We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special”
Review of The Lodhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodhi
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Special”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A delight in every respect. The Hotel is quietly efficient, caring in advance for my needs! I had a difficult few days of rather mixed medical experiences, but the Hotel was an absolute haven, and I was supported all through by an excellent 'butler', who was far and away the best I could have asked for. Thank you particularly for this, but really, a great Hotel, excellently managed, beautifully decorated and i am at a loss to find a fault. I will be back with the family as soon as funds allow! We live in Thailand, which is generally rated among the best in the world for its' wonderful if sometimes chaotic hospitality, but 'The Lodhi' was up there with the very best.

Room Tip: All 'Premier Rooms' are spacious, with individual private plunge pools. There are only 37 ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM392336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    86
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
108
216
40
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed a week in a room with a balcony and plunge pool. Service was excellent, ambience was excellent, WiFi was excellent, the mini bar was too expensive, but aren't they all? I'd put this in the top 5 of favorite hotels for me, based on cost, architectural interest / decor, square footage and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abraendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN FRANCISCO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've just returned from a stay at The Lodhi in Delhi. I hope to return soon. The hotel-- 85 rooms and suites, most with a private en-suite plunge pool-- has been a very insider secret hotel until recently, I was told by Indian friends of mine, Now it seems to be becoming more and more discovered by international guests and Indians who appear to enjoy the art galleries. It's like a private hotel…with a feeling of intimacy you don't often find in noisy and thronging India. There was a feeling of buzz earlier this week…lots of interesting people, including a sighting of the author William Dalrymple, who is admired for his books on India.
I got a sense that The Lodhi is something different when I drove up. The exterior is ivory-colored marble--the same kind used for the Taj Mahal. It's modern.Not expected…where most hotels fall into the Colonial style.That's great, and I love history, but this is refreshing.
I was guided straight to my suite--no waiting in the lobby here. That's a relief, especially after a very long flight.
Staff is dressed in custom-tailored uniforms that change with the season, I was told by a receptionist. In winter for women it's chic persimmon-colored embroidered cashmere. For men it's tweed jackets. Natty.
What's great:
After a day of shopping (Khan Market and SunderNagar market are great) it's refreshing to take a swim in the suite's private pool.The suite pools--one of the top attractions for me--are sandstone, and open to a terrace and leafy Delhi views, which include Humayan's Tomb, one of the city's top attractions.
Decor: light, fresh, understated. Nothing overly fussy or glitzy. Lots of modern art from the Sharan Gallery. I would be of special interest to architects and designers.
Menus are Modern Indian, as well as Continental, and American favorites, all fresh and seasonal. You can eat salads here. I met friends one evening in the bar and later had lunch outdoors on the terrace. Breakfast menu is international. You can dine on your own terrace. I love the new bagel with smoked salmon, recently introduced.
Staff are incredibly warm and helpful. Hotel drivers are like personal chauffeurs, which is a relief in Delhi's totally crazy traffic. They'll wait while you shop.
The management at the hotel are incredibly helpful. They provided an airport co-ordinator to greet and help through the airport maze…and on departure the co-ordinator/ host was there to handle everything. It's such a relief.
Robyn Bickford and her husband Manav Garewal are the co-managers. Robyn if you are lucky, you will meet her) is a former diplomat, and is especially good at connecting you with the right places (Delhi is vast) and talented people. She told me about an event that I would never have known about, and has up-to-date shopping suggestions.This is unusual for an Indian luxury hotel.
Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Room 801 for a honeymoon. (I over heard a newlywed couple thanking the staff for filling their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STUDYTRAVEL2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Felt at home as soon as we arrived...who wouldn't? a huge room with its own heated plunge pool and double daybed. Not many hotels can boast that. Towels were thick and lush and the toiletries were large bottles and had heavenly fragrances. There is a deep bath, separate shower, separate his/hers sinks and the toilet is in a separate cubicle which is very civilised. It is an independently owned hotel and on our first morning the owner sort us out at breakfast, knew we had just arrived and where we had come from. That was a personal start to a wonderful 3 day stay. We had our first lunch at Lodhi on The Water their multicuisine restaurant and must confess we didn't eat anywhere else because it was soooo good. We had been to Delhi before and had eaten at other restaurants but this is definitely our favourite. Because the hotel has its own grounds it was extremely quiet. The public areas of the hotel are a little shabby in parts and the building itself is monochromatic but once inside the rooms are beautiful. Oh have I mentioned the excellent spa, huge curated art collection, cigar room, tasteful gift shop, a library and a no tipping policy that in no way affected the service...I think you get the idea...we loved it

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindylou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night after my wedding, the hotel upgraded me- two bedroom villa .... One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, had room service and that was also top notch ! Is this delhi best hotel? I think so!

Rooms was huge, good was great, staff who I came across were friendly , didn't really see that many to comment due to short stay

Wife used salon and it was very nice would love to come back to use the spa!

See you real soon


Waterfront restaurant is very cool and good place for great food in a wow scenery

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank naveen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynBickford, General Manager at The Lodhi, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Lodhi for your honeymoon and thank you for your wonderful comments. We do hope to see you with us again for your first anniversary and for many years to follow.

We wish you every happiness for your future together from all of us at The Lodhi.

Sincerely, Robyn Bickford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Lodhi is a well located hotel near Humayun Tomb and others touristic sites with great and refined decoration. We stayed on second floor with garden view. The room is very comfortable with a private swimming pool. There are 2 good restaurants. There were two things that we did not like, one of them was the air conditioner. It was very hot and the air conditioner was poor although we claimed several times to the reception desk. The other was the employees staying around us to receive tips. It was so constraining. I think that the hotel tip politics shall be more polite, like leaving the tip in an envelope at the end of the stay.

Room Tip: Top level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynBickford, General Manager at The Lodhi, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest
I do apologise that your stay with us at The Lodhi was marred by a fault in the air conditioning and by some staff members seeming to expect tipping. I am most concerned about the tipping as we have a very strict policy, as outlined on the tentcard on your desk, in that all staff members are expected to politely refuse any offers of tips. While a central pool is maintained for tips at reception , we do actively discourage the practice.

Yours sincerely, Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The best hotel I have ever stayed in! Nothing else to say. But trip advisor wants 200 characters. The bed was amazingly comfy, the room was the biggest I've ever seen, and the cocktails (yes a little pricy) were gorgeous. Nothing was a bother for the staff either. Please stay here

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanna_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.0 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,801 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 716 in New Delhi
2,750 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#11 of 716 in New Delhi
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,040 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,733 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodhi

Property: The Lodhi
Address: Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodhi 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously the Aman New Delhi, The Lodhi opened 1 February 2013 as a boutique city property reflecting all the values of an Aman resort with a dynamic, new interpretation of simple and easy luxury. Centrally located on nearly seven acres on the "green" edge of Lutyens or Imperial Delhi and across the road from the Delhi Golf Course, The Lodhi offers a dynamic and vibrant atmosphere in the restaurants, courtyards and public areas but also the seclusion, peace and club- like atmosphere of the seven floors of guest accommodation. Located close to the Lodhi Gardens with old trees and beautifully designed and built tombs dating from the Lodhi era (1451 to 1526), The Lodhi is 10 minutes from the center of New Delhi (Connaught Place), some 40 minutes from the International Airport and close to many neighborhood shopping precincts. There are several food and beverage outlets in The Lodhi. All rooms and suites were extensively renovated in 2012. All rooms and suites have their own private plunge pool and secluded balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aman New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Aman Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing