We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet but central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jyoti Mahal Guest House
Ranked #239 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet but central”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is my fourth stay and enjoy my home away from home in Delhi. I wouldn't go back if it wasn't so friendly and clean and peaceful a place. They go out of their way to please guests and are efficient staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annietony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    128
    59
    32
    21
See reviews for
47
99
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The staff were very helpful, but the actual room we staying in was left wanting. The room had been renovated at some time (structurally) but not finished off. Quite disappointing! Aesthetically it looked like it had been involved in a war movie set. The sheets were clean and the pillows soft.... I will leave it there. In all, definitely NOT worth the money spent. To leave on a good note; the staff were very friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zigmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A good start to a two week trip around Rajasthan. Room ( third floor, street facing) was quiet, clean, comfortable - the AC was a little unpredictable, but no other issues at all. No tea/coffee facilities in room but room service was swift. Roof top restaurant very pleasant, staff all friendly. We had no problems with the wifi, and enjoyed our two night stay - would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our room had a lot of cachet, quiet big and was very quiet. The bathroom was basic but nice hot shower. The hotel has a wonderful roof terrasse with sofas where you take your breakfast. Fresh juice are safe. The personal is friendly, they printed our train ticket. Internet is not 100 % of time available.
We paid 100 000 for 3 nights without breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Jyoti Mahal Guest House is excellent located in the heart (busy, hectic, dirty section) of the Main Bazar Street area which is full of restaurants and nice shops. Despite this fact the hotel is in a quiet corner of a side street so you don’t have to bother about noise and a lot of people around (might be a bit too quiet for ladies late in the night). Subway station is only 5-10 min walk away.

From outside the hotel is not that impressive but once you are inside you will discover beautiful furniture and nice décor which I really liked much and gives you an authentic Indian feel. Rooms are spacious but looked totally different to the photos in the internet. Shower was the BEST in 1 month India. TV did not work properly but Wifi was excellent. As many rooms have only windows to the inner courtyard the rooms are quite dark and cold and do not invite you to have a pleasant time in there. Much better to hang out is the lovely roof top terrace where you will find a cosy atmosphere, good variety of drinks and a delicious restaurant.

Staff was really efficient and friendly, they organized airport pick-up successfully even it was 6 am in the morning. Unfortunately the pictures in the net don’t really represent the real conditions, keep that in mind otherwise you will be disappointed when arriving at the Hotel

All in all we had a good time in Jyoti Mahal so I would recommend it for a 1 or 2 day short stay in Delhi

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have been visiting this place for 4 times now. The building looks very nice, old and typical traditional Indian style. However, the rooms are not very clean and some of them have humidity problems (terrible for your health) you may have internet connection problems and the taxi's are terrible (no AC which is a huge problem in the summer). Furthermore, they even charged me more then they had confirmed by e-mail!

However, the rooftop restaurant is a nice place to be within this chaotic place. The food is ok. Not the best!

Just stay for 1 night is ok, but wouldn't recommend to stay longer at all!

Room Tip: Check out if the room is not humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaharehShahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Asia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Staying 3 days in New Dehli. The area isn't much easy to find but near the subway ( 10 min walking). The diner roof on the top when it's a little bit cold outside, isn't good idea.The first room reserved was too much noisy so we ask to change the room ... a little better .We ask to change money with our Visa card but at the lobby can't... the problem is that some ATM around doesn't work well ...

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapierle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Cottage Yes Please
#216 of 707 in New Delhi
377 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#82 of 707 in New Delhi
312 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Shanti Villa
Shanti Villa
#199 of 707 in New Delhi
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 707 in New Delhi
1,806 reviews
Wood Castle
#13 of 707 in New Delhi
1,108 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel All Iz Well
Hotel All Iz Well
#105 of 707 in New Delhi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jyoti Mahal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jyoti Mahal Guest House

Property: Jyoti Mahal Guest House
Address: 2488 - 90 Jyoti Mahal Guest House Nalwa Street Behind Imperial Cinema | Chuna Mandi=Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jyoti Mahal Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jyoti Mahal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jyoti Mahal Guest House Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing