We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and a nice place to people watch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karen Cafe Roof Top

Karen Cafe Roof Top
Ranked #3,994 of 12,529 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food and a nice place to people watch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We decided to take a chance on the Karen Cafe because it was round the corner from our hotel and the reviews on here praised the food. They were right to do so. After reading so many comments about the owner trying to sell you his tours, I am happy to say this wasn't the case in our experience.

It was fun climbing all the stairs to the tiny, topfloor cafe. We came late in the afternoon (about 4pm) so understood that the service took a little longer (the poor waiter had to climb 2 flights of stairs!). It was relaxing to look out over the crazy streets and we enjoyed some great thali and a paneer kadai, with a good masala tea.

The owner asked about our plans when we left but was friendly and cool. We told him our plans and he didn't try to change them and said he hoped we enjoyed our trip - nice guy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank guitarjoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    4
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Amazing place.. As a traveller in India I was so happy to find this place in chaotic Delhi. Traveller vibes, really cool owner that really helped me out a lot, free wifi, nice affordable food. Spent many evenings chilling here meeting good people. Recommended to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriapommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most relaxed place in an otherwise hectic city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Play your own music, fast, affordable and tasty food! Intimate venue with nice traveller vibe! Also the owner is very friendly and speak amazing English! He also organised me a day trip round Delhi which I enjoyed very much and he can also organise travel arrangements! Happy to help with anything! Thank you Karens!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank henrylacey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

After reading all the great reviews I went for dinner this evening. Wifi not working. Staff seemed surprised they had a customer . Polite but very shy and limited English .
They did put the lights on as I started eating . Horrible Thali , probably the worst I have ever had .
Wonders if they have new management . Was looking forward to a great meal .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank abloke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty and safe food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent three nights in Delhi and we fortunately found this small nice rooftop restaurant above noisy Arakashan Road. We ate here three times! The food was extremly tasty and good and there wasn't any problems afterwards... I can recommend their tasty food.

The owner is a friendly young well English-speaking guy who is wery intrested in you and has always time to chat with you. And he also tries to sell you something like city tour, golden triangle etc. He is a good speaker...

But totally I can recommend this place for eating!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eero_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karen Cafe Roof Top also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Karen Cafe Roof Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing