We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel I ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lodhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodhi
Ranked #6 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
“Excellent hotel I ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

i) Impressed with taking care of every minute thing to satisfy its clients.
ii) Enjoyed room with "attached swimming pool"
iii) Closely supervised by owner of the hotel.
iv) Staffs are well trained and their hospitality skill is perfect

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    69
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
92
181
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

From the moment I booked my room, the Lodhi was there to help me. They organised two trains in India for me (as you can't book from Australia) and were happy to accommodate in any way they could. The front desk were incredible and made me feel extremely welcome in a city that I found extremely overwhelming (as I was holidaying alone and it was my first time in India). The rooms are impeccable and the lap pools are an amazing touch and fantastic for a private swim after a long day of sight seeing. Their spa is also 5 star and extremely satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We won't repeat all the excellent reviews already mentioned about this property. Yes, the hotel is stunning, the rooms spacious and comfortable, the amenities and spa unmatched, and the service sublime. We, however, want to share a few experiences during our almost 2 weeks stay at this property which puts a more human face to this excellent property and give a better picture of why we think this is one of the best 5* property in the world compared to all other properties we have experienced.

1. We hired the hotel's car to go to the Emporio shopping mall. Once in the car, the driver asked us that since we are doing a bit of shopping, would we like to stop at this souvenir store on the way to the mall. We told him no but he kept insisting so we told him to turn around and go back to the hotel. After arriving back to the hotel, we told the concierge that we didn't take the car after all and decided to go have some tea in the hotel's Elan restaurant. We were not bothered or upset at all by what happend, but within a few minutes, the wonderful front desk manager came to talk to us about what just happened and assured us that the matter has been dealt with. We appreciated his concern and immediate action eventhough we didn't see it as a big issue. The icing on the cake came when we asked for the bill for our tea and pastry and the waiter informed us that the manager has already taken care of the bill and there would be no charge !

2. We hired the hotel's car to Agra for the day and had a wonderful time. While in Agra, we stopped at a souvenir store. We looked at two items which were marked 1520 each and we thought that this was the exact price - 1520 rupees. When we checked out, the salesman told us that we owed 37,000 rupees for the two items. Needless to say, we were taken aback. We didn't carry that much cash on us and we also didn't bring our credit cards. We didn't want to cause a scene by protesting so when the salesman mentioned that they are happy to come to New Delhi that evening and we can charge for the items then, we accepted. That evening, the store sent a man over to the hotel as stated and we handed over our amex card. The man refused it and said they don't take amex. At this point, we became upset with the entire shady way this store has conducted business with us. We then mentioned the entire story to the hotel concierge who immediately got their management team involved. The two managers asked to see the items and told us that we are being overcharged and that they will take care of everything. We were told to go to the restaurant and relax. After a few minutes, both managers came over to our table and said everything has been taken care of ! Needless to say, we were so grateful and stunned that they would go so far to help their guests out of a situation that they had no part of making.

3. We both because ill with sinus infection and it was apparent that we needed to get home sooner than planned. We talked to the concierge and told him that we had changed our travel plans and was leaving for home that evening. We told him that we were happy to pay for the entire planned stay. Within a few minutes, the general manager of the hotel showed up with nothing but concern for our health and safety. He would not charge us for the remaining nights mentioning that relationship is more important. His concern was more about getting a doctor to see us and to make sure that we have everything we needed to prepare for our trip home.

In a country like India, where top notch service is not difficult to find among 5* properties, this hotel stands alone in the absolute genuine caring attitude of all its staff. We left with an undeletable impression that good service requires more than just a hello with a smile. It is the true human touches that cannot be taught, but must come naturally. The staff of this hotel has an abundance of it which sets it apart from any other top hotels we have experienced in our travels.

Room Tip: Suite 702 has direct view of the Humayun tomb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boschp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A stay at the Lodhi is an amazing experience. From the minute you pull up, you feel like a celebrity. Upon arrival we were escorted immediately to our room (5th floor deluxe room) where we were checked in and given a tour of the room. At over 1.000 sq feet, there was a lot to see! The main room includes a king size bed (choice of pillow types), a sitting area (couch, chair, table) and desk with chair ( large enough to work at). The dressing area includes a small frig, vanity area, luggage shelf, and ample hangers. The bathroom area includes double sinks, a separate toilet area, a soaking tub, and a walk in shower (careful the floor gets slippery). Outside there is a large wrap around balcony (table with 2 chairs) and a plunge pool (approximately 14 ft by 14 ft) with lounger (perfect for cooling off after a day at work or sightseeing (again, tiles by the pool get slippery so be careful). A feature that we really liked about the room is that instead of drapes there were wooden sliding doors. It made the room nice and dark for sleeping. Two AC units kept the room cool - and since it was 114 outside this was critical.

The room is amazing but so are the staff. They could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The hotel has a policy not to tip individuals but rather place money in an envelope and leave it at the hostess desk at the end of the stay to be shared by all employees. We thought this was a great idea and stopped the 'who and what do I tip each person' but gave all employees something.

The hotel is located near the Indian Habitat Center and in the area of several embassies.

I would definitely stay here again......without ANY hesitation!

Room Tip: Select a deluxe or better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aw0rld2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was amazing !! The rooms were huge with plunge pool in the balcony was a surprise for us we loved it ! the staff are very attentive it was luxury at its best ! two restaurants best food quality !! Can't wait for my next visit .

Room Tip: Check out the boutique/ store in the hotel don't miss it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANAM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is really well run. The room at 1350 square feet is terrific. The staff are very attentive. The prices are very fair. The food is excellent. All in all a great experience. The laundry service was very quick and fair priced. The restaurant is open 24 hours which is very convenient.

Room Tip: The first floor is great and the least expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The ENTIRE staff was amazing, the hotel itself was beyond words, it seemed we were in our own little world, the food was delicious, the pool, the restaurants, and the attention to detail was impeccable! Often times before we asked for something it was in front of us, the entire staff treats you like royalty!! We asked them to arrange a guide to see Delhi, and couldn't have asked for a better way to experience the city. We will absolutely return to The Lodhi Hotel, and would recommend anyone to stay there without hesitation! A perfect experience!

Room Tip: Every room is great-.we were on the first level of the hotel, the space was quiet, secluded and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.1 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodhi

Property: The Lodhi
Address: Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodhi 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously the Aman New Delhi, The Lodhi opened 1 February 2013 as a boutique city property reflecting all the values of an Aman resort with a dynamic, new interpretation of simple and easy luxury. Centrally located on nearly seven acres on the "green" edge of Lutyens or Imperial Delhi and across the road from the Delhi Golf Course, The Lodhi offers a dynamic and vibrant atmosphere in the restaurants, courtyards and public areas but also the seclusion, peace and club- like atmosphere of the seven floors of guest accommodation. Located close to the Lodhi Gardens with old trees and beautifully designed and built tombs dating from the Lodhi era (1451 to 1526), The Lodhi is 10 minutes from the center of New Delhi (Connaught Place), some 40 minutes from the International Airport and close to many neighborhood shopping precincts. There are several food and beverage outlets in The Lodhi. All rooms and suites were extensively renovated in 2012. All rooms and suites have their own private plunge pool and secluded balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aman New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Aman Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing