We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consideration depends on the budget.”
Review of Cottage Ganga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottage Ganga Inn
Ranked #87 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consideration depends on the budget.”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

1. Good location: close to the train station. Even though you need to get an auto-rickshaw or walk for 10 minutes.
2. Room: just ok, and not all clean.
3. Price: 1,400 Rupies/AC- double bed room (room at the back side) is not worth for a budget and its quality. 1,100 for a single one.
4. Staffs are friendly. Food is not good in the restaurant on the roof.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hhtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    113
    58
    14
    6
See reviews for
39
80
84
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for five nights whilst we explored Delhi and the Taj Mahal. The location is spot on - it is located in the horrible Paharganj area of Delhi, but the hotel is down a side street so far enough away to forget about it. The room itself was ok (not entirely sure it was clean though) and always had hot water. The staff were friendly, however I found them overly pushy when it came to room services such as food or laundry. Beware of the hidden "luxury" tax as well as service tax. Not sure what the service tax is as they add on individual service tax to any room service, and the room was not once clean. Just a warning to add on an extra 20% to any price quoted.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CF87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Regarding the budget accommodation situation in Delhi, this hotel is a good choice. After inspecting rooms in about 10 “hotels” (or “holes”?!), we discovered this inn with the help of Lonely Planet. It is not exactly a charming place, but it's clean, well organised and situated in a calm alley. Other hotels were so incredibly run down (unbearable stink of mould and sometimes even excrement, impressive holes in walls, rubbish everywhere, druggy staff), that this place felt like heaven as none of the surprises is to be found there.
We had a non ac room without window for 800rs, which was ok as windows in Paraganj don't show you anything nice anyway but let dust inside instead.
Rooms come with clean sheets, towels, toilet paper, cable TV and free WiFi in the lobby. At least the two rooms we have seen were in good condition and seemed to have been renovated just recently.
Stuff is very helpful and makes you feel welcome. There is a reasonable priced restaurant in the hotel that offers a comfortable 24h room service as well.
The hotel is very close to metro station so its easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goforcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We spent three nights in the Cottage Ganga Inn. The hotel is nothing special, however, everything works, the room was acceptably clean, we felt safe - nothing to complain about really. Of course prices are a bit higher in Delhi, so judging " value for money" is a bit tricky. We paid 1400 Rs/ night for an AC room and were unable to find anything better for the price. We arranged airport pick-up as we arrived late at night and were very happy when we found someone from the hotel waiting for us when we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JansenNl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Set back a little ways off the street, this is one of the better mid-range places I have found in Delhi.

My stay was a bit unusual in that I fell quite ill and spent days either stuck in my room or at the hospital.

The staff were very helpful and showed real concern. I had to stay on for an unspecified amount of time while I recovered. This caused no concern and while I waited (ended up being 5 days), the staff were very attentive and caring. They were a bit relaxed about keeping the room clean, but once I asked, a whirlwind of boys appeared and the room was spotless in a few minutes (and my illness had made it pretty gross in there)

My room was large and airy. The bed comfy and the bathroom ample. I spent hours at the window (being to ill to walk) watching the happening in the little courtyard and was well entertained.

This is a good, clean, no nonsense place to stay in Pahar ganj, with good room service. . If you have the misfortune of being stuck in Delhi vomiting for days, you could do a whole lot worse. They also sent me the very best doctor I have ever had to my bedside, and that's a huge plus.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rezedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

The hotel is clean and the staff is polite.
It's simple and set back in a courtyard behind
the main street so it's quiet in the Pahar Ganj
area in Dehli. 15 mind from the Connaught Place.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank yat-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Sunshine
#108 of 715 in New Delhi
188 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#30 of 715 in New Delhi
715 reviews
Hotel Payal
#202 of 715 in New Delhi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,702 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
#76 of 715 in New Delhi
238 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#145 of 715 in New Delhi
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Ganga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Ganga Inn

Property: Cottage Ganga Inn
Address: 1532 Bazar Sangtrashan Main Bazar, | Behind Khanna Cinema, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Ganga Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
cottagegangainn is located in heart of new delhi india. we provide the best hospitality to our guest. cottagegangainn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Ganga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Ganga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing