We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on the first look, but something felt wrong...”
Review of Hotel Aura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura
Ranked #416 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good on the first look, but something felt wrong...”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Lets start with the location. Depending on what you are looking for, this could either be great or terrible. It's centrally located, making it easy to go wherever you need. However, it's in a very noisy, kinda dirty area. You might start feeling dread as you approach the hotel in taxi. Hotel Aura is in an area where there is nothing but hotels and they almost all look terrible. Do not worry though, compared to the others Aura looks like a diamond in a pile of dung.

The interior looks modern and clean. The room wasn't the biggest, but it was fine. The room also looked very clean at first, but quickly we found a couple of small problems. Nothing terrible mind you, but a little mold in the corner of the restroom, a small stain on one of the towels, a part of the floor that would come off if we weren't careful when we walked there, a couch that looked dusty, etc.

The staff was amazing. Very helpful, very nice, very friendly. The breakfast wasn't anything amazing, but it was pretty good compared to other complementary breakfasts I've had in similar hotels. Choice of both Indian or continental breakfast. Do remember however that when asking for eggs, they suddenly seem to forget what numbers mean. If you ask for 1 egg, they'll bring you 2. If you ask for 2, they'll bring you 4.

Everything was pretty good, yet after a few days, my fiancée and I couldn't wait to leave. At first I wasn't quite sure. Was it the noise? The little details I mentioned earlier? No, it was the shower. I'm not sure if that's something generalized to Delhi or it was only this hotel, but the water in the shower was terrible. Our hair felt dirtier after the shower than before. No matter what shampoo I used, my hair felt sticky after a shower. Although it was bothering me, I'm lucky enough to have short hair, so I could live with sticky hair. My fiancée however has very long hair. I could see the despair in her eyes as she tried to brush and untangle her hair after a shower, only to see her hair stick to the brush.

All in all, this is a very good hotel, as long as you don't have long hair!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    142
    78
    43
    34
See reviews for
45
126
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The staff are nice, the hotel is clean, the rooms a bit cramped but perfectly OK, but the location is hopeless. They agreed to meet us at the airport, but the guy who turned up was not a taxi driver, he just showed us where to wait and then called someone on his mobile. Meanwhile we watched other people jump into taxis and head off. Eventually a car arrived, but if you do stay here, get your own taxi from the airport.

The breakfast was not brilliant, but the staff very nice. We had booked 5 nights through Expedia, but although we knew we couldn't get our money back, we left after just one night - the road outside was noisy and filthy and no street signs meant we had no way of knowing where we were. Tried walking to somewhere where we could get a cup of coffee - hopeless.

But brilliant, free wifi - a real plus

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyrootsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We spent 2nights in this hotel.Hotel is near New Delhi Railway station. Freindly staff always ready to help. Having two double beds in Family room with clean bathroom attached. Big Lcd in the room with many foreign channels. Hotel provided us free laptop to work for two days which is great. Restaurant Manager Atul is very funny person serves the guest always with smile.Only the bad thing is with this hotel the location always bustling. Free Gym and Steam bath is positive for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilaindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambar_marrero
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

After traveling 2 months in India we decided to spent a bit more and stay at the Aura Hotel in Delhi. The $50 USD were absolutely worth it. Staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was impeccable. White sheets that were actually white and not stained. Rates include buffet breakfast. The guy who runs the restaurant was extremely nice and chatty. The hotel has free WIFI!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambar_marrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Finding a hotel in Delhi turned out to be difficult. Judging by the reviews on Tripadvisor they are either dirty, noisy, in a poor neighbourhood. While Agra is not in the best part of Delhi, it is centrally located (close to Paharganj, Old Delhi and a 20-minute walk from Connaught Place). At almost 100 USD per night this is of course a very expensive hotel for Delhi, but we had decided we wanted to spend the holidays around New Year's Eve in a clean hotel.

Indeed, the room was clean, hot water was (almost) always available and service was good. Breakfast is included in the price but is nothing special - especially given that outside they prepare something tasty on every street corner. Unfortunately, there are tauts in this neighbourhood as well, this hotel being so close to the railway station, so be careful at all times.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeribt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

arrived at this hotel after a long drive from Shimla. The hotel is in a amazing location just couple of minutes from New Delhi Railway Station.The room was big and lovely and bathroom were lush loved the stone.
super clean and always had fresh towels and clean bed.TV had hundreds of channels which was nice. The staff were great specially Mr.Sayeed was very helpful and kind.
The restaurant serves very good foods.
Mr.Sayeed provided me a laptop to work in the room free of cost which is a big plus.
Noise from outside can be a problem for sleeping.
Gymnasium,Spa makes our stay great.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Feb. When we checked in, we were offered a choice of 2 rooms, both were nice but we were advised which one was quieter by the night manager so we took that one. The staff were quite pleasant. Pretty clean too, however our sheets looked stained.. we asked them to change it and they did in front of us but they still didnt look 100% clean.. think it's the cleanest they can make them look even after washing 100 times!

My friend and her husband had checked in a few days earlier however and their experience initially was unplesant though. She was very angry with the staff and told them off ALOT. Initially they lost her reservation but had ours (She'd made the reservation for all of us!) and then there was an incidentIn response to that, they were made to treat us really good! we even had our bath set up with flower petals!! haha

The most amazing thing about this hotel is the Restaurant manager Francis. He is an awesome person. Really caring and genuinely concerned for you and wanting you to have a good time in Delhi. He even woke up super early to pack us some breakfast the next morning when we did our day trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Varshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel The Pearl
#484 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#59 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Hotel Krishna
#584 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#71 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#54 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Biden Pura
Hotel Clark International
Hotel Clark International
#115 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura

Property: Hotel Aura
Address: 31 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aura 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Facilities and ambiance of Hotel Aura enchants the business and the leisure traveler alike the luxurious lifestyle experiences for you. Hotel Offers facilities like laundry services, doctor on call, fax, e-mail & Wi-Fi Internet facilities, elevator facilities, money changer, mini-bar in rooms, travel desk and uninterrupted power supply. Besides these hotel is also facilitated with Gym, Massage Services and Spa, Steam & Sauna Bath , Parking Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing