found my reservation was no where to be found. They then sent me to the sister hotel Cottage Crown Plaza which had no free rooms either.

Without any kind of explanation, I was then sent to the most grubby hotel i stayed in during my entire stay in India, allbeit for the same price. It was past midnight and I was so tired, i took the room, but found myself another hotel the next day.

I have rated my experience as poor as opposed to terrible, as i never actually managed to stay at the guest house.

This review is a warning of overbooking, and poor customer service here.

Mr Baweja, what happened to my reservation ?

I suspect the staff here are relying on publicity generated by their listing in the lonely planet .... i shall be writing to the LP as well..

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank CSMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here twice is September 2011, for 5 nights all together.
This guest house is situated in Pahar Ganj, a 15 minute walk from the New Delhi train station & a 3 minute walk from the Metro (Rama Krishna Ashram Marg station). This is Pahar Ganj with the indescribable smell, filth, pollution and craziness that Pahar Ganj is, so don't expect clean air or a 4 star hotel. That said, if you do choose to stay in Pahar Ganj, Cottage crown Plaza is a good budget option.
The AC worked well, shower was hot, TV worked fine, service was good and it was not noisy. On top of all, I did not encounter a single mouse in the hotel (although I assume there were) and for Pahar Ganj this is impressive.
I paid 900 rs. for a room per night. I know that others bargained and paid less.
By the way, the photo of the lobby on Tripadvisor, is not connected to reality. In reality, this guest house has no real lobby.

Room Tip: A pone notifying the staff how badly I hate mice, they recommended I stay on the top floor and so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batyapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed in and inspected a variety of places in Delhi and found Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza to be of reasonable standard (not easy to find in Delhi) for a reasonable price (Rs900 p/n).

Room was very clean, good air conditioning, hot water, TV and quiet.

It is in a good location to the bustling Main Bazaar (street) with great little rooftop restaurants surrounding it. Very close to the New Dehli train station and Metro (about 1km).

For Delhi this is an excellent option and we would stay here again if we went back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clairecim675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Got to know about this property through a common friend, it was a last minute booking.

Would rate if good on all parameters, don't expect them to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

They won't deny what you ask for but you have to ask maybe twice

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Kwality
#469 of 778 in New Delhi
99 reviews
Hotel Welcom Inn
#465 of 778 in New Delhi
6 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Pearl Plaza
Hotel Pearl Plaza
#351 of 778 in New Delhi
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Seven Seas Inn
Hotel Seven Seas Inn
#296 of 778 in New Delhi
9 reviews
Hotel Raunak International
#647 of 778 in New Delhi
146 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shivam International
Hotel Shivam International
#407 of 778 in New Delhi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza

Address: 5136 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 778 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing