We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Colonel's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonel's Retreat
Ranked #2 of 1,095 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Beautifully decorated little bed and breakfast located close to the Defense Colony Market. Staff was very helpful and friendly. This location is just minutes away to some of the premier sights in Delhi. Breakfast was delicious including homemade banana bread and an assortment of homemade marmalade. Upon request this inn will prepare dinner for you and it is delicious. I would recommend staying here and if I return to Delhi, I will be staying here again. FYI - the wifi was the most reliable that I found at any hotel in India!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    160
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
140
252
67
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at Colonel's Retreat 3 times in 18 days. First two times with two friends. Each time I had a different room, each was really clean, large, comfortable. As others have said it's clean, modern & on each floor there is a sitting room. The staff were great. It was nice to be treated as a house guest. I can recommend the in house curries. Thanks too for looking after cases while I was a) doing the Golden Triangle and b) away in Mumbai.
Free wifi was a joy. The ability to use the computer and print off boarding cards was well appreciated.
3rd stay was just like coming home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunkhannacolonels, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you , we are delighted at your generous praise. We pride ourselves in being a simple place with all the basics and few frills . Clean, comfortable, quiet and central with good free wi fi. . Isn't that all one needs on a trip ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was my second time staying here and it was great. The rooms are very clean, the decor is tasteful, and the breakfasts are delicious! The location is very convenient, and there are restaurants etc. walking distance from here to explore. Breakfast was served on the rooftop this time around (last time it was in the dining area attached to the common space on our floor), and it was very peaceful. I like that you feel like you're at someone's apartment rather than a hotel - it feels like you get more of a taste of the city that way. This place was great both times and I have no negatives to point out. And definitely try the aloo parathas for breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BR944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are delighted to read your lovely review of our property . A big thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This guest house is located close to a metro. It is clean, comfortable and very well run. We were there in December, when it was cold, but the rooms had heaters and the showers were hot. The roof terrace was a pleasant place to eat the generous breakfast. The added plus was that we were able to order their home-cooked meals when we didn't feel up to going out again. When one of us was unwell, they were very helpful with doctor and fetching whatever was prescribed. It was a great start to our trip to India, though it did set a very high standard! If you're wanting to use a mobile phone, however, the coverage was very poor on the ground floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilliflakes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review . I am glad you got to sample some of our home style meals. Home food is so much superior to Restaurant food , almost all over the world . The food is fresh and tasty with each dish having its own distinct flavor. We are truly delighted your stay was all what you expected it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I booked two rooms in this place through booking.com for one night. The booking confirmation was duly emailed to me by booking.com. As our driver was driving us to this place, our driver wasn't clear about the exact location of this place and I called this place for further directions. The guy who answered my call just told me that they had no rooms for us as they were fully booked. I told them that I booked through booking.com and I actually had a booking confirmation. He just told me that they had a 3 day lead time policy and booking.com didn't follow that. Before I could say any further, that guy just put ended the call! If that was indeed the case, they should have informed booking.com. They did not. I called booking.com which in turn confirmed that this IRRESPONSIBLE place did not inform them at all that they are fully booked. I tried calling this place again and again, each time the ringing was just abruptly cut off. Booking.com also tried calling them but to no avail. I had my elderly parents and a young son with me that night and were left high and dry. It was peak period in delhi and we couldn't find any alternative in delhi itself. Luckily, our Tibetan travel agent managed to help us find two rooms in a temple's guesthouse after searching high and low for 2 hours. We were just driving round and round delhi. What a joke! These people are not honorable and not credible. STAY AWAY FROM THEM AT ALL COSTS.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We are extremely busy at most times and BOOKING.COM is clearly told to give us atleast 3 days advance notice to sell a room. In your case they went ahead and booked your room within 1 day or arrival , clearly going against our written instructions with them.

At no point did we accept this booking and I am sorry if this was not conveyed to you by your Agent.

I am extremely sorry you were greatly inconvenienced but we are not to be blamed for this one bit. This one is clearly the fault of your travel agency.

I hope you come again and enjoy our lovely place , albeit with a prior accepted booking. Sorry about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A well-located, quiet, very clean and comfortable family-run B&B with attentive and obliging staff. The availability of lunch or dinner on request was an added bonus. All in all, a very delightful and enjoyable extended stay on my return to Delhi after an absence of many years.
Ian Wille, Canberra, Australia

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and was close to the downstairs breakfast room. It was quite spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Colonel's Retreat excelled all my expectations!!

It was clean, modern & on each floor there was a sitting room which was a great space to relax socialise with other guest on the same floor. There is also a T.V here as well as your own room. The staff even helped us order in pizza to eat watching a film.

Rooms was really clean, large, comfortable with great size comfy beds.

The staff was very polite, friendly and helpful!

Would return here again if visit Delhi again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

we are truly thrilled with your lovely review. I am glad you got to sample some excellent dining options around our place. Good food makes such a lot of difference to a visit . Thank you again for being so fulsome in your praise . This is what makes the our work so much fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,834 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#16 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#7 of 715 in New Delhi
2,795 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tatvamasi Homestay
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,095 in New Delhi
285 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 1,095 in New Delhi
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat

Property: Colonel's Retreat
Address: D - 418, New Delhi 110024, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,095 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonel's Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great favorite with business travelers and overseas tourists alike, offering a truly comfortable, elegant place to stay. Colonel's Retreat has been lovingly created by people who are frequent global travelers themselves and who take pride in maintaining the highest world-class standards of hospitality. All rooms are air-conditioned rooms with cable TV, refrigerator, free wi-fi, electronic safe. Attached baths, with hot and cold running water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colonel's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel`s Retreat Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing