We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet getaway from bustling old Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura
Ranked #436 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A quiet getaway from bustling old Delhi”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Hotel Aura was our first hotel during our month-long travels trough India. As we needed a quiet place to stay as a getaway from the hustle and chaos of Paharganj, Hotel Aura became our choice when we made our travel plans prior to arriving. Everything was arranged through e-mail, including the pick-up service from the airport.

Like a lot of hotels in the Paharganj area, the hotel building looks a bit dilapidated at first. But like another reviewer here already said, you can only judge the hotel by entering the premises. Hotel Aura is a clean and friendly hotel with all the amenities you might need during your stay. The staff is very helpful and the location is perfect if you want to be in the middle of the action. You can be at New Delhi train station or Paharganj main bazaar in about 15 minutes. A autorickshaw ride to Connaught Place will cost you no more than 50 rupees, but be prepared to haggle for this price!

The rooms are a bit run down but clean, although I spotted a lot of dead little insects on the night lamps near the bed and a weird green substance on the showerhead. Since our room was not facing the busy street, we were not bothered by any outside noises. Housekeeping tends to forget the daily room cleaning sometimes. So if you leave the hotel in the morning, tell the reception desk the room needs to be cleaned just to make sure!

Breakfast is served every morning in the rooftop restaurant and is decent, but not generous. The restaurant is open all day for all kinds of meals. The quality of the food is decent as well, and much more generous than breakfast. The guys working in the restaurant are very nice and helpful.

If you need to arrange any onward travel, a tour desk on ground floor can arrange this for you. We decided to arrange our onward travels by ourselves and were a bit bothered by the guy from the travel desk who was a bit pushy towards us to book a very cheap tour.

When we returned to Delhi for 1 night a week later, the hotel unfortunately forgot to pick us op from Nizamuddin train station. We gave our train details through e-mail, but apparently they never recieved this e-mail. They gave us a larger room for this night and didn't charged us more than during our previous stay in the smaller room, which was a nice gesture.

As the location of the hotel can be a bit intimidating if you're a first-timer to India, hotel Aura provides a nice getaway from it all. If you need a clean and friendly place to stay in the main travellers hangout of Delhi, hotel Aura is one of the best choices. Recommended with a big R!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Srananbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    142
    77
    42
    34
See reviews for
45
125
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

rooms are good,staff are ready to help you,good LCD, the person named rohith helped us a lot regarding information,clean bathroom. break fast is good.luggage storage facility is available,good air conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karthik reddy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were there in August for 2 nights. Room was well furnished with very fast wi-fi.staff is very very attentive and friendly.At travel desk Muzammil made our India visit memorable one specially Taj Mahal and price was also good as we checked with other travel company before booking.Roof top restaurant is nice where we had dinner. Free breakfast needs some improvement.Steam bath at Hotel Aura is amazing. Great value for money.Recommended to all....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JonesBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were three nights in room number 103.Room is very big, bed size is certainly extra large with comfortable mattress, attached jacuizy bath.We enjoyed the best steam bath. Service was great and food at rooftop was tasty. Over all we got excellent value for our money. Surprised to such rough comment from last reviewer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SomyaGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After reading all the good reviews, we booked this hotel. The worst decision of our time in India!
The room was drab and unclean, the bed linen was so stained we slept ontop of it. The walls were so thin we could hear the entire conversations of the next room. The bathroom complimentary toilettries were all half used and there was no hot water. Every night we were woken by the sound of stray dogs fighting. The staff seemed decent and helpful but actually ripped you off, overcharging you everywhere. The restaurant by UK standards would have been closed down by health and safety, unclean with very poor service. The hotel was also located in a very dangerous neighbourhood, felt very unsafe indeed.
Would not reccomend, even to an enemy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales_aurahotel, General Manager at Hotel Aura, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We took some time to respond, because we could not find your name in our guest list who stayed in our hotel in last two years and would like to inform you that WE LOVE to hear a true comments from guest who stayed in our hotel. Tripadvisor is a free platform where you can write any thing and they will publish it. We request you to please provide proof that you stayed in our hotel. If you do not want to write us directly please help tripadvisor and please provide them any proof that you stayed in our hotel.

Thanks with regards,

Hotel Aura Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It was a fabulous stay at the Emblem hotel. Hotel is beautifully maintained. I stayed at this hotel for two nights and really enjoyed my stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to every one. And the most important part is Service. The way they serve the guest is amazing. I would like to thank all the staffs for making my stay so comfortable. I will certainly come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cynthiamac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Professionalism of Staff, always replying to my needs. Comfort of room. Excellent restaurant inside the hotel.Great service,respectful staff value for money but little bit noisy.enjoy steam or sauna room and gym.

Room Tip: avoid window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lenovo251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel The Pearl
#496 of 707 in New Delhi
138 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 707 in New Delhi
1,806 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#70 of 707 in New Delhi
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krishna
#574 of 707 in New Delhi
407 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#52 of 707 in New Delhi
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura

Property: Hotel Aura
Address: 31 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aura 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Facilities and ambiance of Hotel Aura enchants the business and the leisure traveler alike the luxurious lifestyle experiences for you. Hotel Offers facilities like laundry services, doctor on call, fax, e-mail & Wi-Fi Internet facilities, elevator facilities, money changer, mini-bar in rooms, travel desk and uninterrupted power supply. Besides these hotel is also facilitated with Gym, Massage Services and Spa, Steam & Sauna Bath , Parking Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing