We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in the world!?”
Review of The Lodhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodhi
Ranked #6 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best hotel in the world!?”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed for one night in late January. The room is out of this world amazing. The room is so big it is like an apartment. The staff upon arrival greeted me by name and checked us in in the room. The room decor is subtle modern and finished to the highest standard. The private plunge pool is big enough to swim small laps! The in room dining was first class. The staff were amazing, arranging drivers for us in and around the city, to the extent where they showed us to our seat on our train out of Delhi.

We also stayed at the Leela palace during the same visit to Delhi, I must say the Lodhi was far superior in personal experience, service, room size and comfort.

I am worried that the Lodhi is so good that I will never stay in an equally good hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    81
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
103
192
37
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

In short; The bedrooms are huge and comfortable, the staff is attentive and charming, the food (at OTW) is one of our best food experiences ever, and they clean you room the minute you leave it! We are coming back, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikErik19876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel is just amazing, by his architecture an incredible beauty from the outside, but the best is inside.
We stayed there for 3 nights in a premiere deluxe room which just beautiful, wonderful, and that unbelievable pool in the room was so romantic.
The service is just perfect, they make all your dream come true, and they are caring from the moment you come till the airport where they help you for your registration.
Also the spa is amazing, I had the 3rd eye ayurvedic massage which one of the most relaxing massage i had in my life.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were blown away by this spectacular resort. The architecture, the dining, the cigar bar, the gift shop and of course the rooms and service. The rooms are simply beautifully appointed with a very large balcony and plunge pool. We felt so at home here and had a lovely night in dehli. The waterfront Thai restaurant was fantastic especially the pork belly! Can't say enough good things about this place. It is so well run from management down to service and housekeeping. What a joy!

Room Tip: I think you would be happy in any of the rooms. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynBickford, General Manager at The Lodhi, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guests. Thank you so much for your great review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your Lodhi experience so much. We hope to see you back again some day soon and we do hope that you had a very good time for the rest of your India trip. Best wishes, Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I visited the spa at The Lodhi as my hotel did not have a spa. The building and spa are gorgeous, and my massage was excellent. Afterwards, I decided to have dinner in the lounge (delicious). However, when I asked if I could use the internet, I was informed that it was only for hotel guests and Club Members, and that even though I had used the spa/club, I could not use the internet because I was not a member. I find that rude and unacceptable. As a business-woman dining alone, I rely on being able to at least catch up on news. If they truly want to provide superior service to their guests, even non-hotel guests, they need to be more accommodating on the little things. And honestly, what would it have cost them?!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynBickford, General Manager at The Lodhi, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Visitor to The Lodhi.
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our spa but I am so sorry that the experience was spoiled by lack of attention and service for the requested WIFI connection. While we do monitor use of the WIFI for security reasons, you should most certainly have been given an access code and use of this facility for the duration of your visit. I do apologise for this and assure you that, should you ever return to The Lodhi, a much more positive experience will be waiting for you. Yours sincerely, Robyn Bickford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Being in the industry I had heard how great the general manager, Robyn was. There is excellence at the top and it is reflected all throughout the hotel. I will make sure all my clients stay at the Lodhi. I can not imagine a better experience anywhere. Every detail was taken care of perfectly.
We were caught in a typhoon and they made sure our future destinations were safe for travel. Way beyond the call of duty. You won't want to miss their spa or any of the dining rooms. You will love every minute.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

It feels almost wrong to rate The Lodhi on here because it sits apart from all other hotels - its exceptional in all ways. We have stayed here for Diwali, Christmas and New Year with our daughter and the experience is just beyond wonderful. The rooms are a designers dream but so comfortable it is difficult to leave them. The food is outstanding and any special request is received with a happy - yes we can make that for you - even perfect Yorkshire puddings! Nothing is ever too much trouble - a real show of class. All the staff are incredibly professional and even hotel uniforms are a real design statement - very chic. We have had exceptional help from staff here who gave us advice and support above and beyond our expectations. The lovely people who service your room go about their work as if creating a piece of artwork - candles lit, throws in place, cushions plumped, and room service people set out your in room dining as if in a five star restaurant - all with a smile. All the staff you meet are so incredibly warm and friendly, and really, really nice people. From the moment you arrive past the smiling gatemen (who taught our baby daughter how to hold her hands in namaste) the whole Lodhi team make your stay just perfect. Incredible, unfaultering service which isn't over bearing but constantly impecable. We are sitting on our balcony looking out at the sparkling lights and majestic domes of wonderful Delhi and the fairy lights in the hotel courtyard and we urge you - come and stay here even if for just one night - it's heaven and shouldn't be missed The Lodhi will make you feel very special and give you memories to last a lifetime x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steveadamtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynBickford, General Manager at The Lodhi, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Special Guests.
You have just left us after a very long stay and we all miss you very much. Your glowing report was written some time ago but we appreciate and value everything you have said. You came as guests but left as close friends of all of us at The Lodhi. We look forward to your next visit to India. With best wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.0 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodhi

Property: The Lodhi
Address: Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodhi 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously the Aman New Delhi, The Lodhi opened 1 February 2013 as a boutique city property reflecting all the values of an Aman resort with a dynamic, new interpretation of simple and easy luxury. Centrally located on nearly seven acres on the "green" edge of Lutyens or Imperial Delhi and across the road from the Delhi Golf Course, The Lodhi offers a dynamic and vibrant atmosphere in the restaurants, courtyards and public areas but also the seclusion, peace and club- like atmosphere of the seven floors of guest accommodation. Located close to the Lodhi Gardens with old trees and beautifully designed and built tombs dating from the Lodhi era (1451 to 1526), The Lodhi is 10 minutes from the center of New Delhi (Connaught Place), some 40 minutes from the International Airport and close to many neighborhood shopping precincts. There are several food and beverage outlets in The Lodhi. All rooms and suites were extensively renovated in 2012. All rooms and suites have their own private plunge pool and secluded balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aman New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Aman Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing