We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable room, not very secure”

The Parkland, Defence Colony
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Parkland, Defence Colony
Ranked #495 of 1,127 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2011

stayed here two nights, on arrival in Delhi and night before departure. Room was clean on first visit, bed sheets dirty on second visit. Doors were insecure with a big enough gap around door that you could see into room from outside. On second visit seems they had run out of card keys so each time we wanted to go into room had to get member of staff to open door. Also seems they had ran out of cups at breakfast as we had to wait about 20 minutes at breakfast for a cup of tea.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank india1111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel while on a family trip to Delhi and Agra. The included breakfast the next morning was good but not stellar. It seems like a hotel for people on business trips. It was fine for our purpose; a place to sleep at for a night. The room was clean, but I had a bit of trouble getting hot water for a shower in the evening but had no problems in the morning. Overall the hotel is average to slightly above average.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondgirlbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Gone for a business meeting at Delhi and our company put us up at this hotel. It's an overall average hotel good for folks who don't intend to stay too much there but just hop in and out.

Room quality was decent. Food was not all that great. i ate out most of the time. The breakfast was just about ok, didn't like the options too much, stuck to fruits and fruit juices.

the bed was comfortable and decent cable tv options. Did not use too much of their services.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiderdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here for one night in Sept 2011 for work. It's a company-approved hotel for short stays and so I had little choice. This property is fine if you are not spending too much time in the hotel. Right on the main road.

The room was fine - in room coffee and tea maker, comfortable bed, LCD TV with cable, etc. but the bathroom was a bit run down. This is one of the older of the Parkland properties (stayed in the one near Gurgaon and that was very smart in comparison) so the bathroom is old. And there was no hot water in the evening so I asked why and they said 'the boiler was not on.' In this day and age, I think running hot water should be a given.

I didn't sample their food or breakfast so can't comment on that. The restaurant is part of the lobby area and looked adequate for this quality.

Would only stay there again if I had to because of work.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

the location is very well suited in case you have work on the south Delhi side. The service is good and cleaneliness decent.

the people are very cooperative and friendly.
the service in the restaurant could have better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPhadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Good nice hotel in Defence colony, location is right on the main ring road, the rooms are clean and spacious, we stayed in the suite room and i quite liked the extra space, room was very tidy and staff helpfuf. We also liked the quality of food served in the lobby resaurent however feel that the buffet dineer prices were high and could be lowered. overall a good experience and would certainly return back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjaylucknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

"Delhi Hotel Parkland Defence Colony is one of the most luxurious hotels of the Parkland Hotels Group in India" - so states their website. And yes, at best it is a high-end budget hotel [upon surface appearances]. However, we have stayed at other hotels for less and in comparison it doesn't measure up.
Stayed at this hotel early Jan 11 and left feeling more stressed than when i arrived.
Unfortunately the negatives outweighed the positives.
On the plus side, the water pressure was really good and we did have hot showers.
Food in the restaurant was good although we only had one pasta dish.
Road noise wasn't too bad given that the hotel is actually situated on a busy main road. But that could just be because of the location of the room rather than there being any actual noise insulation.
However, as said, there were far too many negatives as follows:
First of all the room we were given stank of smoke [not acceptable by any standards] and then had to wait 2.5hrs for any kind of resolution [again not acceptable] which meant this was most of our day wasted.
Room was filthy with at least an inch thick layer of dust on the surfaces. Indicated that the room had not been cleaned despite the toilet having the paper band on saying it had been.
Was woken up around 6am by house-keeping staff who somehow felt the need to shout and bang around. I asked twice for the noise to be kept down however, to no avail.
Bathroom also smelt as there is no ventilation as such.
Bed was hard as - impossible to get comfortable and woke up really sore, in addition to the rude awakening at 6am.
Ducted airconditioning/heating which in the summer would be a plus. However, i think this also added to the smell of smoke which may have come from other rooms. Also, the room was colder with the supposed heating on than when we switched it off.
Overall not the experience i had hoped for but having said that - i think that could be said for the whole of Delhi and relatively this hotel is just another bad experience within the bigger picture.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 727 in New Delhi
771 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 727 in New Delhi
2,952 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 727 in New Delhi
4,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 727 in New Delhi
1,734 reviews
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 727 in New Delhi
2,851 reviews
Hotel Shree Ram Deluxe
#216 of 1,127 in New Delhi
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkland, Defence Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkland, Defence Colony

Address: E-19, Defence Colony, New Delhi 110024, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #495 of 1,127 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: £70 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Parkland, Defence Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing