We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, find for price”
Review of Hotel Amax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amax Inn
Ranked #29 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, find for price”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for two nights from 2-4 October. It was a reasonable rate and you got what you paid for. It was a little noisy and there wasn't any hot water. There was a shower, but it didn't work so we had to use the bucket which wasn't a massive problem, but others may find it so.

Big bed, clean rooms and tv.

Perfect if you want a cheap place to crash after a hot and sweaty day in Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    221
    102
    24
    28
See reviews for
76
203
125
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Amax Inn was an excellent room for a great value. We arrived earlier than our check in time, and the staff allowed us to stow our packs while we went and explored the city. When we came back, our room was ready, nice and clean, and a sight for sore and tired eyes. After we washed and rested up, we went upstairs to the rooftop restaurant and had a beer and some dinner, which was excellent. Wifi in the common areas. Hot water upon request. Room service. All for a very reasonable price. There were also a lot of fellow travelers and tourists staying, and it was nice to talk to them and make some new friends. The only downside was the strong smell of moth balls in the bathroom, but it was better than smelling the city! A little hard to find in the Paharganj area.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiKennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had booked this for one night on October 11, 2013. They quoted the lowest rate very very near to the railway station. They even arranged a cake for us on order. The staff was very polite and understanding. Catered to all our requests, even unreasonable ones. Must visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upanihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Located in busy and deprived area of Pahar ganj hotel Amax in offers hospitality with helpful staff and management. Rooms are a good size and clean and comfortable. Wifi in reception and some rooms. Roof terrace serves delicious lassi, chai and snacks. Thoroughly enjoyedvstay.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor and we had wifi in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on India Independence Day . We were on the top floor and saw thousands of kites. Room was a good size and clean beds and pillows comfy too. Management helpful and I would say you step out the door to the real Delhi

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J_lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Amax was my first hotel in India and it wasn't a bad introduction to the general standard level of hospitality here. The hotel provided an airport pickup which was only a few hundred rupees more expensive than the taxis. Wifi only worked in the lobby. The room was clean and the aircon worked well. Hot water worked intermittently. The location is close to the Delhi train station and Connaught Place. Probably nicer parts of town but was not too bad.

The restaurant was quite good and not too expensive. We ate a few meals there and they were all tasty. Also had a few beers on the rooftop which was a nice relaxer after a day in the heat of Delhi.

The staff were fairly pushy about booking travel through the hotel. Their quoted tour of Delhi which ranged from 1000 to 1200 depending on who you spoke to was much more expensive than what you can find elsewhere. We paid 600 for the same kind of tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maubuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a good time while we were staying here. The rooms were good value, clean and the staff very helpful.
It also included an airport pick up.
The hotel is in the Paharganj neighbourhood, but is a fair bit out of the way of the main road/bazaar. We had friends staying on the main tourist road and it wasn't that much more expensive, so in retrospect, I'd have stayed there.
Having said this we enjoyed our stay at the hotel Ajax inn.
No lift so be prepared to lug your stuff up multiple flghts of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Wood Castle
#14 of 716 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#49 of 716 in New Delhi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#81 of 716 in New Delhi
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amax Inn

Property: Hotel Amax Inn
Address: 8145/6 Arakashan Road | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Amax Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amax inn with 36 rooms all attached bath with all the modern facilities. Best recommended by Lonely Planet and French Guide Routard. WiFi in the lobby and in luxury rooms you can use the LAN internet. We have rooftop restaurant. The year 2013 & 2015 Lonely planet Edition the TOP CHOICE FOR STAYING IN DELHI FOR THE BEST BUDGET CLASS HOTEL. The Value for Money. Roof top Restaurant with best of the food at reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Amax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing